Crypto semi-old timer branching out

Where I got my start

I consider myself to be a part of the second generation crypto wave.  This is April 2011.  My involvement predates Litecoin, and when I started Mt. Gox was friggin' great.  I was not part of the initial wave where you found out about Bitcoin because you were into cryptography.  I became interested in cryptography because I wanted to learn more about Bitcoin.  And so began my story when I saw a video where some really sleazy sounding guy was talking about this "Bitcoin" thing (very poorly) and I was determined to use my free time to prove to myself what a scam it was.  Two days later I was sending some disposable money to Mt. Gox and started the most interesting and rewarding journey of my life.

Where I am now

Currently I have a stable job as a blockchain strategist at a larger firm.  This is definitely a case of "dreams can come true."  I get to spend my time tinkering with new blockchain concepts and that is what brings me here.

What brings me here

I am really just playing with the tech and attempting to accelerate my learning with STEEM.  I am very interested in working with SMTs and I think it would be great to find some resources in the STEEM community that could move this along.  I recently joined the new-ish Austin Steemit Meetup and would love to invite an expert on SMTs to speak to the group at an upcoming meeting.

My first impression of Steemit

There is a lot of hustle going on here.  I was expecting more of an organic center of idea generation and curation but maybe that isn't what Steemit was supposed to be about.  Maybe I have not learned to use the tool yet.  I see that most content (and this is Google searching and not what is on Steemit) about Steemit is on attempts to game the system and earn, earn, earn.  dTube seems like a better place for that.  I will learn more.

Please leave comments and help me navigate this community better. 

Sort:  

First off, you're a crypto OG, nothing new age about your involvement. I got into it in 2013, built a mining system and then a second one. And i'm considered damn near an original by todays standards. You're next best thing to satoshi with that timeline! lol! I am new to steemit as well and have found the same experience as you, mostly people farming for money. But there is some really good content here, I'm enjoying myself so far and hopefully you find what you're looking for!

Oh, for sure, I have been around for a while. 2013 means that you were in on the first run up and Gox was not paying out withdraw requests by the end of the year. I definitely don't consider my involvement close to Satoshi. People had already started GPU mining before I had even heard of Bitcoin.

I don't produce content so I may just be looking for my niche here. Is there a good way to find and connect to people based on interests? I assume that is through tagging. I tried looking up SMTs through the tags and did not get anywhere.

yup, Mt. Gox almost got me... I got lucky, I did lose a tonne of coins to Cryptsy though. The issue I find with this site is the tagging system, it never really shows related fields, it has to be an exact match and people are tagging in a way to fish for votes. Not sure of the best way to connect because its a mix of two worlds. I think you would almost have to produce content and let the people come to you. It is a new world too, less than 600,000 users is pretty small user base considering most are probably bots.

Congratulations @jaketherake, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Hi welcome. I also joined the new Austin steemit Meetup group. Hope to meet up in person soon. I've taken some time off here but picking back up again.

There are a lot of cool projects going on here. I hope you start or become part of one.

Oh yeah also the older steemit Meetup rebooted if yo want to come check it out.

https://www.meetup.com/Austin-Steemit-Meetup/events/246996182/

Thanks for the link to the old STEEM group. I will see if I can make that Feb meeting.

Congratulations @jaketherake! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jaketherake! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!


@jaketherake, sorry to see you have less Steem Power.
Your level lowered and you are now a Red Fish!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64269.87
ETH 3393.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48