Hi Steemit

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hello steemit,

I followed my favorite youtuber, TJ Kirk, here after seeing his video about steemit and DTube. I'm really happy that this place exists because I know how awful youtube has become as a platform for creators. Everyone I watch over there has complained about their stuff being censored, demonetized, flagged down, etc and I think steemit and DTube are the most promising solution to this problem.

As for me, I've decided to start creating content myself because I feel a lot happier when I'm doing something creative. I figured I can upload a few videos to DTube about some of the more obscure/niche computer games I play so that people can see what they are and perhaps enjoy them as well. So you can expect the occasional video from me about some computer game you may have never heard of. I might also cover the occasional programming topic. As I'm a developer by trade, I usually don't have any energy left over for programming projects of my own anymore. So if any of that interests ya, hopefully I can entertain you.

BTW does anyone know what format and codecs DTube expects? I've had mixed results so far. The first video I uploaded I used MP4 (h.264) for video with the ac3 audio codec. Video uploaded fine, but it had no audio. So I uploaded a new version using MP4 (h.264) with libmp3lame for audio and this worked fine. However, some friends of mine watching the video from Mac could not hear any audio at all.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit,a community for positive people just like you,trust me you'll enjoy every bit of it,you can follow me @donkelly

Thank you :)

welcome to the era of freedom

Welcome.

How niche we talking here? I like me some out there games.

Couldn't tell you what DTube expects, although with Vegas I've been using the Sony AVC which I think is some offshoot of h.264 (I remember having to do some really dumb file editing trick because this video editing unit I did for a laugh required .mov files for some reason but exporting .mov from my PC meant it couldn't play on the Macs there) with AAC audio. Haven't had an issue on my end with it. I don't know codecs well though, I just found that combination the least painful to render .mp4 files in Vegas.

Don't wanna necessarily plug my stuff but here's a link to a video that I'm pretty sure had those settings when I exported it, although that was a while ago but I just reuploaded to DTube.

Not on a Mac, but did see your video and I did get audio. Idk maybe Macs don't have LAME by default or something, wouldn't surprise me. I think DTube doesn't re-encode the source file if you are running it at the 'source' quality instead of 480p.

Well, niche enough that I'm often the only person within my circle of friends I know of who plays them. I've got some in mind to cover like Caves of Qud (a really nice post apocalyptic Roguelike). I've also got a video in the works for the best games for lovers of necromancy (I got a real thing for the whole summoner archetype in games, especially necromancy).

The next video should be much more entertaining than the first - and a bit shorter.

Thanks for your video link and your insights about the video codecs. I'll have to experiment a bit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60045.81
ETH 2420.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43