Hi Steemit! I'm Javier. I make music and write things. Thanks for having me!

I'm excited to join this community and harness the powers of vulnerability and sharing! Those are my goals, not just on Steemit but I think also in life. I had a life coach tell me once that my greatest strength was my vulnerability. And that's tough because it's a perceived weakness in our society. But I think that's changing. And I can do my small part by leading by example, and choosing to share my strength. My weakness.

About me in a Steemit sized nutshell: I grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area and moved to LA when I was 17 (almost 18) to go to college and pursue my dream of becoming a rock star. I was in several bands during college and played allllll over LA. everywhere. Right after graduation I started playing guitar in my friend's band, mostly at coffee houses and small clubs. But she quickly became famous, and invited her original band along for the ride. I spent 8 years touring the world with my best friends and playing guitar and singing for a living. a very good living. and getting to do the things that I dreamed of doing when i was 16. Granted, I wasn't the star, but I was getting to do all the rock star things. It was awesome. But nothing lasts forever, and that gig ended. I struck out on my own as a solo artist, and that was 4 years ago. At first I rode the success of my previous gig into my solo career. But that too ended, and I've been struggling the last few years to stay afloat.

Which brings me, at least professionally, to Steemit. I've been trying to find new ways to break through the old models of the music industry. i'm not 16 and baby faced and beautiful and popular on instagram. i don't have famous parents. i'm not rich. but i know i don't suck. i know i can do this on a professional level. i know i'm a good performer, and a decent writer and producer. and i know i have a story to tell and a gift to share. the struggle has been to connect with enough people on a wide level. my tribe. so, on one hand, i'm definitely on Steemit to share my art with a community of people in hopes that they like it and can reward me for it, and maybe even push me to be a better artist because of it.

but i'm also on Steemit because I love its underlying principle of honesty, and the rewarding of "being real" and actually sharing. using your brain. and your heart. not just your face and some filters. and putting yourself out there to know that there are people who support you. i think that's awesome, and i want to use Steemit to find and create communities of support and strength, instead of just saying "hey please like my music" or whatever.

so this is me, skinny legs and all (thanks tom robbins): i'm 37. i'm half bolivian, half irish. i'm a twin (hey sis!). i have psoriasis (had it since i was 8. awesome. and i've never shared that publicly until just now, so let the vulnerability games begin!!) my main passion is making music, in all forms. but i also write screen plays and paint. i have a dog named mirfy who is a border terrier / pug / brussels mutt and he's cooler than your dog. i have an amazing girlfriend. i live in a tiny apartment (with said dog and GF) in LA. and i want to get to know you better.

if any of that sounds like something you can relate to, let's relate! let's connect! let's share! thank you, Steemit, for letting me into this community and giving me a chance to share myself, find myself, and hopefully make some money while doing it. just being honest. happy steeming!

IMG_0583.JPG

Sort:  

I truly enjoyed your song and your introduction. Im brand new here too and I have not yet done an introduction but I hope to get it together in a day or so. Looking forward to more ofyour music. Peace.

Hello Javier, big man with psoriazis, with irish parts. Be real it's important. And you prove this.
A warm welcome here! I'm glad to meet you:)

thanks coupleumbrella! glad to meet you too!

@javierdunn, welcome to Steemit. You have joined a great community.

My advice:

  1. Keep meeting people, especially in the comments section.
  2. Strive to write great content.

Thanks for being real and sharing about the hard times as well. I wish you success.

@sumatranate


FREE GIFT - Check out my online course about formatting your Steemit posts.

thanks for the advice, sumatranate. and thanks for replying at all. looking forward to this experience.

It's awesome that you can sing.. I wish o do.. Welcome to steemit friend

you're probably a better singer than you think you are. everyone has their own voice! thanks for the warm welcome philipuyi!

Hey Javier! Glad youre here - its awesome right? Full of possibility!

and ps. you know i just wrote a musical with Tom Robbins - "B is for Beer" :)

yeah. cary told me all about it. i was out of the country during the staging but I'm excited to see / hear it. congrats!

hey ben! yeah - it's a crazy time we're living in :) this concept has great potential. and you were the reason i found out about it and checked it out. so THANK YOU!

반갑습니다!
저도 노래하는걸 많이 좋아 하고 사랑합니다.
팔로우. 업보드하고 갑니다^^

I love your sentiment and reasons for coming here. I'm really enjoying your music on the #openmic. Here's to the journey!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67100.18
ETH 2610.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67