Entrepreneur and living in China - The child and the pet do not enter here please...

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

No.jpg

I run into these type of signs all the time and if they were in English only, it would be crazy to decipher the real meaning of this. It is a bit like my life and how I chosen to live it. You can take a look at a situation and there are two ways understand it. Sometimes neither very clear but choices none the less.

I have been living in China for 12 years and mostly in Shenzhen. I got here and thought I would be here from at most 2 years and then I just stayed. Shenzhen is a very different city from all the other cities in China. Years ago is was scoffed as cultural desert , filled with immigrants ( 外地人) , tall and shiny but no depth architecture. I loved it.

The beauty of SZ ( Shenzhen) was that it was all new. It did not have the weight of tradition. New ideas are possible and combination of old traditions from all over China came to live here.

SZ.jpg

So did I on July 24th ,2004.

I studied Chinese in college for 2 years before arriving here in China. My classes gave me panic attacks as the workload was intense. Dr Dale Barnes was a mad man. His goal was to give as much information as possible per 2 hour class. Then we worked on it at night to present in the beginning of tomorrow’s class. Wash, rinse, repeat. I arrived to China being able to speak, read and write, So I guess it worked. I am feeling much better now as well.

Came here to teach, but quickly found I am not a baby sitter and worked in corporate life for a little over two years. It was soul crushing. Upside, I learned ton about production. I worked at a factory as a head purchaser of raw materials. I had to know how everything ran for lithium battery production, the components, and in Chinese as well. Economic Tsunami hit and I was laid off, hooray! I was let go not too long after a eclipse of the sun but only partially in Shenzhen. I remember sitting outside watching it on the reflection of my phone screen wondering how to leave that job.

Solar_eclipse_of_2009_July_22_near_Hangzhou.jpg

Credit: By Specialcreateru at Russian Wikipedia, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=17778112

I opened a business in China with a partner in production management for fashion companies.

Looking.jpg

The first 5 years were terrible and learned the most about business and myself. Try, try again was the motto or I am incredibly dull and too stupid to know when to stop. Either way, I have a great understanding of running an office and manufacturing in China because of it.

I look forward to sharing info I know about my business here and my thoughts with like-minded people. I hope to be of some help here.

I am not a huge blog or tech dude. I am trying to figure out markdown and how to put interesting things here.

Look forward to hearing from the community

Sort:  

What do you call a deer with no eye? -NO IDEAR!

Excellent introduceyourself, dog! We've got almost the same story! Lookin' forward to more of the good shit from ya.

Wow, man! Ya got 3 bucks already on your first post. Awright!

Without knowing the force of words, it is impossible to know men.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63026.81
ETH 3462.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51