Hello hello from a swedish newcomer, keen on crypto, economic geography and outdoors

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hello everyone!

I just found this site by accident a few days ago, sitting googling about crypto. I had heard about steem before but did not really know what it was. After looking through the site I decided to give it a go! It looks like an interesting place:)

About me I am interested in a lot of different things but recently I've been reading quite a lot about crypto. I've even applied to (and been accepted to!) a Swedish university course about Bitcoin and blockchain technology. Previously I have been studying developing countries and economic geography and I think that crypto currencies could be very helpful in the fight against poverty. In some countries remittances sent from abroad consist the main income. If the middle man, like Western Union, would disappear it would make it a lot easier for someone from for example the Philippines to support the family back home while working in Dubai. No high fees, slow transactions, paperwork or having to visit the local Western Union office! This is something I think could change the lives of a lot of people.

Except for reading about geography I also like to travel in different countries. Recently I tried to make something out of these two interests (developing countries and traveling) and started a small project for fun, called Anthropolodgy. It's a mix between the two words "anthropology" and "lodge" and the idea is to provide a small platform for various families in developing countries, who want to have guests visiting them. So far the most popular homestay has been in Inner Mongolia in China, with a Mongol family living in the remote countryside, herding animals. If anyone wants to check the website it out, you can find it at http://anthropolodgy.com But don't expect too much now! It's just a small for fun project and I barely understand even the most basic functions of Wordpress! If someone a bit more savvy than me has suggestions on how to improve the website, I would really appreciate it!

In the future I would like to open a guesthouse somewhere out in the nature and take people on canoeing and climbing trips.

That's all for now I guess! Let me know if you have any questions!

IMG_9290.JPG

And by the way, if you want to check that course about crypto out, you can find it here: https://www.hv.se/utbildning/kurs/bitcoin-och-blockchain-teknik-tillampningar-och-visioner-deltid-distans-bbt101/

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @jetlag! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome to Steemit community. Happy to have you here.
Good Luck :)

Happy to be here too! Thank you!

Hi there... Sorry, you didn't say your name(?) ;P
I'm also new to this platform and it is difficult to find sincere people who are not here because they think it will make them quick money.

Your anthropolodgy idea makes me jealous... I think I would love to be part of something like that. But my current situation doesn't make it easy for me to travel. I'm looking forward to reading more about your adventures.

I'm also just getting into crypto now. I started trading just over three weeks ago. Exciting stuff!

My name is Isak! Swedish version of Isaac! You also didn't say yours!
Yes I did see a lot of comments saying "please upvote me" etc. But I think if you want to earn money, there are many ways that are better than asking people for a few cents at a time! But it would be nice if some day u got lucky and found a few hundred bucks on your account.
Yes, I like this Anthropolodgy thingy! It's interesting and I think helpful too for travelers as well as locals. The family in Inner Mongolia even afforded to buy a new yurt after having saved money from the visitors! And if you want to be part of Anthropolodgy, then why not, what do you want to do?

Oh yes, sorry. My name is Jody (it's in my introduction post ;P). Best of luck with your project... I'm not sure what I'd be able to contribute if getting involved. My thing is creativity (see my art) and recently, crypto-investing. My main source of income though is teaching English.
Btw, your site looks fine! =) But if you're finding WP difficult, I'd highly recommend Wix. I did my site with them and the user interface is very, very friendly.

It's too late to turn around now! Started with wordpress and got past the worst already! Haha. What website did you do?
I liked your art a lot! Especially the red one on your photo, to your left.

Thank you very much =) Those are some of the few works I have printed - My site is mandelsage.com

Somehow I think you like Escher!

Of course!! =) Such a huge talent and pioneer!

It's so beautiful to have you here on steemit. I took time to come welcome you and I know you will love it here. Welcome to our family. @greatness96

thank you man! it's a pleasure to be here! unusual place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49