My self-reflection as a Teacher (My First Blog- Thanks @Drakos)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

18072697_120300003321440830_484997762_n.jpg
(I included my picture so I can introduce myself better.)

I decided to write a reflection of my teaching career because tonight I am more motivated because I am now a part of Steemit, I do believe that I will learn more here and soon be able to share this with my students.

When I graduated from college, I thought I knew everything there was to know. I sure was wrong. I don’t know how it all happened but as I remember I never wanted this profession way back. I actually told my friends that if in time I’d be a teacher, I won’t be efficient because all I will have to do is to give students tough assignments and I will never explain the lesson, I’ll just be a friend to the students and that will off-set it all. Yeah, I was once a student and I remember how hard our teachers work for us, they are always convincing us and encouraging us to do what we don’t want to do and I have to admit that they were like our second parents but out of all the hard task they’ve been doing, they still get to be criticized in the end.

Well, that’s one thing why I don’t like this profession. But after all these thoughts, I became a TEACHER.


My students and I during our recollection, this was taken 8 years ago.

And here it goes; I had no idea what the first year of teaching was going to be like. I encountered situations I never anticipated. Even the paperwork was above and beyond!
Why did I choose to be a teacher?
First, I enjoy spending time with children.
Second, I love learning and helping others to learn.
But even though I am already a teacher; this question is still on my mind. Why I am interested in teaching? Is it for the money, the job security, the short days, holidays, or summers off? As years goes by, things become clearer for me….it took time before i understand my purpose a a teacher….hahaha! I’m just making the story light…

Each teacher can recount numerous highs and lows in their teaching career. Personally, I experienced many great moments in teaching. These were days when I ended so happy and enthusiastic that I knew I had selected the right profession.
On the other hand, I had days where I definitely questioned teaching as a career. These were days where the students seemed uninterested, too talkative, or even worse a blow up occurred and nothing got accomplished. Thankfully the average combined with the positive days outshines my negative days.
Through my almost 12 years of teaching and working in education, I’ve changed a lot. I am now a fulfilled teacher for I know that in my own way I was able to touch lives and inspired students to reach for their dreams. I also learned so much about teaching and dealing with students. “There are lots of sacrifices and struggles” but TPNHS (my former school) and now LBSHS gave me unforgettable experiences that helped me develop of who I am now. (my gratitude to my co-teachers for making my teaching career more colorful).


These are my Grade 11 students.

Being a teacher is a rewarding experience especially when your students show gratitude of how thankful they are that they have you to educate them. Well, I can say that this profession is something you could love and hate at the same time but after the hard work and pain you can look back to something you can be proud of and when you see the results, the lack of compensation will after all be rewarded by thank you and hugs coming from students, then suddenly realize that everything is worthwhile after all.
In the end, this experience changed me as a teacher. Students are people who have feelings and who don't want to feel cornered.


I brought my students in one of the premiere universities here in the Philippines.

They want to learn but they also want to feel as if they have some control over themselves. I never made assumptions again about a student before they came into my class. Every student is different; no two students react in the same way. It is our tasks as teachers to find not only what motivates each student to learn but also what motivates them to misbehave. If we can meet them at that point and take away that motivation, we can go a long way towards a more effective classroom and learning experience.

Here is my another family now.

Now that I am in Senior High School, it is more challenging yet fulfilling. Thank God, I am doing the best that I can do.

Btw, I am currently teaching Biology and Chemistry subjects. Please welcome me here on Steemit for this is my first ever blog. Haha ! God bless everyone!

Sort:  

Congratulations @jommeloliveros! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Good luck on learning and welcome to the community.
@michaelfilmmaker

Thank you! Hope you can guide me here when you have free time.

Of course, hit me up on Steemit Chat: @michaelfilmmaker and ask, what you want to know.

welcome on board

Welcome to Steemit!

Oh wow we are glad to welcome you here in Steemit!

Saluton@ jommeloliveros. Warm greetings from another teacher.

Thank you @johano, salute to you teacher!

Welcome to the community Sir Jommel

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59838.11
ETH 2384.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51