introduction - Hi, I'm John. A visual FX artist from New Zealand.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

I've been loitering around Steemit for about a week now and it seems like a great community, so I figured it's time to do the intro...

I was born in, and live in New Zealand and have the pleasure of actually enjoying my job at one of the best movie FX studios in the world, where I have worked for over 10 years doing clothing and fur simulations. Yes, that's a real a job. I also do feathers.

I don't want to make this too much about work, but as luck would have it, they just released a feature on the character I was responsible for doing the fur and clothing simulations for. If you are interested, please say hello to Bad Ape (I also did the orangutan fur)

I like trying new things and usually have little project (obsession) on the go... About 10 years ago I started learning Spanish, just because I wondered how hard it would be. This led to making spanish speaking friends and eventually marrying a Spanish woman and having 2 bilingual kids who already speak better Spanish than me at 4 and 6 years old.

elas.jpgpabloS.jpg

These little monsters are quite amusing, so I may post some of their more amusing quotes.

We are currently in Spain for our yearly vacation and I plan to blog a little about that.
We generally hang out with family rather than visit tourist spots, so it wont be the usual 'tourist' blog but it will help explain this clip of me taking a swim at a bodega...
dump.gif

I'm generally interested in health and fitness. As I age it's all about injury prevention and longevity (gym and kitchen) so I can enjoy being a father to the fullest.

I'm also very interested in advances in medical science, specifically stem-cells as my daughter has a few medical issues one of which leave her with very limited vision. With stem cells, they are hoping to be able to regrow the eye within 15 years. Amazing!

Recent mini-obsession include...

  • optimizing sleep (Most advice is impractical - will blog my discoveries)
  • kombucha (SCOBY so ugly, yet so tasty)
  • spine health (sitting all day for 20 years is bad!)
  • cryptoCurrency (I was going so well, but it's crashing now!)
  • Steemit (Lets see how this goes)

We also have a cat, and since the internet loves cats, I'll finish with a picture of her.
See you round steemers!

noqui.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @jgh Welcome To Steemit! I am newcomer too. 2 days ago i joined in here. Let's build good relationship on this site. You have nice profile and biography.. I like it. You deserve to get two thumbs and upvoted. Let's take a part blogging on this platform. Keep Steeming and Earning big money.
Good luck guys! Wish u always success. Let's have a look on Blog's wall. I ve latest photos posting about "Vaping ". I hope you like it. Thank you.

Hi ita-soa, copying and pasting the same comment onto all introduction posts might not be the best idea here...
I think I'll decline, thanks

Let's have a look on Blog's wall? Is this spam? Looks like it.

I hear you. Just saw the same comment somewhere else. It won't last long. Hey, where in NZ are you? Been there before and what an amazing trip of a lifetime!

Everytime she posts it, it is liked by the same 8 or 9 people. Steemit need to get on that scam!
We live in Wellington, currently on the yearly vacation in Spain.

They will get on it. Tag with @steemit so they can see what's up. I was in Wellington. It was beautiful. Enjoy your vacation with the family!

Welcome! You sound like a pretty badass dude that i'd like to follow.
What say you?

haha, thanks. Checked out some of your posts and am now following. nice stuff

Great start. Bienvenido a steemit, vas a encontrar personas maravillosas aqui, mucha suerte y saludos!

muchas gracias!

Welcome dude, I look forward to reading your posts, your initial one was interesting anyway !!

Welcome to the amazing world of steemit.
Followed. Upvoted.
Follow me back guys !!! 😘

Welcome to steemit! Your job sounds really cool and your cat has amazing eyes! Hope you enjoy it here

Welcome aboard man ! , Indeed A great community mate

Nice post man, I upvoted and followed! Would appreciate it if we you could do the same! Together were stronger then alone!

great intro. welcome!

Welcome! have fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99