You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hi everyone! I'm Raf Vantongerloo, Nuclear Engineer and crypto enthusiast from Antwerp, Belgium.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hey, Raf! Nice to have you.
As someone of the younger generation, I grew up to the pro and against nuclear debate. Having been surrounded by both parties I have a fair share of arguments for each side. I'm aware that nuclear energy is cleaner and more efficient than burning coal but people still have not figured out what to do with all the leftover nuclear waste, and therefore I cannot agree with the pro-nuclear ​mindset. I believe humanity should be advanced enough at this point to shift towards renewable energy especially with electric cars spiking in demand.

Again, welcome to #steemit!
Josh

Sort:  

With modern nuclear power plants, they can recycle much of the waste, and new plants are less prone to melt downs. Nuclear power is a good way until renewable mature more

Fair argument. I will take it.

Even better: ITER! The next step in fusion reactors; I've had the privilege to work on some ITER-related projects, too, the past few years. Check out iter.org or just wiki it. :) It's the future!

Thanks! And I can assure you: friends and family try to "get me started" on pro-nuclear ramblings very often, just for laughs :) Luckily I know the drill by now, haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63713.30
ETH 3389.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62