oh hey, steemit.

when I tell people who I am and what I do, the spiel rarely goes on for more than a solid minute. but when I write an introduction post on any of my other social media platforms, I seem to go on for a solid twenty minutes. I don't know whether that's an incredibly useless piece of information or whether it lets you see deep into my soul, but either way, you've read this far so I guess that makes me a genius, right?

so. my name's jess. I'm a couples photographer by trade, a ENTP by personality, a brit by birth, and a new zealander by nature. I travel all the time, I want to learn everything I can, I have a hundred and one business ideas, and I was homeschooled (and no, I'm not a hippie. nor do I play the violin. and no, my diet does not consist solely of carrot sticks). speaking of stereotypes: people are giving millennials a ton of crap these days for being entitled, lazy, hipster, non-committal good for nothings, and I'm here to tell you that I completely agree. but I completely disagree!

now if that ain't hipster I don't what is.
heh.

IMG_0530.jpg

I'm a millennial. I'm twenty two, inexperienced, young, privileged, and if I were to compare myself to the generation before me, I'm pretty sure I'd have to add non-committal to the rather long list of characteristics that make me up. but, despite all that, I'm independent, resourceful, entrepreneurial, adventurous, and willing to both think waaaay outside the proverbial box and also take three hundred and one risks to make it happen. while my generation sometimes makes me wonder about the fast moving deterioration of the human brain at times, they also make me stare in wonder as they build companies, create organisations, and convince thousands of people to accept an idea, all through their ingenuity and creativity.

so I guess I'll end my intro with this: don't even think about doubting millennials for one second. you give them 24 hours, wifi, and caffeine and all of a sudden, instagram, dropbox or uber is born.

but also, we are entitled brats. so feel free to give us a hard time, coz we kinda deserve it.

comment below and introduce yourself! also, are there any other millennials on here? do you think we're a strong generation or should we just give up now and move to california to become baristas and take up yoga classes?
have at it, folks.
IMG_0512.jpg

Sort:  

Welcomee to steemit!! Enjoy

thanks so much!

Congratulations @jessmcghie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Congratulations @jessmcghie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

thanks so much! just followed :)

Welcome! Upvoted and Following, pls follow back : )

thanks so much! you're the best!

Welcome on board! Simone 22 years old from Italy, nice to meet you and good luck with your journey :)

hey simone! thanks so much! good to see there's other millennials on here hehehe. thanks for commenting!

Lol, carrot sticks. You do keep it real about millenials. Welcome to steemit @jessmcghie. I like your style.

hahaha, if nothing else, I always keep it real 😂 thanks so much! I think I'm gonna like it around here!

Hi and welcome, Jess! I'm on the outer edges of the millennial generation (born in '83), and I might be biased, but I think most of the gripes about millennials are unwarranted and just part of the normal grousing earlier generations do about the ones that follow.

I'm new to Steemit, too, so I'd love for you to check out my stuff ( @nayzer ) and see if there's anything there you like. :)

hahaha, yes! I feel ya! I imagine most generations complain about the generation after them - it's only natural I suppose! thanks so much for commenting <3

Spoken like a true millennial, maybe you should just come to California anyway. The weather is really nice and the barista will always misspell your names.

yup - pretty sure moving to california is a solid move no matter which way you look at it. besides, I just love having "john" instead of "jess" written on my coffee cup. 😂 thanks so much for commenting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94