Hi! Steem! I am a young & hungry entrepreneur who plays Saxophone from Boston -- also the co-founder of Firstblood.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Background: After being asked by half dozen friends I made over the past week from Steem Slack channel, i've finally made the decision (I was like...Fuck it! Why not do something what I normally don't do?) to make a post about myself instead of my recipes, photograph and new project: Firstblood.io



Hi Steem! 


So...where do we start? My name is Joe or @JasonMcz.  

A recent (actually not that recent) college grad who's a strong believer of the following quote, "there are those that look at things the way they are, and ask why? I dream of things that never were, and ask why not? ". And...

Today I am gonna introduce myself and share my understanding of being an entrepreneur.


After committing myself to the 'dark side' of entrepreneurship during my last year in college, I've started on this path that has no return. I am a optimistic guy. Typically you can catch me being busy with imagining how wonderful the world will be with all the new technologies we'd have in 5 - 10 years and how I could be a part of it, but mostly, with thinking about how I could make it happen. And that's very much a TL;TR version of my understanding of being an entrepreneur.



"Photo portraying myself being in the 'dark side'"  LOL!


Don't worry..I am not that boring,
I also do a few other things on the side --


I take photos and record beautiful moments that our nature has to offer (https://flic.kr/s/aHsk9MkWmX)

My lovely cameras

I cook delicious and good-looking food. (check my blog cremefraiche.co)


I play saxophone 'occasionally' on the street.
I am also a hardcore astrophysics fan.

This is what my typical week looks like in terms of time allocation:


With a good/sophisticated prioritizing system,
(NOPE! Sleep is definitely not on top of the priority queue)
I find myself having a fulfilling  & productive week most of times.

Too much about time management, let me come back to talk more about myself. A lot of people I know, including relatives, friends and college class mates, often ask me when was the moment that I decided  to commit myself to the 'darkside' of entrepreneurship? Why did I choose this path instead of interviewing for jobs at the banks that pays well?

The story started four and half years ago when I was at a weekly meeting for the club I had started on my campus -- the Trading Club. I remembered very clearly it was the kickoff meeting of a brand new school year and also was the second semester since club was initially founded. I was nervous. Very nervous. I've been told by many people, including leaders of another club and professors, that this club wasn't going to succeed because there weren't be enough demand among students ( not everyone has the money to open a brokerage account to trade stocks), and I believed otherwise because as soon as they get out school this should be an interesting skill to have for both business students or non-business students.

I tried really hard to not act nervous before the presentation (if you care to see what slides were) not because I am actually nervous at presenting stuff -- I am an excellent presenter in front large audience -- but rather I was very nervous there won't be enough people showing up given how bad the first semester was.

Hard work from my team and I paid off. We've got ourselves a full room and there were members who came late sitting on the floor just to listen in. It was a huge success after all. I stayed around the room after the meeting ended and saw members coming to the front eagerly to talk to us and ask questions. That image definitely perpetuated in my head for years to come and no words could describe how happy and proud I was.

It was the feeling; a fulfilling,  delightful and proud feeing of bringing an idea to reality.
It was that moment that I knew entrepreneur is what I want to be and I will be.

Fast forward to now --
Thu Jul 14 2016 19:51:25 GMT-0400 (EDT)  or  1468540285662

I am sitting in front my desk taking a break from coding for my new Project's (FirstBlood: A decentralized eSports platform built for gamers like you and me) upcoming alpha release
( we are testing our first smart contract tomorrow) because I am writing this article and also because I hit a major road block on some front-end stuff (hahahahahaahahaha) but I believe I will figure that out soon.
Because there is always a way, and you will never find it if you give it up.

Lastly I want to take this chance to invite all readers of this post, steemers, gamers here to come to join the community to talk to us on our slack and give us feedback. Your feedback matters! or you just want keep me company while I am coding! :D


Sort:  

Your story sounds very similar to mine, sax player, startup guy, turned entrepreneur. Lol. Let's keep up with each others journey for sure.

Are you sleeping 4% of your time or 25.2%? The colors are similar...4% is quite little sleep

hahahaha! knew someone was gonna ask! 25.2%
I am no superman!
:D

I thought the same thing because I didn't notice the two different blues at first :)

Thanks man! Will exchange the support!

We need more guys like you on steemit.

So name is Joe but username is @JasonMcz. What's the story behind your username? Just wondering... :)

It's a secret! ; D

Hmmm....I bet there's a fun story....

You're right about that haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66066.52
ETH 3291.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70