Oh hai Mark!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi there!

SO, I made this account back in June, but have yet to write a post. I've never really been a writer or blogger, but when I discovered Steemit I was certainly intrigued. Not sure why it's taken me so long to take this first step, but here we go!

My name is Julianne, though I occasionally go by Julie, Jules, or my classic nickname JShwag (I know, SO COOL). Here's my face!

Snapchat-795421722.jpg

Oh wow, OOPS, sorry you had to see that... Good one Julianne.

[...I definitely posted that one on purpose...I can't help it, I just love Snapchat filters. It's the little things. You're welcome]

Here's what I actually look like:

unnamed-1.png

Whaaaaaaaat Bitmoji how'd you get here?? (hehehe)

OK OK OK Here's what I look like for reals (glass of wine in hand as per usual)

22406521_10211398790708809_5350772283680392560_n.jpg

There are few things in life I love more than pasta. Someday I will open a restaurant called 'Lil Scamps (half joking). I recently went to Italy for the first time (my first ever trip across the seas) and almost died from pure bliss. The picture above is from that trip. If I could give up everything and just eat pasta and drink wine all day I would be more than happy.

I grew up in Holmdel, NJ and lived there until I went off to college in Ithaca, NY (Bombers represent!!) (JK, we're D3 and suck at sports).

1913589_1222574087826_2603969_n.jpg

LOOK AT THAT HAIR. AND THAT FLIP PHONE. AND DAMN IT WAS COLD THAT DAY.

I studied film and photography at Ithaca College, and received a Bachelor's degree in Fine Arts. Living in Ithaca and going to film school definitely shaped who I am as a person today. Throughout my time there I went through some of the hardest times in my life, got a damn good education, made some life-long friends and met my future husband. I could go on a whole rant about Ithaca, but I'll save that for another post. Bottom line: ITHACA IS GORGES

I've always been a Jersey girl at heart, so it seems fitting that I made my way back to Jersey. After college I lived in Jersey City for 3 years with two girls (women? at what age do we say women instead of girls? we were in our twenties so I guess I should say women? BEING AN ADULT IS HARD) I met in Ithaca. This past February I moved in with my boyfriend in Hoboken (ew cooties!), and now we're engaged (he locked this shit DOWN)! (That's another one I'll have to make a separate post about).

Now that I've been living in Hoboken for almost a full year I've started to become more involved in the community. About a year ago I helped found a chapter of an organization called The Climate Mobilization (shameless plug: https://www.theclimatemobilization.org/). So far my team has had a lot of success getting involved with local government, connecting with residents, and partnering with other organizations. Our ultimate goal is to fight the climate crisis through a WWII scale mobilization, in which we would eliminate carbon emissions and sequester carbon, rebuild transportation, transform agriculture and restore ecosystems.

About a month ago we unanimously passed a Resolution in City Hall that calls for Hoboken to endorse being carbon neutral by 2027, to initiate a community wide Greenhouse Gas Inventory (to get exact numbers on what we're emitting) and to create a subcommittee (that our team is a part of) tasked with using the Greenhouse Gas Inventory to formulate the plan that will bring us to net 0 emissions. Pretty dope right?

So, how do I pay the rent?

I've been working in advertising since 2013, and yes my life is exactly like Mad Men. Except now everyone has email and smart phones and we always have to be on call and WHY DO WE DO THIS TO OURSELVES?!?!??!!? Jokes aside, I actually do love being a producer, and have been able to work on some pretty cool campaigns. I even became BFFs with David Blaine after working on his ABC special "Beyond Magic" (okay, maybe not BFFs but I do have his cell phone number) (no I will not give you his cell phone number).

I think this is a good place to stop, hopefully you enjoyed getting to know a bit about me and I'm looking forward to writing more of these posts!

Namaste! (oh yeah I also do yoga, good times)

okthxbaiii <3

Sort:  

Hi Jschwag! Welcome to Steem! We're glad to have you here!

I am a Steem curator and have started a new series "The Daily 5" where I pick five new Steemians to share with my followers that they should know about. I have selected you as one of my five for today. Your post has been featured in my post you can find here: The Daily 5.

Unlike some of the bots and follow 4 follow spammers you will find in the Introduction tag, my work is 100% human and without any required response from you. While I invite you to come check out the post and interact in the comments, nothing further is required but that you enjoy your time here on Steem!

Thanks so much!!

welcome to steemit and cant wait to see more post!

Hahaha, this whole post is gold. Look at you with that flip phone and no arms. So good. I honestly can't wait to see whatever you come up with next. I hope it's bitmojitacular (I do not hope that). Welcome to Steemit, I hope we become super best friends so I can steal DB digits.

Congratulations @jshwag! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57824.98
ETH 3133.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42