This is me...

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

I've had some successes and some dismal failures. The successes earned me a living and got me laid. The failures made me a better human being.

I'm a performer who has made 5 solo theatre shows. One year, after some initial successes and high expectations, I made a new show that was about me landing on the island of my soul. I treated the audience as different aspects of my self. It was a half baked idea that didn't work. On the island I encountered my inner demon and of course I had to battle him. His name was Roger and he was a hand puppet. The show was an utter failure on every level. Artistically, critically and financially. I ended up having to perform that show for 4 months, to ever dwindling crowds. That show was my inner demon. But looking back it's my most valuable show. Going through that experience allowed me to empathise more deeply and profoundly with people. It showed me I could experience humiliation. And it taught me that failure and success come and go like everything in life.

I am addicted to movement and improvisation.

I love contact improvisation, an improvised dance form where you maintain a point of contact while moving with another person. When you move your centre underneath someone else's centre and take their weight they can fly on you, or you can fly on them. So it becomes fluid dynamic acrobatics. And if I hit the sweet spot I can lift people way heavier than me, or be lifted by someone smaller. I've gotten used to viewing the world upside down. And I've expanded my awareness of touch which is kind of like an altered state of consciousness.

I like being a contact festival tourist. One night I was at contact festival in Buenos Aires and everyone - like 150 people -  were gathered in a room. I've got o...k...ish Spanish but I miss a LOT too. That night people were saying something and I didn't really get what they were talking about. There was a moment of silence and then a guy gets up and starts taking off his clothes. He took off everything except his knee pads and started dancing in the centre of the room. Then a girl got up and took off all her clothes and started dancing with him. Then someone else took off their clothes, then another person, and another and all of a sudden there are like 30 people dancing contact naked. I was looking around wondering what the fuck was going on. Then I felt myself at a precipice. I could either sit back and observe, detaching myself from what was going on in front of me or I could dive in and fully experience life. And so faced with the decision of either participating in life or just watching it there was no decision to make. I took off my clothes and started dancing. I was getting a few quizzical looks from the other dancers but I was on such a high I didn't think much of it. As a side note, dancing contact with naked bodies is not that pleasant. Skin is very grippy and it makes it hard to slide which you do a lot in contact. So the dancing came to an end and we put our clothes back on and a friend came up to me and asked me why I was dancing. It turned out to be a performance that the people had been working on for a week that I had party crashed. 

I'm also in love with Acroyoga.

I like basing but I LOVE flying.

So I'm not flexible. Whatever. A girl once described me as a trelf - a tree who thinks he's an elf - which is probably pretty accurate. If anyone hasn't tried acroyoga you should. Being upside down makes you happy. Right now I'm super excited about combining contact improvisation and acroyoga. I teach both, as well as theatre improvisation.

A little while ago I got fed up with facebook after they limited the amount of people I could invite to an event. And I realised how hooked in to it I was. I've been spending years building up my social/business networks through fuckedupbook. I use it A LOT for getting people to classes, intensives and letting people know about shows. And when I realised they're trying to channel people into buying exposure I thought Oh Shit. I'm sure in the last year the amount of people I'm reaching has drastically reduced. I was already interested in cryptocurrencies and when I came across Steemit I thought WOW. Brilliant. I didn't invest in it because I didn't understand why anyone would pay money for Steem power when you can just use the service and even earn from it. It took me a while to understand how it worked. I still have no idea how people price it. So now, I'll just use it and hope it becomes super popular. I can't wait for the day when I meet someone and in order to swap contact deets we just look each other up on Steemit.

I'm running a theatre improvisation workshop in Berlin August 22-26, and performing on August 27th. http://www.dock11-berlin.de/index.php/cat/2_3/id/p455_5-day-Improvisation-Workshop.html

I have never been paid in crypto. That would be AWESOME. I know you guys are probably not my audience but if any of you are interested in any workshops/performances/classes that I do I will accept payment in Steem, BTC or another crypto that's not a shitcoin.

What else?

I also make short films and music videos.

I made this in Uruguay at a hippie festival.

And no I didn't sleep with her. Everyone asks that.

I was pretty proud of this music vid. It was one shot.

And this is a doco animation that I produced which has won some awards and been screened heaps.

So that's a bit of me.

Happy Steeming Steemeranians.

When in doubt say YES.

Mucho Aloha!



Sort:  

Welcome Jonno and nice too meet you!
Cool acrobatics moves :)

Thanks! Nice to meet you too.

Your welcome :)

Is that Yogaaaa? Lol Welcome to Steemit @jonno-katz

Acroyoga actually. It's kind of like a mixture between partner acrobatics and yoga. There's a whole therapeutic side to it where the base massages and stretches the flyer while they're hanging on the bases feet. Thai massage is also incorporated into it.

Isn't it Arambol beach over there?

It sure is Arambol. I've spent a couple of seasons there dancing and doing acro. I can teach like 3 classes a week there and jam every day if I want to. Nicely spotted!

I thought I could see some familiar faces)

You probably know Vega then?

YOOOO!
Yes I know Vega. I just caught up with her last week in Berlin.

It's a small world) I am sort of CI-amateur, just use to go for a jam once in a month

Never heard of acroyoga, but it looks fun!

It's super fun and super addictive. Check out acropedia.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34