Allow myself to introduce... myself.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello there Steemians! My name is J but you can call me jjShibbycray, for short...
That's me below getting creative with the account verification scrawling my user name in a sketchbook. You may not be able to read it as I wrote graffiti for a long time and old habits die hard. Oh, and that's my shadow/sidekick Bella. She always has to be in the mix. The other side of the page I used was previously a color test with some markers. Used it just to liven things up. Color is good!

Here's a video, 'cuz videos are fun!


Recording your own hand while writing is trickier than I thought.

So, a little about me.

I hail from a dusty oil field town in the deserts of west Texas...
Gulf_Oil_Corporation,_Waddell_Gasoline_Plant,_West_Texas_(9576013391).jpg
...where sand storms cause major accidents on highways due to extremely low visibility. (*photo above is the only one here that isn't mine)

Took the pic below long ago. To the right are are tanker cars on the railroad just to the side of the highway hidden in the storm. It gets much worse than this. Think, "The Mummy" with Brendan Fraser.
007.JPG

I left the area when I was 18 to head to Dallas where I lived for 15 years. Now I reside in the most happening spot in the state: The Capitol City, Austin. At age 9 I told my parents I was moving to Austin when I got older. It took longer than expected, but I made it and I absolutely love it here! Here's my lady(@sophistik80) posing atop some parking garage near downtown.
20150319_220150_Night_2.jpg

I've been drawing since I was 3 and have spent most of my life producing art on some level. I went to art school in Dallas to focus on two of my favorite subjects, art and computers, then graduated with a degree in Computer Animation.
SwynCropt.jpg

I've worked as a digital artist/graphic designer and illustrator.
bluured PFG BusinesCard.jpg

I've been commissioned to do paintings and murals and still enjoy painting for fun. These days I've gotten away from it as my day job but have freelanced off and on for years. I prefer creating art on my own terms these days yet as of late I've focused my time on other activities such as parenting(I have an 8 year old son), working/adulting and other hobbies, etc. My plan is to dedicate more time to creating art so look forward to seeing new works here. I'll likely be posting some of my older stuff as well since I've got a new community to share it with.

I've probably had 50 jobs in my lifetime and consider myself to be fairly well rounded and down to earth. I am blessed in my present role working with one of the largest IT companies on the planet. In the past I've worked on projects with companies such as Google.

I've broken my back(figuratively) in the oil fields of west Texas.217.JPG
I didn't break this crane but I did drive it all over the place, including to this location.

I've helped wrangle and transport bulls.
009.JPG
011.JPG

I've built things with my hands and worked on some amazing projects as a carpenter and cabinet maker doing additions, renovations and remodels.
0519081451.jpg

I've literally shoveled sh*# to make ends meet so as you can image, I truly appreciate where I'm at now. I've traveled to the other side of the world and back soaking in others ways of life and consider myself cultured. I'm looking forward to more travels in the future and hope I get the chance to share!

I've now been on Steemit for about a month and only just created my first post last week. I've spent the past few weeks slowly looking around, reading up on how it all works trying to determine how I'll be contributing. It's all a bit hazy still but I figure I'll just get started, figure it out as I go and we'll see where it takes us. I'm looking forward to becoming part of a community where the social media giants don't get to post what they want you to see ahead of what and who you choose, etc.

This site has given me a new hope for the future of social media and I'm looking forward to helping reshape the internet!

Bringing it back full circle, here is a shot of my user name from the video.

welcome 02 scrawlBIG.jpg
As for the meaning behind the screen name, it's 2018 and things are crazy. So this is just a run together phrase some friends and I use when joking around that can be applied to pretty much anything.

In the uplifting words of Nicholas Hexum, "Stay positive and love your life."
Cheers!

Sort:  

Wow man, this was a great #introduceyourself post. Well done! Love the way you chose to draw / write your username instead of just being lazy like me and printing it out :P

My upvote's not worth much yet, but I through some SBD to a couple bots to try to boost you up a little bit more.

Hope to see more awesome content from you!

Dang man, thanks! It's crazy how this whole thing works. I love it. Looking forward to gaining a better understanding of it all. My plan is to post regularly, stay involved and help grow the platform. Again, truly appreciate the extra push!

Welcome to steemit @jjshibbycray nice to meet you and I wish you all the best and more power to your future blog. =)

Much appreciated @purepinay and the same to you!

Hey J! Welcome to the party :)
Awesome intro post! Looks like you'll fit right in. Look forward to discovering what you have in store for us.

Why thank you as well! Looking forward to the party!

Pizza Partaaay is right!

Haha love it! And one to grow on:

Great! I'll be doing the pizza partay dance all day :)
Thanks for that J... Thank you.

Haha, you're welcome! As white as I am, I've yet to master this dance... I think I may actually have too much rhythm, believe it or not. Let me know if you get it down, then make a video! Lol

Will do ;)
Dtube post to show us your moves?

Hmmmmm... No promises. We'll see what happens. Lol

Hey J! You're hilarious! This was a crack-up of an intro post!

Welcome to Steem! How rad is your dog?!?! Can't wait to read more about your adventures and life!

Steem can be a bit confusing, so feel free to ask any questions you might have... totally happy to help!

Have fun!

Haha, hey there @ausieninja. Thanks and I'm glad you enjoyed. Honestly it's all a blur at this point but as you can probably tell, I like to cut up. Yeah, Bella is pretty rad indeed. She's truly got my back and can snuggle with the best of them. Thanks for offering the help and best of luck to you on your road to becoming the Next American Ninja Warrior!

Welcome on SteemIT!

Cheers Buddy!

Welcome to Steemit. I think you will like it. There are plenty of people who love talking about cryptocurrencies, but lots of other interests too. Have fun

Hey thanks!
Indeed, cryptocurrency is obviously much of the appeal but like you said, it's been said. Should be a given. Looking forward to learning more though fashow!

Hey J! What an intro! Epic!

You've been featured in The Fresh Five!
It's a daily post designed to help introduce brand new Steemians to the community.

We're all here to help you find new friends and answer any questions you might have.

Here is the link, come say hello:
https://steemit.com/fresh5/@thefreshfive/the-fresh-five-for-march-5th-new-steemians-you-should-get-to-know

Welcome to Steem!

So I checked out the blog, specifically the post for March 5th and it looks like you grabbed the pic of my girlfriend. lol Also, I'm a duder. You can get a quick glimpse of me in the video if you really wanna know what I look like :p Hope the post still seems as epic now that I'm no longer a woman working on a rig and wrastlin' cattle!
duder.gif

Oh. My. God!
Dude! I'm crazy sorry... what a putz!
I thought you were the most wranglin' hardcore chick ever... but instead you're a wrangling hardcore dude with mad art skillz! Sorry bro, you're still super epic... but unforts... we are not.

Yours sincerely Putz Central.

Hey, no worries. It happens. It was probably the hair that threw you off. Lol Plus I'm not easily offended so it's all gravy baby! As a general rule I don't do selfies, unless in jest. Also, I'm pretty cautious about what personal info I put out there hence the video rather than a pic of me holding up the sketch pad, even though I did actually do a pic like this when is was done writing my user name. I just decided not to post it. Perhaps it would have been beneficial but, what can you do? Anyway, thanks for acknowledging and no foul, no harm.

Wow, killer! Thanks for the compliments and the extra push. I'll definitely come through and check things out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60869.98
ETH 2713.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45