Hey, I'm @Jobsande! Digital nomad ✈️ I love travel, budgets, drums, and bananas + peanut butter 😋

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1779.JPG
Glancing suspiciously at my Unicorn Steve. Steve is always up to no good.

IMG_0325.JPG
One time I caught him red-handed munching on my muesli. Such a disobedient Unicorn.

But I digress. Let me tell you a bit about myself, and what I plan on posting about on Steemit.

ABOUT ME

I'm American but have spent most of the last 7 years in Hamburg, Germany. I know it's sounds super cheesy, but I originally came here for love - I guess I'm a romantic at heart (feel free to roll your eyes). Although that first relationship ultimately didn't last, I came to love the city of Hamburg, had made a bunch of friends (besides stuffed Unicorns), and enjoyed teaching English.

English teaching gradually transformed to social media management, and later the software sales and support space. Since I'm "location independent", I can just as easily work on the road. Whenever my friends ask me if I'm going somewhere for "work" or "vacation", I never know how to answer that since my life is basically one big vacation. Ok...I might be exaggerating a bit, but I honestly have a hard time separating the two. I'll take a bit of time off work during my travels, and then work a few days/weeks wherever I am. I'll bounce around Europe a lot, working from places like Barcelona, Split (Croatia), London, Lisbon, Zurich, Athens...etc. Then I'll visit my family and company headquarters in Chicago a couple times a year. Gotta remind them I'm a real person.

Screen Shot 2017-07-22 at 20.53.18.png
Beholding the glory of La Sagrada Familia in Barcelona

I've been a drummer since I was a little kid, but hard it find to commit to a band with all my traveling. I would love to find a portable/airplane friendly hand drum I could bring on a plane, so if you know of something I'll upvote your comment as thanks ;)

IMG_0808.JPG
Teaching my grandma the drums

Besides that, I also enjoy staying active with yoga, bouldering, and weird, lizard-like crawling / body weight exercises where people stare at me like I'm an alien from outer space (search "Ido Portal" on Youtube, guaranteed to blow you away).

Speaking of weird, I'm also a giant game nerd , meeting regularly for D&D (I play Trey Lamé, a half-elf thief). Usually my opening line picking up ladies at a bar 😎A wonder I'm still single.

JORDAN ON STEEMIT

Planning on posting a combo of advice, funny personal stories, and travel blogging. Specifically:

-Money: cryptocurrency (my newest obsession), making budgets sexy, creative income strategies
-Travel: the places I work from, travel hacks, tips, budget travel, etc.
-Random anecdotes or whatever I find interesting, inspiring, or worth chatting about..it might be about music, staying in shape while traveling, or something super random like this Buddha head I found in the trash

Screen Shot 2017-07-22 at 21.31.06.png
(from https://www.instagram.com/p/BQxvTGNFUom/?taken-by=jorsanders7)

Or hilarious street art

Screen Shot 2017-07-22 at 21.33.21.png
(from https://www.instagram.com/p/BNOpY2jgRpO/?taken-by=jorsanders7)

In closing, I'd love to get your opinion on my latest idea. Last night as I was trying to fall asleep, I had this brain flash for a book idea. The working title: "Misadventures of a Digital Nomad: Travel Hacks Gone Wrong, Budget Backfires, and Awkward Situations"

There's such an abundance of tips and success stories on these topics.... I figured some epic fails might be a more unique and entertaining take. Your thoughts?! Be honest, all constructive feedback appreciated!!! 😅

Buuuut if you must give me compliments, I suppose I can accept.
IMG_0651.JPG

Anyway, I'm super excited to meet you all here. I'd say feel free to upvote and follow me, but I'm sure you're sick of hearing that at the end of everyone's post, so I won't say it. Oh wait..oops...guess I just did :D

Screen Shot 2017-07-22 at 22.09.39.png
(Yes, I just looked through google images for 15 minutes to create this meme. Seems it's time for me to get off the computer.)

Sort:  

Haha, definitely lived up to the "Sarlacc of Steemit" line. 👌

I've just recently begun trying to transition to the digital nomad lifestyle - so I'm stoked to read about your insights.

I'm a software developer by background, and a total nerd myself. My pickup lines going something like this: "My guild had the server first clear of Mythic Emerald Nightmare... so I'm kind of a big deal." 😎

Anyway, I definitely look forward to reading more!

Wow, and I thought I was nerdy.... !! Lol jk ok we both are at an equal nerdiness level, on that note, and I mean this as a compliment, you look like a jedi ninja in your profile pic 😄

Thought I already have a bunch of blog ideas - many of which relating to digitally nomading - yes I just made that a verb - I'm leaning towards holding off at least for the next few weeks or so, since it's looking like it may make more sense for us newbs to focusing on commenting vs posting initially (see my most recent post on this https://steemit.com/help/@jobsande/best-steemit-newbie-strategy-posting-vs-commenting).

Haha thanks. 😅

And building up a follower base via commenting first definitely seems like that the way to do it - good call.

Although I can't wait to hear your thoughts on "digitally nomading" - been reading up on all kinds of stuff to try and figure out the most economical and practical ways to make it happen, so it'll be cool to see your firsthand experiences. 😊

Looking forward to following your travels. Hopefully our paths will cross one day :)

thanks man, hope so! just curious what are your travel plans for the next couple months? I'll be in Germany, Croatia, London, and probably Bosnia...

Hii @jobsande For Succses

Nice To meet You, let me introduce my name @marknst14

I come from #hongkong

Welcome to #steemit for those of you who want to succeed here, I also want the same thing.

I am also new here #eSteem Still Many Learn from The seniors.
Nice to meet you all !!

Please follow and Upvote My account @marknst14

Thank you very much everything

yo! I like the memes! I'm a noob

Welcome to the Steemit Community! I hope that I can add value to you in teaching about self discovery life hacks. I am learning a lot and so will you, follow me @zimi

Hey, nice connecting here - I just followed you back, thanks so much. Looking forward to your life hacks. Can you give me a preview and mention a quick one right now?? :-) #couldnthurttoask

Welcome @jobsande! Gotta love the Fresh Price of Bel Air! Look forward to your blog posts!

Thanks! I gotta run now, I just whistled for a cab and when it came near the license plate said "Fresh" and there were dice in the mirror...

Hello @jobsande. Welcome to Steemit. I am David. I wish you have a happy journey here.

Thanks David!

Welcome mi friend good post i am @djnoel :)

Welcome Jobsande !! Nice to see more people like you - here joining steemit ! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure!! Here you can win money while bloging ! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be allright. Wish you much luck! Cheers! Wish you much luck! Greetings, @khunpoom !

Thanks for the nice comment - totally, building a reputation / steam power here is like building up like a snowball. I get it - I've definitely got my work cut out for me!!

Welcome! Please consider checking out minnowsupportproject.com and @minnowsupport. It is a great community of individuals that will help you get started and can answer all of your questions.

Just followed, awesome thanks for the tip! Checking it out now :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65045.20
ETH 3523.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37