Labrador Puppy NEO! Introduction & Preparations For Our Dog

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

titel.png

Dear Steemians,

yes you read right- we got a puppy! The wait was long and everyday it got harder, but now our Labrador Puppy Neo, 8 weeks old, is here and he is named after Keanu Reeves‘ Character in The Matrix, almost named him Guts, after the Protagonist of the Anime Berserk from 1997.

I just love him so much already and can‘t believe how I couldn‘t live without him. I was giving him a little too much attention the first day, but I couldn‘t resist! I was kind of surprised how fast he learned the words sit and here, but the thing, that mattered the most today was ** his cuteness overload**! I know you have to give a lot of thought into having a pet like a dog. Do you have time, what if you want to travel, is work going to be in your way, how much will it cost, can you plan a life with a pet for the next 15 years? And I am really happy, we sort of filtered everything important out.

neo.png

BACKGROUND KNOWLEDGE WITH DOGS

My family had pets, especially dogs before, but I was just a kid and I think more a playbuddy for our Belgian Shepherd dog Kelly, because she always only bit my shoes and I think didn‘t really listen to me?!:D It was more my sisters dog @itsnicoletv and I think she is even more a dog lover than I am:D We just love them! Our other elder dog King, a mix of something I can‘t really tell, was just really well trained, so I guess that doesn‘t count either.

mauritius.png

In Ulsan-Korea, my mother shares a farm with a few people and they have the cutest guard dog, named Gamdol! He is not intimidating at all, but totally laid back and super cute. It took me a day or two to gain his trust completely, because the owners think he was beaten by the pre-owners or something bad happened when he ate, so that he never took something out of your hand or ate something in front of you, but other then that he just followed his owner and layed down in the shadow. We drove almost everyday to the farm, when I was in Korea last October (2017). I just wanted to go and work on the farm to have a chance to see Gamdol and miss him so much!

gamdol.png

Our neighbor in Germany had a Dalmation/Greyhound mix, called Fiene! I love this dog as well:D Our neighbor sadly wasn‘t at home that much, due to her job, so we had the keys to her apartment to kidnapp Fiene whenever we wanted or when she asked us to. This dog is so special! She is obsessed with gras and jumps like a kangaroo after it:D Super fast and energetic. Walking with her was a disaster though:D Still- she listed well, when we called for her, so I always felt safe and mostly she wanted to play frisbee on the field next to the river Mosel. Sadly for us, but great for Fiene, our neighbor moved in with her boyfriend while I was in Korea. So there is always someone there for her, but of course I offered help, if she ever needed it!

fiene.gif

PREPARATIONS

When we decided to welcome Neo to the family I was thrilled, but also a little panicked and immediately started to search for advice, books, podcasts and made a shopping list. We had more than 2 months time, so maybe I overdone it:D Sometimes the advice is a little overwhelming! So I would say, for beginners: it‘s always safe to be informed, but don‘t be obsessed with every little detail- I think it depends on every owner. We will try to be strict at the beginning, because we don‘t want to have the problems we had with other owners dogs we took care of. You just always get different views and advice. So what do we want? A chilled dog, that listens, doesn‘t pull while taking a walk and is social with other dogs if needed- a companion not a soldier, but it depends of course on the character of your dog and our Neo is already a cheerful, cuddly dog with a strong character:D We will concentrate on socializing Neo and getting him house-trained for now and just want to enjoy the time with him as he is still very dependent on us.

SHOPPINGLIST

Here‘s a list of what we bought 3 weeks prior to Neo‘s arrival. I wouldn‘t recommend the nappy. Neo just bites the ends of, but we will see. It‘s just to be safe. The bowl from hunter is a little to small too, but we got a full refund from amazon and could keep it:D As for the collar, we just opted for a cheaper version from hunter, as he will grow out of it really fast. We also want to get a dog harness, but want to wait a little longer.

stuffneo.png

Click on the pic to get to the amazon page.

Bedbrush
trixiefirstaid
shampooblanket
kotbeutelspielebox
halsbandnapf
leineball

PICTURES OF NEO

I am so grateful to have a chance for a journey with Neo and am really excited to see him grow up:) Here are some photos from him starting from 2 weeks to 5 weeks old. It‘s crazy how fast he grows!

neo_timeline.png

I might be a little distracted by him the following days as yesterday was a little chaotic with him:) Hope you enjoy the pictures of him as much as I do!
Thanks so much for reading!
xxx.

Sort:  

HELLO my puppy say to yours puppy!😀😍🐶

So CUTE! :)

What breed of dog is that?

Love it!

Havanese bichon :)

Cute dogs

I love that name haha, it's original and one of my favorite cryptos ^^

Wow nice..i have a pet to..
Im new on steem plz follw my acc tq.

Welcome to Steem Community @jellenmark! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome to Steem Community :D

Aaaw 😍 Admire that you guys made such a grown-up decision to get one already. But I have no doubt that you're going to be fantastic. I think so too - I love dogs so much more. Haha! Whenever I see Neo, I'm going to be the cool auntie who spoils him way too much 😁❤️

Please doooo!!!! 💕💕💕

lovely like your story job!

Thanks it's all Neo:)

😀😍

@jellenkmark, this puppy is the cutest little fellow! These posts make me feel so nostalgic for my cutie back home! You have got yourself a new follower and your cutie-pie's fan! :)

Yaaaas, Neo is so adorable:D How old is your dog?:) Time will fly so fast right? But I am also super excited for the time when he is as big as his dad Max! Super cute!

Today we celebrated her birthday, she is 3 already. A huuugeee gigantic puppy! Literally we barely can lift her!

How nice :) 🎂😊

Oh boy what a cute little doggy:) I wish you guys all the best for the future.

Maybe you can help me out to win the contest by giving this post an upvote. Thanks:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97