I’m Jo – a travel fanatic, once corporate Londoner now on a new chapter of well-being rediscovery!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hi everyone, 

I’m Jo and I’ve just touched down on Steemit Island. I’m embarking on a brand-new chapter in my life - a self-employed business that doesn’t feel like work - and I’ve left a lot behind to pursue it. I want to share this journey with you all and learn about your life and business tips along the way.  

A few things you should know about me - I’ve been a pescatarian for two years now and I can’t believe I ate meat for 26 years, it boggles my mind. I live in England at the moment, but I’ve traveled a good chunk of the world (a few times) and there are still SO many places on my list. I’m not stopping until I tick them off. There, I’ve said it.  

 

Traveling in India and Australia, 2015

Why Steemit? Why now? 

Two months ago, I quit my job at a huge charity in London, left my flat in Peckham and moved back to my Mum’s house in the Sussex countryside. Rash? Yes. Sensible? Maybe. Needed? Very much so. Due to stress, unhappiness and more importantly losing my stepdad, I was burnt out from London life. So, I decided I needed to reset myself, embrace my grief and realign my lifestyle so that I can be the best version of myself moving forwards.  

Sourced from Pinterest

I’ve since dived headlong into pursing my interest in wellness therapies and I want to share this career change…alongside my travels, nutrition tips, ethical living and everything in between with the Steemit community. Thank you for having me! This is an incredible platform to share content and learn from each other – I’m excited to become part of it. Of course, I need to thank my special friend @yasminep for introducing me to Steemit and encouraging me to get going – she owns her own boutique fashion label, Hux and if you haven’t checked her out go, go go!  

Me and @yasminep in KL, Malaysia

What are a few things about me that might grab your attention? 

I’m obsessed with sauerkraut (the famous German dish) 

Now unless you’re into fermented foods, you may not be aware of sauerkraut and be wondering what the hell I’m on about. Fair enough. But if you do, you’ll know that it’s healthy, doesn’t taste like vinegar and it’s DELICIOUS. I make my own (it can take two weeks but it’s worth it) and I’ll be sharing this recipe along with many other vegetarian based insights. 

I’m a qualified (almost) deep tissue and holistic massage therapist 

Office life just wasn’t for me. I tried it for 5 years, but I’d finally had enough this year and QUIT. Damn it felt good. I’ve always had an interest and love for alternative, holistic therapies – massage, yoga, meditation, nutrition… so I booked a massage diploma course to kick start it all and I’m almost finished. Hurray. 

I’ve run a half-marathon 

I know what you’re thinking, not that impressive right? But running 13.1 miles two weeks after losing my stepdad was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done and I’m bloody proud of myself. Tips on how to fit exercise into everyday life and much more coming soon. Might help that my boyfriend is studying to be a Personal Trainer, so I’ll share all his tips too, don’t you worry. 

I love my menstrual cup 

HOPEFULLY you know what a menstrual cup is (boys, even you) but if not, stay tuned for my tips and thoughts on bio-degradable sanitary products, menstrual cups and all things beauty, environmental and ethical.  

So, there you have it, I hope I’ve given you a flavour of the type of content I’ll be providing – and I hope you’re looking forward to it as much as I am to creating it.  

Can’t wait to share this journey with you all. Happy Thursday! 

Jo x  

 

Sort:  

Welcome to the community! I hope you like it

Hi, powerful and great intro :) Plus I learned what a pescatarian is!
Resteeming you for some publicity!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Thanks very much for the warm welcome and for resteeming! Really appreciated :)

Welcome to Steem Community @joham! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome @joham ! Following you now....

Thank you!

OMG. BEST. NEWS. EVER! Welcome on board, Jo! It's been too long since I've seen your beaut face at my 25th(?) birthday party?! Has it been this long?! Super excited to have you here and look forward to reading your content! Good work @yasminep - think I need to kick Alicia to join next! :-)

YAY. You joining definitely spurred me on too so thank you! I know, it's been WAY TOO LONG. Now that @yasminep is back, there's no excuses - lots of summer bbqs and drinks please. Will be so nice to see you soon and catch up. Will get reading all your posts too, seen a couple already and love them!

I know, I can't wait. By the way if you have no plans on the 19th - I'm organising a mini Steemit picnic at St. James' Park so come come come! Pimm's and scones all the way :-)

Oh balls, I just commented on another post but I'm away this Sat. Next one, I'll be there x

Upvote and resteem. Where exactly are you located now? You can show how to use a menstrual cup on DLive but I will not watch it.

Thanks for the upvote and resteem @lucky.digger - ha I think I'll avoid any menstrual cup demonstration videos!

You can still do a video on the subject by talking and explaing and demonstrating diagrams etc.. I am quite sure you will find a whole lot of people interested.

Hello welcome to steemit!! it's really nice to have you here enjoy the platform and explore the community.....wish you all the best.

Hi - thanks so much, looking forward to joining the community properly :)

Welcome to the steemit family! We have been through a similar situation. Being burned out by our corporate jobs, the Belgium weather and mentality. Happily living in Cambodia now for the past 4 years! Looking forward to your shares. Btw... I am obsessed by the spicy version of sauerkraut, Kimchi and everything else fermented!

Hi @amy-goodrich, lovely to meet you - wow Cambodia is beautiful - really liked Battambang and Siem Reap when I visited a few years ago. What do you do there? Really nice to know there are others out there that have a similar feeling of discontentment and want to change their life. Feel like I'm just starting my journey but I'm excited to see where it goes. Yes - a fellow fermented food lover! I'll have to find a recipe for Kimchi. Had a look through some of your posts and will definitely use your healthy meal ideas - I eat a lot of vegan meals already but need more inspiration :)

Oh we lived in SR for 1.5 years. Lovely town but was getting too busy. My hubby is involved in crypto projects, I run food; health website and coaching programs. Right now we are also opening a bakery and coffee shop/health food cafe. We love kimchi. Posted my recipe a few months ago on dtube if you are interested

Steemit is such a great place for vegan recipe inspiration. Take care!

Wow that sounds amazing - next time I'm in Cambodia I'll have to visit! Thanks for the recipe too :)

Welcome to the platform @joham..have fun and keep steeming.:)

Thank you @annalorin28, will get my next post out very soon!

Hi there @joham! Welcome again, since I just did in @yasminep's post. I applaud you for your courage to pursue what you really want to do. I am in a career transition myself. But with a baby on the way, I still have the whole maternity year to nurture my baby and my dreams to a better life.
I'd recommend you check out some of Jerry Banfield's youtube videos or an inexpensive course on Udemy for Steemit. With all the crypto jargon involved, it can be a bit overwhelming, but that sure helped me out!

Hi @jessicapixie! Thanks so much, that means a lot. It's tough to give up a familiar and comfortable job but it's so worth it in the long run. I applaud you too for following your dreams - keep going, we can do this! Thanks for your suggestions, I'll check them out :) All the best for your pregnancy too, very exciting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16