Introducing Myself | Joel from the Netherlands

FotoVaren.jpg
Hey all,
I'd wanna know who I am reading about when I read a blog, so I will do the same.

My name is Joël, 23 years old, from the Netherlands.
After I graduated high school I chose to not go to university. I didn't know what I wanted to do, but I knew I didn't want to waste time and money on university doing something I wasn't sure I wanted to do.

So I started with reading a lot. Like a lot a lot. Mostly they were psychology & self-help books since I was always interested in how people work and why they do what they do. After 6 months of that I woke up one day in January in the middle of the night with an idea. I had gotten into precious metals, but I had noticed something..

The main Dutch marketplace for buying and selling silver from person to person was risky. There was no way to know if someone was gonna scam me or not, so I decided to build a marketplace for precious metals myself. It would have reviews, a rating system and a private messaging option.

The next 7 months I spend an average of 17 hours a day building that website from scratch, learning PHP, JS and HTML by trial and error along the way. Finally I had finished it. The website was done and I launched it.

Now I think if it, it wasn't even a moment of pride. More a moment of relief that it was done. Unfortunately nothing happened. I didn't know shit about marketing and how to grow a userbase so it was basically an empty website. During those 7 months the big Dutch marketplace had integrated a private messaging system as well.

I also realized after all those months that all the predictions of the silver evangelists hadn't come true. They were making the same kinda videos, spreading doubt and fear in order for people to buy their silver. This didn't mean that I didn't believe in silver anymore. Not everything they said was shit. I still have some silver, but it did mean that my passion for the project died down. Nothing further came of it.

In the 2 years that followed I had some more projects, trying to find out what my strengths are, what I am good at and what I am going to do.

In September 2017 I did go to university. Pressure from family and failed ventures made me think it was the right thing to do. I chose the only study I found interesting, psychology. I moved to Utrecht, my favorite city of all time. Finally got my own place with a good friend of mine as my housemate. Met a lot of people. Started really disliking my study. It was encredibly boring and not about the practical psychology that I love. I started working more as a gardener. I got a job in an arcadehall. I got my boating license and started working as a skipper, boating people around the canals of this beautiful city.

I kept trading cryptos. I figured out that I wanted to become a professional trader within the next 5 years. I quit my study. That was 3 weeks ago. Now I am working, learning more about trading, studying crypto related content, boating, gardening and chilling. I'm loving it.

Personal finance, budgeting, investing & saving are things I'm learning about more every single day. Even though I don't earn much, I will become wealthy. With my plan there is no way that won't happen.

So overall I'm really enjoying this life at the moment.
I don't know where I'll be in 10 or 5 or even 3 years, but that's what makes it exciting.

My main interests are:

  • Boating
  • Gardening
  • Psychology
  • Personal finance
  • Christianity
  • Man-woman relationships
  • Fixing stuff

  • Hopefully you've gotten to know me a bit better.
    If you have questions or suggestions leave a comment below!

    To read about how I got into crypto, read my previous post.

    Joel

    Sort:  

    Looking good, @joelchristopher Welcome to Steemit (5-24-2018). I am not a bot. I am @Noxsoma. Just a quick question. What's the coolest thing you've ever done in your life? What do you love? Answering these questions can help you become successful on Steemit. When you write about and share your passions, you will attract people who will support you. Sounds like you've got a lot going on. Good luck with your wealth building as well as Steemit.

    This is a public service. Good luck, best wishes. Stay true to yourself.

    Did you get your Manna yet? This is a new Free crypto coin. Check it out.


    Even though this does look suspiciously much like a bot, thanks!

    There is not one super cool thing that comes to the top of my mind. I also don't believe that that's what I'm supposed to look for in life. Sitting in the park on a bench watching the sunrise while the birds start whistling and alphachicken (BOSS chicken in the park near me) starts cock-a-doodle-doo'ing to me is just as cool as going on holiday to the beaches of Spain.

    I think that the beaches of southern Spain will be in my future. It seems we have similar ideas about life. I think you've come to them much sooner than I have. Do you have a favorite beach in Spain, or in general??

    I hope so for you. If we ever meet, it will be on a beach in Spain to drink a beer haha!
    I've been to some beaches near Barcelona, but more in general. Have you already visited?

    Yes.... Valencia, Barcelona, although I never made it to the beach there, just the marina, and Benidorm... great beaches.... many elderly Brits and Spaniards there. Most Spaniards I've talked to say they don't like Benidorm... :-/ - I like the beaches and views.

    he's really not a bot..

    meep-meep... LOL

    Blup-blup! :-D Your welcome is really inspiring, I liked it a lot.. hopefully steemit will grow strong in the direction of people creating real value thanks to their passions.

    Yeah, forgot I've been there. Benidorm is beautiful. Lots of old Dutch people there as well. The climate is better for their health is what some told me.

    They didn't like it because there are so much foreigners?

    Not foreigners as much as "British" (although they also mentioned the sky scrapers.) Apparently the history as well... a lot of British moved in after Franco died, which could explain the age demographic there. I can see how the climate is much better. I found it kind of funny how big the "motorized wheel chair rental" business is there.

    You sound like a DIY type of guy, @joelchristopher, which means exactly what Steemit is good for :) Hope you'll like it on here! Good luck!

    Hello, joelchristopher! I wish you a very happy journey here in this awesome community :) Enjoy the friendship

    By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

    @greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
    @newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

    Welcome, Joel! You're a volcano of ideas and you will surely succeed in your project of becoming a professional trader with the great positive attitude that you show. You did a very good move in subscribing here..this is going to be huge and it's important to be here from the beginning.
    I also want to talk to you about an awesome community: the @greetersguild! The @greetersguild is a caring group of steemians whose mission is to follow newbies and help them. We at @greetersguild genuinely want to see users learn, earn and grow. Here's the discord chat link: https://discord.gg/
    Join us and let's have fun and grow together!

    Thanks man,
    I'm gonna check it out!

    Exclusive Offer

    Get 20 upvotes and 10 followers only for join the site.
    The 20 upvotes worth 1SBD so why wait get it quickly before the campaign over.
    CLICK HERE TO JOIN

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.18
    TRX 0.14
    JST 0.030
    BTC 58679.35
    ETH 3155.04
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.44