My Introduction to Steemit Community - Aspiring Writer

Good evening, everyone. I am Joe. Basically your average Joe, at that. I am looking forward to being part of this growing and very promising community. I am particularly excited because I would like to use this platform to pursue a goal I've had for a very long time.

I enjoy reading a lot, and I would like to improve my writing and story-telling abilities. The two biggest things I lack is practice and feedback. I am thinking I may be able to get both here with your kind assistance. I would like to use the blogging tools here to release short stories I have written to get comfortable with putting my work out there. If you have any constructive criticism I would welcome it. I try to write mostly fiction.
WIN_20180320_23_10_00_Pro.jpg
I cannot promise that it will all be to your taste. But I will strive to do my best. I expect to release part one of a short story a little later this week, I hope you get a chance to look it over. Incidentally, it happens to be a Steampunk story.

Thank you and I hope to see you all around.
Joe

#introduceyourself #introducemyself #introduction #steemit #writing

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit @joetraver. 👋🏻

Hello, Joe, and Welcome to Steemit.

With your goals of becoming a writer, you've come to what is probably the finest platform for that. Steemit has a large, growing community, an excellent pre-fab blogging platform, and a wide-ranging index of topics thru which you can target your audience.

(For years, I worked part-time as a writer, but never managed to parlay writing into a full-time gig. Until about 6 months ago, when I started on Steemit. Now, I'm thrilled that I can call myself a full-time, freelance writer. Hope you can soon do the same.)


Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
  4. Be yourself.
  5. Be interesting and informative.
  6. Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
  7. Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

Welcome to steemit and nice to meet you @joetraver. How are you and your journey so far? Never hesitate to ask if you have any confusions, okay? I hope to see more of your future blogs and keep up the good work, I know you have what it takes and stay positive. =)

Hello @joetraver welcome to steemit....I am looking forward to read your short stories....have a great day ahead.

Hi Joe, welcome!

I love it when I read a good intro and a picture so I get to know the face behind the account 😊

Congratulations @joetraver! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Welcome joetraver !!!
So glad you started posting and joined steemit ! Can't wait to read more from you.

welcome to steemit, My simple advice to you is, don't always upvote every post,Your upvotes matter! Make sure you're using your upvote power to reward content you find genuinely valuable, not just out of habit.

Congratulations @joetraver, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps that have been worked out by experts?

Welcome aboard @joetraver! I look forward to seeing what you got.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62033.06
ETH 3004.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48