You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Greetings from the Great Plains!

in #introduceyourself5 years ago (edited)

Hi (here I am not knowing how to address you, might it be ok to call you sir? mr? I dunno, please let me know what do you prefer).

So this was just first post, from here on I can say it is nice to meet you John. Currently I'm working in my spare computer (it has almost 8 years now), since I have loaded on cache your full post history in one browser page and esteem surfer desktop version simultaneously the computer might crash if I attempt to search my first post to paste it here in order to introduce myself as well 😆 So after posting this comment I will search on my profile and edit the comment to add my introductory post.

I have lived my entire live in a city, I would also like to live in the country side someday. When that happens I want to take amazing shots and share them with everyone as you did 😊

In order to overcome my not that convenient shyness I have to retell my self that there are not silly questions but there are a lot of fools who don't dare to ask 😅 Ok, so what does howdy mean? I have noticed that it is your usual greeting, but I have no idea what it stands for or what its origin is.

Best regards.


So here it is, my introductory post on Steem and my introductory post on Whaleshares.
Sort:  

Howdy again sir joelsegovia! Oh, the greeting "howdy" just means hello.
Many years ago people used to say "how do you do?" for a greeting and then it got shortened to Howdy
but only the people in the South of the United States uses that greeting for some reason.

As far as what you call me, I like janton or cowboy. Many people call me cowboy because I was raised on a farm and ranch and also love the history of the old West and live in Texas so it makes sense. I like to be respectful to people so I use "sir" also but you don't have to call me that unless you want to. What about you? Do you have a nickname that you prefer instead of your username?

Your steemit introduction post is in Spanish, is there an easy way to translate it? I'm fairly bad at computer and tech things. The whaleshares link doesn't work and I'm not a member there. By the way, how do you like it there and is it similar to steemit?

So you are saying you are shy? Me too! But I have reason to be, hey you are a fine, handsome young man, I wouldn't be shy if I were you! lol.

You lived in a city your whole life, that's amazing. I almost said that's too bad! lol. But many people love the city and it fits them well. I am so alarmed at what is happening in Venezuela, how are you making it there? We heard there are terrible food shortages.

Hi Janton, I added an Enlgish version of my introductory post at the bottom of the original one. If you wan to translate some post (when using google chrome) just right-click on a blank space on the page and the option "translate to English" should be available in the pop-up menu. Since I used too many colloquial Spanish words that will not help you much while reading my post.

Regarding living in a city, I really like my city despite all the issues it has. The thing is that I want to have the experience of living in the country side for at least a couple of years.

Getting and account on Whaleshares is fairly easy, there are some members of thealliance there. Whaleshares started as a fork (clone) of the code behind the Steem blockchain and some of the availables opensource front ends (like busy). Then the developers have started to add new features to it somewhat making it different. Although the code is mostly the same the intention behind each project is different. Whaleshares is more community/blogging oriented, the developers and witnesses there focus more of their attention on keeping the community engaged with many Discord events and many whale funding community projects with their big upvotes.

Howdy today sir joelsegovia! Thanks so much for adding an English translation and for the tip on translating while on Chrome.
I agree that you should live in the country for awhile, it would be very interesting to see if you enjoyed it or if you would miss all the conveniences of the city. Are you guys able to get all the necessities you need? We keep hearing about food and other types of shortages.
Are you living with others, do you have an apartment or a house?

I've heard good things about Whaleshares but at the moment all my times is spent on steemit and I still don't have time to do what I want. Do they have flagging and downvoting on whaleshares? I didn't think a community could be more blogging oriented than steemit, so that's interesting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65725.20
ETH 3370.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63