Hello Steem.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steem!

I'm Johnnie C and I'm passionate about science, clean energy, the great outdoors, and sustainability.

I'm mostly going to write about and comment on:

  1. Outdoor fun (jumping in cold alpine lakes, hiking in the Ozarks, backpacking in the Sierras, kayaking in the swamps of Arkansas, wildlife viewing, tips on visiting popular national parks, #travel, #nature etc)

  2. Volunteer computing and cryptocurrencies that utilize and support it (like #Gridcoin)

  3. Clean energy and sustainability (demand management, algal biofuels, and biological carbon sequestration)

I've worked in environmental conservation, science, and engineering; have a Phd in (feel free to ask me what any of these actually mean!) Environmental Dynamics, MS in Environmental Engineering, Graduate Certificate in Sustainability, and a BA in Cognitive Science; and have done research on algal biofuels and wastewater treatment, use of microbes and UV light to degrade pollutants, and biosequestration of carbon.

I write at: https://medium.com/adventures-in-volunteer-computing
And: http://trailsofarkansas.blogspot.com/

But am considering moving mostly or entirely over here if things work out.

Sort:  

Welcome on Steemit! You are gonna like it really soon :D
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

Great post @johnniec!
follow

Welcome to steemit! If your looking for crypto currency updates, carpentry and a bit of photography follow me 😎
https://steemit.com/@cryptohustler

Also you should check out the minnow support! It's here to help us small guys grow!!

https://steemit.com/minnowsunite/@hypexals-spiral/minnow-support-project-how

Welcome to Steem @johnniec I have sent you a tip

Nice background at yosimite. I love that place. Welcome to steemit. You will love it here. Upvoted and followed hope you follow me too

Thanks! I love that place too. I really like getting into the backcountry there, but it has been awhile and this photo from Glacier Point was more recent.

Awesome. That place was closed last spring and we could not drive there during those months. Thanks for sharing

Wow if only I have a friend like you in real life, I feel like you can answer almost anything xD Welcome to Steemit!

Hello @johnniec Welcome to steem it share we follow?

Welcome to Steemit! Can I ask you where the Ozarks are? I'm from Italy and, despite knowing a bit about US geography from mass media, I've never heard about this particular place. I'm following you anyway, I automatically respect whoever studied so much they managed to obtain that piece of paper!

Thanks! Yes, I imagine most people in the US don't know either. The Ozarks are in northern Arkansas and southern Missouri (in the middle of the country). They are the highest point between the Rockies and Appalachians. They are an old mountain range and really beautiful. I'll post pics soon! The Ouachitas are also in Arkansas and also very old and incredibly beautiful.

Great, I will wait for you to post them then!

Excellent introduction post dear friend @johnniec is a real palcer to welcome you to our beloved platform, I hope you feel comfortable working with us, I wish you many successes in what you are going to undertake

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68180.36
ETH 2642.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70