Introduce Yourself - Meet JuliasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

introduce-yourself-prabh-deep-event-desi-hip-hop.jpg

I’ve seen quite a few of these kinds of articles popping up on Steemit recently so I thought I’d jump on the band wagon and write one for myself. (Sadly, I won't be including any personal photos as I'd like to keep my face off the internet.)

Hi, my name is Julia and I’m a 23-year-old South African.

SouthAfrica_Slider.jpg

Growing up

I grew up in the largest city in South Africa, Johannesburg, with my parents and my older sister. From a young age, I was introduced to cultural activities such as ballet and classical music. My enjoyment of art and history grew through visits to museums and my love of film and literature began from childhood introductions to the Harry Potter book series and Disney animated features.

I was fortunate enough to travel the world from a young age as my father was a commercial airline pilot. This kindled a lifelong love of travelling and experiencing new cultures.
Arts and culture have been prevalent in my life as long as I can remember.

denys-nevozhai-191635.jpg

University

I recently graduated from the University of Pretoria after completing my B.A. Honours in Visual Studies. While at university, I took part on as many opportunities as I could. I lived in a ladies’ residence on which I became a member of the House Committee (HK for short) and oversaw all aspects of the residence; from the wellbeing of my fellow students to the organization of events.

Univ_PTA_Old_Arts_Bld_1.jpg

I started this at the end of my first year (this being an achievement as most HK members start at the end of their second year) and served two year-long terms up until the end of my third year. This opportunity taught me many things; about the working world, working with people and about me and my abilities. To this day, I still feel this is the opportunity which has been most impactful on who I am as a person.

In my final year at varsity, while studying my Honours degree, I became an Entertainment Journalist at the university’s student newspaper. This is where my enjoyment in writing really took off; I had always wanted to try my hand a writing yet always felt I didn’t have the talent for it.

After over a year of seeing my work being published, I know that I do in fact have the capability to be a good writer. By no means to I consider myself an expert, but I now have the confidence to put my writing out into the public space and feel proud of what I have created.

Present

I am now a Junior Copywriter at a small advertising agency in Johannesburg. I’ve always been interested in the art of advertising and I hope to advance my writing and creative skills even further through my work.

woman-writing-on-notepad-370x200.jpg

Steemit

While on Steemit, I want focus on travel-centric articles and hopefully, over time, I will expand into different areas and topics that peak my interest. Most of all, I really just enjoy writing. I want to improve my skills while sharing my writing and engaging with new people.

I hope you enjoyed this little peak into my life. Please follow me - I can't wait to meet some new people. I'd really appreciate it if you could leave an upvote or a comment, would love to hear what you think :)

Sort:  

welcome to steemit @juliabain

Thank you Kelvin :)

Loading...

Hi Julia and welcome to Steemit. For your age it sounds like you've already achieved more than many people do in a lifetime. Also I've got to say I love Steemit too but don't feel comfortable about having my face on the internet either., its good to keep some separation between online and offline.

I have resteemed your post (basically put it up on my blog too) so more people will see it as part of my #newbieresteemday as part of the Newbie Resteem Inititative where the idea is to promote and connect new users as well as get their content out to as many people as possible from a grassroots level.

Thank you so much for sharing my post! Definitely going to give you a follow and connect with some of the other newbies from your Resteem Initiative :)

Hi.. Welcome to Steemit

please follow me @daverdp..
I will follow you and upvote you

Thank you

Just followed you :)

Hey Julia, welcome to Steemit! Will look forward to your posts, I'm trying to improve my writing skills too. I'm hoping that my Steemit and blog will provide a solid portfolio of work for prospective employers to take a look at my style. Anyway, good to have you on board.

You might want to check out my post How To Succeed On Steemit to get you started, I cover things like crypto reviews and earning extra money online too if you're interested.

All the best :)

@nathan290595

Looking forward to reading it, thanks for the very warm welcome :)

Hey Julia, Cool pic there of Tukkies... got me quite nostalgic actually! Cheers from Pretoria.

So great to meet another Gauteng native on Steemit! Thanks for the comment :)

Welcome to Steemit!
I followed you if you would like to then follow me back😀

Just followed you now :) Thanks for the welcome!

Congratulations @juliabain! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @juliabain! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62768.63
ETH 2678.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56