Purpose Driven Steem

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Steemit is a beautiful place, but it's far from perfect.

I have been on steemit for almost a month now. A very good friend of mine @chrisdavid introduced me to this very exciting platform. He said that Steemit is a good platform for bloggers and it would be very nice to explore since it is still not so popular in the Philippines.

The concept of earning was very enticing to me. Sure enough I signed up and my application was approved October of last year. However, the concept of cryptocurrency was so foreign to me that I kept procrastinating. Finally, last month, I decided to post my first article with #introduceyourself.

Later on, with the patience and guidance of my very good friend, I started to at least have a sense of how the entire Steemit community work. I have also found this very supportive local steemers @steemph.cebu. They help make steemit feel like home.

Soon enough, while exploring further, I start to notice the exasperating things. I always find time to check out on other people's blogs, especially those that are trending. I wanted to learn from those who are doing really well, taking notes as much as I could.

Then I came around some of these post that have huge upvotes and when I clicked them, I found nothing really useful on their contents. That’s when I learned that steemit is prone to abuse. Some people are abusing the bots just so they could earn more. I read other people’s blogs under #abuse and cringe.

At first this made me really frustrated. Here I am joining Steemit thinking that I found a new avenue to improve my writing skills as much as I could. Then I find these people who just downloaded their photos in the internet, put a two sentenced caption and then they are earning more! How is that fair?

Then here goes these commenters who says “nice post” even when they’re clearly not reading anything!
But instead of getting discouraged, this made me rethink my purpose. Why am I here on Steemit anyway? I started looking deep into myself and realized that there is more to Steemit than money.

Finding Meaning

Just like any other social media, Steemit is a tool. A tool that can be used to build or to destroy. The outcome all depends on how pure the intentions are. If before I was enticed to earn, right now I feel like I should have a higher sense of purpose.

When I was new to facebook, I remember how excited I get every time people like my status. It felt rewarding, and I was unaware of the trap that it was building for me. Sooner I kept posting things which I think people would like. I don’t care about the content, all I knew is it felt good to see a huge number of likes.

I know a lot of people were doing the same. They post it for the likes. They flood the page with gore, cheating stories, all for the glory of fame. I saw young girls posting their naked pictures. It seemed okay when it started, none of us has prepared for the real impact of our actions though.

Impact

Studies show that our exposure to certain kinds of messages greatly affects our behavior. If we keep seeing the negative things on the news, we start to see the world as a very chaotic place. We lose sight of the good stuff, we become cautious and skeptical.

But when we see even small good deeds, we start restoring back our faith to humanity. A small act of kindness, a small genuine smile you give to a random stranger, could resonate to a thousand positive stuff.
It becomes a chain reaction.

And that is what I want to create. If there is one thing that I realized, that is the fact that I have the power to start that positive chain reaction in simple ways that I can.

Starting the Chain

“The purpose of life is to contribute in some way to making things better.”
― Robert F. Kennedy

Now, I come up with a personal vow to use Steemit to spread positivity as much as I can. From now on, I am not just blogging because I want to earn, I am not just blogging to be popular. I am blogging on Steemit because I believe in the potential of using this platform in making this world at least a little more loving and happy.

Steemit is far from perfect, but we can all help in making it better.

And in the vast ocean where everyone gets caught in the wars of the whales, I will try to provide the healing. Words are powerful. They can either make or break a person.

I am Janice, and this is my humble contribution to steemit.

Sort:  

Welcome @Janicemars

It's a very well written blog. I agree with a lot of what you said. I have so far avoided buying any votes as I want to develop an organic following.

I am also flagging low quality posts and we should all do that to make steemit a better place for us genuine steemians.

Keeping spreading the positive energy
@kabir88

Exactly my thoughts @janicemars. I hate to say it but most often, I stumble on those kind of posts and stop reading it at the middle as it leads to nowhere. Some are trying to share a very interesting and useful write ups but gets fewer attention. I still have faith in this platform though. Let’s all write with our heart. 💚

Yessss!!! Let's do that even if others wouldn't. 💜💜💜

That was a very well written blog madam. I liked it a lot I hope read more from you! Happy steeming!

Thank you so much ma'am @ankarlie.

@janicemars - welcome to steemit. Nice post!

Thank you very much @joeysison.

welcome to this community ...hopefully you can reach what you want on this community ...

Welcome to Steemit janicemars. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! Welcome to the blockchain

This is very helpful! I haven't even heard of these. Thank you so much for sharing!

YES. THANK YOU. Steemit needs more people like you. If posting a two-sentence caption with a picture ripped from Pixabay is their soul-quenching passion, then cool, go for it (cringe at my first post). After lurking on the trending page for the past week, though, I get the impression not everyone's that genuine.

Keep posting, you've got a follow from me.

You don't know how much your comment made my day. Thank you for the support. <3

No worries. Nice name by the way, same as mine :)

Welcome to Steemit kabayan! Proud cebuano here. 😊

Salamat kabayan! Myembro na kas steemcebu?

Wala pa kabayan.

Awesome post (and yes, I did read it LOL)! I have only been here for a few days and noticed what you are referring to. I'm not on here to make money. I'm here to share stories that are both fiction and non-fiction. If I earn a little cash, then great. If not, that's fine as well. Keep your positivity flowing!

Oh my God, @elicarrol1970! Thank you so much for commenting! This is the kind of mindset I wanna get connected to. I will follow you and would love to read your stories.

Wow, your story is very inspiring and people need to find the true essence why they use Steemit in the first place. In my case is driving traffic to my crypto blog and create a little stream of income.

I am sure you are helping others understand cryptocurrency. That is very nice of you. I wish you success

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76