Waking up at 3am to photograph one of the highest peaks in the Andes.

Very rarely you see the peak of a 6000-meter high mountain with such clarity. Usually a cloud layer just circles around the peaks, almost as if it was to cover it just for us. A 3:OO am wake-up, 1.5 hours drive, and here we are.

The first light shining on one of the highest peaks of South America. It almost seems as if I was standing face-to-face with it. Considering I was still 3000 meters below the peak, that really wasn´t the case. It was just the beginning of a dreading 5-day trek around the Salkantay. A good start.

andesperfectmountain3.jpg

For any of you interested in my camera settings:
This one was shot on a Nikon D800 with a Tamron 70-200mm 2.8 lens at 190mm.

Screen Shot 2018-01-18 at 11.51.43.png

If you´re keen to read how I became a professional travel and nature photographer, this is for you:
The deciding moment of chasing your dream (or how I started travelling the world as a photographer)
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@janoliverkoch/the-deciding-moment-of-chasing-your-dream-or-how-i-started-travelling-the-world-as-a-photographer

I´m new here, this is my fourth post and I will be sharing my dream chasing journey. I´ll be sharing insights from my adventures, glimpses backstage to the life on the road or better - far off the roads. I´ll be sharing my photography knowledge, pictures and stories.

Chase your dreams.

Yours,

Oliver

Instagram: www.instagram.com/janoliverkoch

Sort:  

#introduceyourself/#introducemyself

The “introduceyourself/introducemyself” tag is for creating one introductory post that tells us about you. Users are encouraged to use this tag exclusively for that, and not to reuse it.

Hello Friend,
Welcome to steem Community Friend It's great to have you here :)
i Really Liked your interview .
i wish you a great time here on this new platform.
Goodluck My Friend.

Thank you for your warm welcome and compliment! I`ll be posting regularily as the adventures allow access. Hope you´ll like it!

You are so lucky to be able to experience this view. Ohhh I can only imagine. Is that snow?

Thank you so much for your comment! It`s snow, and probably more accurately - Ice. The peaks never melt, as they are below zero all year round!

Wonderfull picture!!!

Thank you sir!

Yet another mesmerizing shot. :) I love looking at your photos! Thank you for sharing them!

Thank you! I really appreciate your feedback :)

I came across your post from @adventureeveryday. Welcome to Steemit, I am following to hear some of your stories and see some great images from around the world. Do you mainly photograph landscapes or people and cultural stuff too?

Hi and thanks for following me! @adventureeveryday has been part of many of my shoots outside. I mainly focus on photographing nature: landscapes, environmental issues. Rarely I photograph people, but while travelling they are a great part of the stories to tell.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56775.06
ETH 2345.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36