From Micronesia to Australia My Journey - Introducing myself

Hi Everyone!

My name is Josh and I’m a 14 year old islander. I found out 5 days ago about Steemit from my family. It really intrigued me and made me want to start straight away but I had school so I waited till this weekend to introduce myself. 😆

As I mentioned earlier, I’m a Micronesian islander and lived most of my life on a tiny island. I recently moved to Australia. At first, the idea of moving to the biggest island in the world sounded exciting but the thought of leaving some of my family behind discouraged me. On the way here, there was a lot going on which distracted me from what I left behind. The trip was fun and interesting because I was facing new things, like seeing snow for the first time when I transited in Japan.🗻🌨

Me and My Cousins back on my island
Me (far right) and My Cousins back on my island

🏝


IMG_1169 (2).JPG
Me(top) and More Cousins!

🏖

When we got to Australia, I learned about rugby but I was too scared to play it at first probably due to my low self-confidence. I was also fearful of any kind of full contact sport. Before I came to Australia, my sports of choice were soccer and volleyball because they were less aggressive and yet competitive. ⚽🏐

I decided to give rugby a try (pun intended) when a friend asked me to join. On my first day of practice, the coach, other players, and the other parents were really nice and encouraging. This helped me overcome my fears and build my self-esteem. My confidence grew the more I played. 🏉

17492953_10155209336809630_6321219917450540107_o (3).jpg
Prepping before a game🏈


17545155_10154572349743261_891325261197236549_o (2).jpg
At the right wing waiting for an opportunity🦅💨


20280428_10214201432610639_3201669300712840457_o.jpg
Teammates and I after we won a game🏆🎉

My other interests includes pets, especially dogs, and wild animals. I love being in nature and hanging around areas with lots of trees and places to hide. Here's a picture of my puppy (that I sadly left behind).😭


IMG_1193.JPG
I adopted the big fat one at the top, his name is Taro👶🐶


Here are some Wild Animals that Posed with me!



IMG_0793.JPG
This echidna is such a good looking fella😚


IMG_0799.JPG
Don’t worry, I didn’t really touch it🖐👌


IMG20170120161436.jpg
This majestic water dragon was really photogenic🦎


IMG20170120162005.jpg
We also took one together😁😉🙃


IMG20160225175846.jpg
This was my pet for a few months. I found him indoors when it was cold and I released him when the weather became warmer. His name is Jo Flash. He grew really fast and his favorite food was snails🐌


IMG20160513161548.jpg
His claws are really sharp but ticklish 😄😁😂🤣

In the past few years, I enjoyed drawing and cooking. Like most teens, I'm into music, especially country music because of the story and rhythm that it has.

Recently my interests have moved to writing, although I’m still not very good at it. I started writing, because I need an outlet for my creative imagination. English is not my mother tongue. I hope that sharing on steemit will improve my English and help me articulate the ideas that keep popping up in my head.

Thanks for reading this post. Hope it wasn't too long. I'm looking forward to being a part of this community.

Here's a video dedicated to everyone on Steemit✌

(

)

P.S. I welcome any feedback for stories, art work, or just musings from my mystical mid-teen mind! haha 😂

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit from @lopezdacruz. All the best in your steemit journey.

Thank you @lopezdacruz for making me feel welcome. Wishing you success in your steemit as well.

Welcome @joshua-golbuu, I think a lot of us are proud to see young people/teens like yourself putting in so much effort.
Quality participation from your generation will bring great value to Steemit and help take us to a new level for the benefit of Steem investors and Everyone in this community.

I especially like the Video Dedication with the introductory steem logo....that's pretty cool! Cheers

Wow @dj123 your words are very encouraging, I hope that I can eventually inspire other teen to join steemit. I promise to give back as much encouragement as I've received especially to others in my generation. Peace ✌ & 💖 love.

Awesome! I'm following you and look forward to your future post.

Congratulations @joshua-golbuu! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey @joshua-golbuu, welcome to Steemit!

Thank you so much @unbeaten. Appreciate your warm welcome.

Hello,
I will going follow you and upvote your posts and going to comment.......i wish u will do the same....lets help each other to grow up fast....thank you😊

Thanks for up-voting me @mariameen4. I've followed you. Peace ✌ & 💖 love.

Keep it up brilliant!

Thank you @mdo for your high praise. I'm not sure I deserve it, actually I felt a little self-conscious with all the silly poses. Thanks for reading and lifting my spirit. Peace ✌ & 💖 love.

hieee welcome,
i am also new in here i am voting you,& commenting on ur post & going to follow you.its a request to you please do the same on my post.By helping eachother we will grow rapidly.

Thanks for your support.

Hey , how are you ?
welcome to steemit @joshua-golbuu
following you now.
follow me back pls.

Thank you @thailand-funfun for your support.
I'm following you now.

Congratulations @joshua-golbuu! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

What a great introduction post you wrote, @joshua-golbuu! Your written English is so good that I would not have guessed that English was not your first language! Keep on making friendly and personal posts like this, and sharing your thoughts and experiences with the world, and I am confident that you will be very successful here! I have upvoted and resteemed this post to help get you started on Steemit. I have also followed you now, and am looking forward to reading more about your life. Great pictures, by the way! What kind of creature is Jo Flash? Just ask me if you have any questions, and I'll try to help you out. Cheers!

Thank you @mitneb for those encouraging words and your support.
Jo Flash is a rare pink tongue skink and can live up to 25 to 30 years. Hope he's doing well out there.

Wow, @joshua-golbuu, I am surprised that a creature like that can live so long. He's really neat. I hope he's doing well in the big, wide world, too! Thanks for replying, and answering my question! Have a fantastic day! Cheers!

Very happy to hear you let Jo Flash go. The native animals belong out in the wild. =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56679.48
ETH 2377.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26