Introducing myself, software engineering, football (soccer) and working along way from home

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

##Hello Steemers!

Update:
Here is my verification photo. @acidyo Thank you for reminding me to do this.
Image of James Parkin

My name is James Parkin. The first thing I would like to do with my first steemit post (and pretty much my first ever blog post) is do some name dropping. I was introduced to the platform by @neilstrauss and his enthusiasm for the platform and its potential was infectious.

I was also shown around by @anwenbaumeister and I felt really inspired by her steemit journey.

With the name dropping over I can talk about me. I was born in Doncaster, England, a place famous for roughly two things. Being the birth place of Jeremy Clarkson (of Top Gear fame) and Louis Tomlinson (of One Direction fame). Actually, I think Doncaster is famous for more than these two individuals, however, my family moved when I was very young and I haven't really been back, apart from stopping at Doncaster station on the train up to Durham.


Cusworth Hall, Doncaster.

From Doncaster my family moved 38 miles north east to a village in Humberside called South Cave. Here I would spend the majority of my primary school years and a few secondary before moving again to the British School of Brussels in Belgium.

It was while in Belgium that I developed an interest in computers and IT, although I wasn't necessarily considering it as a career. I did enjoy building things and given that there weren't many university courses teaching the art of building things, computer science seemed like a good second option. I was accepted into Durham University and graduated with a BSc (Hons) degree in Software Engineering in 2001. I've been a Software Engineer ever since and I still have a passion for building things and problem solving.


Durham, England.

In 2012 I fell in love and moved to Ventura, California. The love bit didn't work out, although, I do have a great job, great friends and get to spend 90% of my year bathed in sunshine, so every cloud does have a silver lining.

Fun Facts About Me

Here are some fun facts about me.

  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's (or Philosopher's) Stone was filming in Durham during my final year there.
  • I have abseiled (rappelled) down the side of Twickenham stadium

    Twickenham Stadium, Home of English Rugby.
    (My abseil was down the smaller stand that no longer exists)
  • I am a massive Tottenham Hotspur (also known as the Spurs) fan. This is a football club based in North London that belongs to the English Premier League. You may well see me blog about this club.

    I bought my best friends daughter her first football kit. It was Tottenham Hotspur of course.

I am looking forward to meeting new people here and sharing more about me and my interests.

Sort:  

Great to meet you in SD last week. Will Be putting up my intro soon. -Chris J

Why does a Moon-rock taste better than an Earth-rock? -Because it's a little meteor.

Worry not that no one knows of you; seek to be worth knowing.

Hey and welcome! Tottenham is a great team :)

Could you be so kind to verify that you really are @jpparkin? Or the person in the picture :)

We've had a lot of users lately pretending to be others because of the rewards, hope you understand. Thanks

Welcome, James! Good intro, i hope we will see more your articles later, will follow you to don't miss it :)

Nice, welcome on steemit :)

I'm so glad you made it onto Steemit! It was awesome to meet you in San Diego. I am now following you :-)

Hi Anwen,
Thanks for coming to San Diego last weekend.
I also am getting started on Steemit! fun to see you actually online. I hope I can help us build a great community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68913.70
ETH 3738.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68