Introduceyourself: My Introduction to Steemit!

Hello Steemit!

After lurking for several days and getting the feel of the Steemit community, I have finally decided to take the plunge into the steem pool and introduce myself. I go by Nomad, and I intend to write about my travels, photography and what it means to me to live free.

This is me:

I have been putting off the introduction post because I did not know what exactly to write and I wanted it to be meaningful. It's snowing today as you can see by the view from my front window and so it was a good time to ponder what I wanted to blog about.

snow.jpg

I have a keen interest in freedom and independence from the old rat race, and while I have not attained this goal yet I would like to blog about the experiences and challenges I meet as I take the road there.

To be financially independent does not necessarily mean driving around in a Maserati and spending all your money on overpriced stuff. In fact, that life does not appeal to me in the slightest. Living within your means and investing in life experiences over material things is the end goal for me. Let's be honest here: who has ever come to the end of his life with the regret that he has not made enough money? The richest man dies with a life abundant in fulfilled purpose, rich experiences and personal achievement. Pursue the things that matter to you, that fulfill you and that enrich your life beyond measure. This, I believe, is the road to true happiness.

So how does one attain such a life? Well, personally, I think this can be done by investing smartly, and by obtaining several independent sources of income whether that be through real estate, various online income or other similar means. The days of working at the same job for 40 years is over. The rat race has become saturated, boring and unfulfilling. Benefits are dwindling and it is arguably a certainty that a full pension won't be waiting for you when they shake your hand and give you that gold watch at the end of your working days.

In my personal life I have come to a place where my career goals have shifted. Instead of working toward that next promotion, I now work toward obtaining those streams of income. For security in later life and for finding fulfillment and purpose. You only live once!

Apart from all the dreamy philosophical stuff, I also like traveling, food and photography. Here are some of my favorite shots:

I'm happy to be a part of Steemit and hope to contribute to the community!

Journey of a Nomad

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Block Chain. One of the things I really enjoy about Steem Block Chain is I get to see the world through the eyes of real people and their backyards. I myself do not travel a lot, a lot of the travel blogs on Steem seem to be done by the Professional travel bloggers, the ones that work with the governments, and the corporations, those I tend to completely ignore.

The ones that show real yards, real people, real places in the everyday is what I enjoy. It is not hard to distinguish the difference between a Professional Travel Blogger, and one that is a person that is proud of their home town, country or city, or were those locations that they were really glad they got to travel to and enjoy and take pictures to share with people.

I look forward to the places and locales that you will be taking us through your photojournal.

Thank you so much for the warm welcome @bashadow! I have travelled quite a bit recently, but I still spend a fair amount of time in my small town in the British Columbia interior. BC is a fantastic place with lots to see and experience, and I will be writing about that too!

You seem to enjoy photography as well, and at first glance it appears that the landscape in your photos resemble BC a lot - and then I saw you mentioned Anchorage. Is that where you're from? I visited the city in 2010! What a majestic state!

I live down on the Kenai Peninsula, just outside of Soldotna. Right now we do not have very much snow left at all, and only had our first small snow, then a second large snow fall, (meaning the driveways were plowed).

I like it down here in the country side of Alaska. I have driven through BC a few times, I prefer to drive rather than fly, but I was not much into photography during those days, now I kind of wish I had a good camera back then during those drives. I still want to revisit Kulane Lake one of these days, and take a canoe or paddle boat out on it. (most likely a paddle boat, less chance of swamping it).

Well it sounds like we had more snow than you then. In fact, we just had a big dump yesterday. I went to the Kenai Peninsula too when I visited back then. It was magical. We also went to Deadhorse and drove back to Canada via the Top of the World Highway. Truly magnificent!

Aloha! After reading your introductory post, I see that we have a similar mindset on practically everything that you posted. It's exciting to see that the very first person I met in the steemit community is so similar to me, haha. Welcome!

Cool! Looking forward to reading your thoughts on everything.

Gorgeous photographs! That raccoon is so cute :D Welcome to Steem!

Thank you!! I met this little guy during a recent trip to Celestun, Yucatan. He was such a friendly little guy and happily gave me several poses.

Great photos! Welcome to the blockchain, and we share similar ideas; hope steem is another step further on that independence!

@pardinus, thanks for the welcome. I checked out your posts and love those shots of the birds you have. I think you're right... it's nice to find like-minded people here.

Yep! And you have tons of photography contests around, good to get to know the community too; there are amazing photographers out here!

Welcome to Steem!

"I have a keen interest in freedom and independence from the old rat race"

Yes, there are many of us here haha.
Your photos are stunning too.

Thanks for the welcome! I see there are many like-minded folks here indeed. The world is changing so fast and some days it feels like I woke up too late. But as they say.. better late than never!

Loading...

Nice to meet you. Live the one with the bear and wish you luck and merry days. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Top of the morning to you @wakeupkitty! Thanks for the well wishes and merry days to you too!

Welcome to the blockchain, Nomad. Following with interest.

Thanks! Fellow Canadian I see :)

I'm here thanks to @jamerussell's "presents" post - welcome to the community, Nomad! Gorgeous captures here - I'm a sucker for a good nature shot! And for future bird pictures (or as @jamerussell calls them, "ornithological photographs" 😂 ), there's a tag called "Feathered Friends" hosted by the always awesomesauce @melinda010100. Looking forward to seeing more of your contributions! Oh, and here's a welcome aboard... !tip steem

Hi there @traciyork! Thanks for the tip! Yes, I love photography and especially of wildlife and those feathered friends. I will have a look to see what it's all about!

Coolness and you're very welcome! Please feel free to shout out if you have any questions and I'd be happy to help (although I see you already have lots of awesomesauce people helping you learn the ropes)! 😊

Welcome to Steem! Those are some nice photos, hope to see some more from you :)

Thanks! Hope to post some soon again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99