Putting my skin in the game

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Here's some skin that belongs to me. It's about 32 years old, 50% Y-Chromosomes, and prone to sunburns. And now it's firmly "in" the proverbial "game":

As anyone who's played poker before knows, there's a world of difference between playing cards for chips, and playing cards for money. Without any skin in the game, a poker table is quickly cannibalized by "all-in trolls" - players with nothing to lose by acting recklessly, and everything to gain by hitting it big if they can strike a nerve. They also have the unfortunately side-effect of making the game utterly unplayable.

I'm not on Facebook, I don't tweet, and I'm so out-of-the-loop on these things I couldn't even think of a third network ecosystem thing for this list (Instagram is owned by Facebook, isn't it? Does that count?). I'm not on any of those networks because they don't resemble the real world I've come to know. They're all bombastic sensationalist super engines overflowing with trolls.

Will Steemit be different? Does forcing users to put their skin in the game elevate the level of discourse? Can we all be civil with one another?

Honestly, I don't know. I know where my skin stands in all of this. But I'm still fuzzy on the game. Steem, Steem Power, Steem Dollars? Some of the value of a game surely comes from the rules being simple, and the outcomes being complex (think poker). Frankly, I find Steemit a little bamboozling, but I'm here with an open mind.

So that's me in a nutshell; just another epidermis who likes thinking out loud. But isn't that what these platforms are for? Our collective musings?

I guess I'll find out.

Bet's to you, internet.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jkms to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

The whole thing is definitely a little bit confusing -- as is the entire cryptocurrency realm right now. It's hard to understand where any of these 'rewards' come from (especially given that there are no ads). I'm still a bit skeptical about things, but will know more once a couple reward payouts happen.

I imagine that this is what it's like to have a very small slice of stock in a company... that... doesn't sell anything... but is valued against a digital cryptocoin that we've all said is worth something? Yikes.....

Glad I'm not the only one who's confused.

Interestingly, I think my poker analogy has meaning beyond my original intent. So far, my first impression here is "whoa. More bots than I expected", which is definitely my impression of the online poker scene as well.

Is it just me, or are we in the "Wild-Wild-WestWorld" over here?

There's definitely a shitload of bots on here. Not certain if I have the patience to figure out how to use them, or if I should just continue doing a bit of writing / blog posting and ignore that side of things. At the end of the day, I was excited about this platform because I've been meaning to find an excuse to write down my thoughts a bit more anyways -- but I'm not excited about paying bots for retweets.

welcome to the steem blockchain!

Thanks. Reading some of your posts now. Exciting to see some interest in mesh networking.

At the risk of treating Crypto-Currency as some kind of techno-utopian magic wand, do you think there's a place for Crypto-Currency to help incentivize the creation and maintenance of mesh networks?

It is not impossible and I am sure it will be tried whether it is needed or not lol. Everything in crypto right now it seems.

Hello! interesting write! look in my blog! I wish good luck on the project!

welcome to steemit world . Always Remember 5 points..
1)Never copy paste content from any where ..
2)It can take some time but if you work hard , God will definitely give you success..
3)Never abuse anyone or post haterade content on steemit..
4)Daily post will increase your REPUTATION SCORE (number by the side of your name)
Reputation score is mainly based on upvotes and comments .
No matter what you post ,if it gets upvotes and comments then reputation score will increase
Don't let anyone flag you or downvote you..
5)Your first post should be your introduction..
I wish you success
You can follow me @be4u

Congratulations @jkms! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72