Hi - Business intelligence, data viz, and data science guy here

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi All,

I'm a crypto enthusiast from the New York City area. I first became aware of Steemit a few months ago while in a slack channel dedicated or focused towards bitcoin and cryptocurrencies. The idea sounded novel to me. I came here, explored the website, and found it interesting. It's still new to me but seems like average people can get paid in Steemit cryptocurrency just by posting or sharing content or even just upvoting and acting as sort of a curator?

I'm also a user of Reddit which I think is a phenomenal site. Lots of content there and many subs have great communities and users. Steemit appears to have some work to do to match the features and navigation of a site like Reddit. I'm all for Steemit trying to become better than Reddit.

Not sure what type of content I could contribute to be honest. I'm a data guy by trade in the financial industry. I'm currently moving towards business intelligence, data visualizations, and some "data science" type of work. On Reddit, I frequent some of the programming, excel, data subs. So what I might try to do here is share content and product updates, new things hitting the markets. One of the new tools we're using is Microsoft Power BI which is Microsoft's product attempt to push into the business intelligence and data visualization world. They're giving companies like Tableau a run for their money I think which is shared by other "BI" folks that I've met.

One thought for some side projects, in an attempt to get to know the cryptocurrency market data and Power BI better, is to create some models in Power BI that are focused on analyzing crypto market data and data of specific coins. So far the challenge has been in finding a good source of historical and current data that I could tap into. Not sure how to set up some sort of capture mechanism to record daily data myself. If anyone has some tips on that, let me know, maybe we can collaborate!

If there's others in the data visualization and business intelligence fields I would love to hear from you and just know you're out there.

Onwards and upwards!

jj

Sort:  

Welcome Jack, hope you'll have a good time here.

hi @jjackflash, found you via your comments on my post. Welcome to Steemit. There is so much to learn when you are new here, but you sound like you will grasp it all just fine.

Power BI user too and founder of the #bisteemit tag and community.

Looking forward to your posts

Resteemed

Quick suggestion, change on of your tags to #bisteemit, I am sure there are many over there that will welcome you to steemit (maybe remove powerbi as it does not get any hits)

#bisteemit - got it, great tip! I found my way to the discord channel and will hang around from time to time.

Congratulations @jjackflash! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to steemit. It's nice having you

Great post and very informative. @jjackflash Have learnt a lot from it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59961.00
ETH 3199.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46