My Account Was Hacked! BUT NO REGRETS, JUST LESSON LEARNED & GRATEFULNESS!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemians!

First of all, let me re-introduce myself. I'm not a new user to Steemit but a minnow with a hard earned reputation score of 47 when my account @joville was hacked & stolen a week ago!

3 days after I did the "account recovery process request" and still no response from steemit support, I decided to make a new one using my nickname and familyname.

IMG_8971.JPG

I blogged about my travels in my home country, the Philippines, my first solo #travel experience in some countries here in Europe, #Photography, & sometimes about my Paintings, #Art, #Blockchain and Crypto related news.

IMG_8968.JPG

IMG_1976.JPG

IMG_8957.JPG


Phishing Site!


It all started when I click the link from a comment by @mrbloom who was first hacked before me. I don't check the box for "keep me logged-in" so when Steemit asked me to log in, I typed my password, it says password incorrect. I found out that it was a 3rd party website that looks similar to steemit through other Steemians who experienced the same. After a few minutes, my profile picture is gone and my hard earned 47 reputation is down to -1 because the hackers were using my account to spam others with their phishing site.
IMG_8916.JPG

That moment when you can see your account back to its hard earned rep. and your balance still intact in your wallet BUT you have no control! It's devastating.

The hacker was not able to withraw anything because all my Steem was Power-up! So now it look likes it's abandoned.

Thanks to @guiltyparties for trying to help me. I was very happy and enlightened when I find out that I can still gain back my 47 reputation from -1 through your help but it was flagged again.

Lesson Learned

Think not just twice but thrice before clicking unfamiliar or malicious link/sites! Better be safe than sorry.

ONLY use POSTING key to post and comment to prevent the hackers to steal your account.

Keep your ACTIVE and OWNER keys safe at all time and consider it your bank account password.


Starting All Over Again With A Grateful Heart


The moment I found out that my account was taken away from me and nothing else I can do about it anymore, Honestly I felt so down and I feel like I died inside because Steemit has been a part of my daily life. After running my errands, work, etc., If I'm not writing for my next post, I'm either reading some awesome and inspiring blogs or hanging around the discord. I also find myself no longer that active or attached to my other social medias like my Instagram and Facebook.

I never knew anyone when I started with Steemit 6 months ago. I also introduce steemit to my friends but after a week they just gave up due to their very busy life and lack of time for it. After a few weeks and months, I started to know more awesome and inspiring people whom I share the same interests, who you can ask questions and help you without asking something in return. Genuine people.

I am very thankful & grateful to the following Steemians


To the #steemitfamilyph specially @febbiefull who message me directly few minutes after I found out I was hacked. She informed me that my account was spamming other users on the comments and ask me if I was hacked just incase I didn't know yet.

To #steemph @dandalion @yehey @minatubo who also showed their moral support and tried to help me.

That's what make Steemit more awesome, because of the helpful & inspiring Steemians that you met along the way and inspire you to grow in this promising platform!.


Spreading Awareness: Some Hacker Tactics On Steemit & How To Avoid Being A Victim


IMG_8972.PNG

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit family! Good luck! I am sure that you will fully enjoy your journey here:)

Thanks @petko, where is that river photography that you posted? It look so relaxing

Welcome in steemit my freind ❤️

❤️

In no time, you will be back up higher than your previous reputation. I'm praying for you.

Cheers,
@Yehey

With hardwork & determination, nothing is impossible.
Voted you along with @steemgigs as witness.

Thanks again,
Cheers

Welcome to Steemit.
This is a platform that rewards you for your actions and transactions, but the truth is, it sounds simple but it is deeper. I know a community that can help you settle in as soon as possible and show you around.
You have to grab the opportunities all around you. At Steemitschool we give you knowledge and educate you how we make $500 in your first month on steemit.
Be a part of our discord channel because in Steemitschool we only win together.
Join us on discord
https://discord.gg/rdgU5tt

That sounds interesting @tomilolafadipe
Will checkit out.

Thanks!

Ive been experience it already when my fb account was hacked and the steel some money but after one day thank God i recover it

Thank you for sharing your experience so that we are aware that there are some people who is trying to steel an account

Anyway your reputation is already there see you Have a lot of comments and votes
God bless you kabayan

Lucky you @joanpablo, you got it back after 1 day!
Don't know why mine takes like forever.

thanks & have a nice day kabayan! 💕
Followed you

So sad to hear you got hacked! i hope somehow you will get your account back. Its really demotivating me to use steem if things like that happen :(

Yes, At some point, I'm still hoping that Steemit support will response in my account recovery 😔

I’m sorry to hear you weren’t able to recover your account, @joyrobinson. But I do like the attitude you’re showing: see this as a valuable lesson, and move on. Way to go! :0)

@simplymike I've been through some down & hard times in the past but manage to rise again and I'm using that as an inspiration. This is also to show the hackers that I am not a looser & lazy cun* like them! :D

Welcome back sissy ❤️ Never give up! Keep steeming 🤟🏼 We got your back 😀

We're sorry to hear that you weren't able to recover your account but we are happy that you chose to rise up from all that. We are glad to have such a strong beautiful woman here in Steemit. You rock!

And like your previous posts, you are doing excellent still! This is featured in SteemPH Davao's Daily Featured Posts for March 21. Keep rocking, and steem on!

Welcome to steemit @joyrobinson. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43