You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Am An Explorer, Searching For Truth. Please Join Me!

When I was younger, I was more a consumer and became a mystic as I got older, maybe at times, maybe around college, and I'm 33 now and might be an explorer now, or generally, on average in my life.

Grew up in Oregon, volunteered in Hawaii, and was working in Vietnam. I love travel and many things but prefer to stay in one place to let people come to me. Have ran around in life but I tend to try to get away from rat races in life. You are a smart man. I'm Oatmeal. nice to meet you. I'm near Seattle now.

Sort:  

Hi joeyarnoldvn, thank you so much for commenting on my first post! I think most people start out as consumers because that is the only way to learn about the world around us. At a certain point, probably when we enter our 30s and 40s, I believe we start to ask "what does all of this mean?" if we are not too busy with our careers and families. As I traveled between Arizona and Boston or New York City for 25 years to obtain my college and graduate school education, I noticed that people on the West Coast started asking about the meaning of life much earlier than people on the East Coast. I concluded that the warm climate and the relative ease of living on the West Coast gave people more incentive to contemplate the meaning of life than people living on the East Coast. Now I am living in China and I am immersed in a culture that seems to take contemplating the meaning of life very seriously.

Yeah, as a west coaster from Oregon, yeah, was asking what it all meant when I was about seven and it grew with age and I am 33 now and I guess people do tend to think about it earlier on the west than the the east like you said and I was on the east and met people on the east.

China is interesting. I was in Vietnam. Good to ponder life. Great to think about what we might be Living For (L4) and when we got important things to share, we can spread it more in parodies, through smiling, songs, memes, music videos, if we don't take ourselves too serious with life truths, proverbs, etc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61228.86
ETH 2663.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54