Jeremiah Rounds - My Liberty


God, may indeed damn us for our silence
and for our compliance
with a system that is built on violence
that thrills in the kills
of brown skinned people we’ve never known
who’ve never owned
the oil fields they just happened to have been born on
that we want, so we take
then pour their blood on a fire
of injustice that we claim isn’t the American way
well I beg to differ
when we’ve got more people locked up for ingesting a plant than
most nations do for murder…
please, just let me rant
that the real criminals hide behind their badges and oaths of office
-that they’ve broken anyway-
so I say
it’s time to take their power away
and when so-called Christian eyes are blind to the poor that Christ died for...
and let me remind you, He wasn’t American,
but he said a few things to which we’d do well to pay attention
things like
“love God”
“love your neighbor”
and “bless those that curse you”
not drop bombs on kids and their moms
and deny them the rights that were given by God
to all mankind not just us
cause let’s not forget
governments don’t make rights, though the good ones protect ‘em
they were ours before the paper trail of trials and elections
so where does that leave us, in the “great” USA?
when the top two puppets of the state on parade are either full of hate with no plan
or just want to give you a false sense of safety at the expense of a little freedom
while they take from her to pay for theirs and his, poison, pain, and indoctrination…
that is not freedom
that’s not liberty
and least not me
No, when I hear “pray for your rulers” and “pray for your enemy”
I don’t see a distinction, and that’s intentional to me
because the powers that be, well, maybe they don’t need to be
cause if I do unto others as I’d have them do to me
well guess what? there’s an end to propaganda
and an end to slavery
and an end to killing people who are not a threat to me
and an end of corporations forcing me to buy their products
at the hand of legislation that has kept us in their pockets
it’s an end to stealing money that I’d gladly give to those who need it
it’s all in the constitution if they’d take the time to read it
but we’ve let them chip away until what’s left is just a shade
of a dream that used to burn bright and free
and that dream…
O’ God, that dream…
that is my liberty.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This is worth reading, thanks for this great blog. I wish you all the best and more power to you. =)

Welcome to Steemit. It's a great place for writers to get rewarded for their work.

Good luck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54114.77
ETH 2331.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13