I'm a Producer, and I'm completely blown away by this.

bernie

It's just so rare to come across something so innovative and potentially lucrative as this site.

I've been a producer and manager in the entertainment industry for the last 10 years, and the biggest question has always been how to turn quality content into actual dollars. Specifically, "How do you make clicks and likes and shares and tweets into real dollars?"

Seems like the answer is finally here.

It's just so incredible for actual content creators, artists of all kinds, to be rewarded with actual value for the work that they're doing. I immediately contacted my clients and encouraged them to dive into SteemIt. Between us, we've made webseries and feature films, music videos and spec commercials, novels and screenplays... the bulk of which have never had an outlet for actual exposure with an active community and even less chance of being valued for the hard work and extreme amount of time it takes to produce.

As a producer for hire, my job usually consists of an artist (usually a director or a writer) coming to me with a script they've labored over for years, something they've poured their heart and soul into, and every dollar they could scrounge up. I'm asked to help them squeeze every penny out of that amount, from hiring the crew and renting the equipment to finding the locations and making sure there is always enough food and toilet paper on set. It's grueling and rewarding and horrible and the most fun I've ever had at a job.

But then what happens? 2 months of pre-production, a month to shoot and at least 6 months of post production yields the completed work that has to compete with thousands of movies worldwide and a billion dollar studio system that couldn't pay attention to the indies, if they wanted to. The project gets made, and then goes nowhere. Usually, it just goes up on YouTube, and is never seen again.

You try, though. You submit to festivals, and create a Facebook page. You buy GoogleAds and Tweet every day. But in the end, there is so little chance for actual monetary compensation that it might as well be zero.

And then there's this.

This amazing site. This diverse and engaged community. Storytellers and activists. Cooks and painters and filmmakers and developers.

The first night I was aware of the site, I didn't sleep. I dreamt and planned and giggled and researched. I believe in what this community can be, and after a summer long slump of movies pushing to later dates, and clients getting passed over for jobs, I'm energized in a way I haven't been in a long time.

So, this is my way of introducing myself. I'm Bernie, and I'm excited to share with you the things that I've been working on and with over the last few years. So much to come.

Sort:  

Good to have you here ! I am in the same industry of beautiful madness for over 35 years . Looking forward to read more from you .

Chaotic and calming and painful and wonderful. It's such an awesome business. Thanks for the reply!

Haha, I hadn't thought about it that way, but you know what they say, the best answers to questions seem self apparent. Does feel like home.

I totally agree!
I have done so many amazing things in my life including traveling the world, starting business and founding sustainable communities yet this Steemit Platform is quite potentially the most revolutionary thing I have experienced and am so excited to be a part of it!
Great to see you here and hope that we are both able to contribute valuable content this community and also be enriched by the content of others!
I just completed my #introduceyourself post also and invite you or anyone else to check it out and get connected!
Best Regards~
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@quinneaker/introduction-and-verification-post-for-quinn-eaker-author-father-speaker-consultant-and-founder-of-the-garden-of-eden-eco#@papa-pepper/re-quinneaker-introduction-and-verification-post-for-quinn-eaker-author-father-speaker-consultant-and-founder-of-the-garden-of-eden-eco-20160824t023355488z

It's so awesome, right? Thanks for the reply and I'll definitely give your post a read!

Looking forward to your future Steemit projects! Welcome on board @jhermanbeans ;)

Don't worry Burns, it's nearly the same crapshoot on SteemIt. You labour over the content with your writers, try to post it and get noticed by "whales", then it goes to the same indie nowhere as before.

You can still be true indie with 2 total upvotes on SteemIt, and never sell out. I know a guy, he's writing some truly fascinating articles on philosophy here. Never puts pictures into his posts, ever. Guess what, just like in the mainstream, nobody notices or reads em'.

What I like is that the guy couldn't care less. He's doing what he's here to do, and whatever happens, happens.

Appreciate the candor. Love honest feedback, and always want to hear how other people are doing what they do.

Could we have link to this guy's work?

Thats a great introduction. I too am new and am excited. Great writing by the way.

Wow, thank you. I'm flattered. And yeah, isn't so motivating? Wake up every morning excited about it.

Nice thoughts! makes me as a creative person feel like this:

I couldn't agree more. Haha, what a great image.

welcome new friend producer

Much appreciated! Here's a question to discuss: Would creating a tag to unify posts that each of my clients make be something worth trying? Seems like there might be added value by building a collective audience over individual ones.

Hi! yes it would make it easier to choose a tag word. Check out the most popular tags that suit your clients as well. Art is a very popular one already! good news right.

Followed. Looking forward to see what you post and what people you bring with you.

Thanks for the response! And yes, any place where art is trending well, is a place that I want to be!

Thanks for following! Fun stuff on it's way!

looking forward to seeing your posts! Steemit is an exciting place to be and anything that recognises creative, art, fun and positivity has got be a winner!

Welcome to Steemit! If you would like to see statistics of any post on Steemit, you can use Steemd.com. I have made a bookmark for your convenience in accessing Steemd. https://steemit.com/steemd/@craigwilliamz/steemd-statistics-bookmark-for-easy-access-to-steemd

Always appreciate a good tip. Thanks for sharing. And thank you for the warm welcome.

Happy to have you here, welcome! Like you, I was blown away by the possibilities when I first heard of Steemit and couldn't wait to get started. It does look hard for some people to get noticed initially, but I'd say you're off to a good start judging by the interest in this intro post. Hope it works out well for you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44