My name is Jacob and I am with The Reckoning

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

Thank you for being here today. 

Friends call me Jacob and Jake.  They've called me many names including Yakoob, Jacobo, Swani, Bro, Bud, & JTS. I live and work in the Black Hills, a place the First Nations call Sacred.  I was born in the Ozarks of Southern Missouri and was raised in the North County of St. Louis.  My hometown is Florissant, or "The Valley of Flowers". I love my family. I attended University of Missouri and Webster University before moving to sweet sweet Chicago Illinois.  I loved living in Chicago for almost 15 years before following my Improv Family to Los Angeles.  I am an improviser and belong to The Reckoning.  I am thankful to have played with the iO, Comedy Sportz, The Improv Shop, Improvised Shakespeare Company, The Playground, The Annoyance, Second City Theatricals, I care for the San Cliche and have trained with The Actors Gang. I am blessed to have traveled half the world because of improv, from Alaska to the Caribbean, from Lisbon to Malta, Rome and Nice.  I appreciate everyone from all those places and every ensemble played with.  I am eternally grateful for all my old friends: Dave, Aaron, Eric, Steve, Matt, and Mary just to name a few.  Yes and, my heart belongs to The Reckoning.  


Currently I am experiencing new and interesting things in the Black Hills of South Dakota.  I get to travel, work hard, and see my godson.  My family lives all over the United States.  Our blood comes from all over Europe.  I have been asked if I am Jewish, but by their tradition one's mother's mothers must be so.  My mother's mothers come from the Bella Potenza Italia.  Her family married Jewish immigrants from the Ukraine.  My father's father's family come from Saxony, the Von Maltitz.  They married brothers Schneider who fought in the Civil War, free Celts of Flynn, and Scots of Blake near Edinburgh.  We have been miners, farmers, tailors, soldiers, sailors, merchants, grocers, outcasts, and Aristocracy. But grandfather always called us bums.  Hubris is strong in this one, and may humility calm the storm.


I am an improviser.  I write, teach, labor, trade, photograph, play music, & share, but always improvising.  I know not what this is or what it will bring.  I know not who you are or what you think or feel.  I can only listen here and share the moment with you, and to me that is improvising.  I was raised Catholic and surrounded by Jewish traditions.  I have practiced some zen, yoga, and tao.  But I always return to improv and the house of Reckoning.  


My childhood was wild with many pages I have since burned, but  I love my large family and work to be a better son, brother, cousin, nephew, uncle, and friend.  I was a caddy for 10 years and still enjoy golf.  My earliest memories are waking before dawn on Sundays and playing with my father. In St Louis one is raised in the tradition of Cardinal Baseball and the sounds of "Here Comes The King" would echo even playing catch with my brothers.  We watched Sesame Street, Saturday Night Live, and The Tonight Show with Johnny  Carson.  I have always felt a connection with Motion Pictures and some Saturdays we'd watch classics downtown at The Fabulous Fox.  In High School I am thankful to have played Football beside my bigger younger brother.  In college I played Rugby, joined Phi Kappa Theta, and embraced Shakespeare. I've played Corkball or Fuzzball whenever others are willing. I have worked on golf courses, in coffee shops, bars, clubs, theaters, tech, finance, restaurants, groceries, schools, and ships.  I have been homeless in Chicago and Los Angeles because there have been times I wanted not to be a bother, when I felt I was less than a blessing to those I love.   I confess I am addicted to Famous Amos cookies and yerba mate coffee.  Simply put, I am powerless at the foot of cookie mountain. 


I work to forgive and be forgiven, it takes work.  I believe that to be human is to be humane, and to be humane is to  practice compassion.  It takes effort, it takes time.  It takes energy, faith, and a sense of humor. I am not perfect and I have fallen far from Graces, burning bridges into waters that I hope wash away regret.  I am nothing, I am no one, no thing, and no body need care, yet I am here.  Time heals all wounds and joy conquers all.  My dreams make their way to pages.  Should those pages be prayers then someday we shall meet and make moving motion pictures. We'll have a catch, a couple cookies, maybe get in 18 holes before going to the Reckoning Show. 


Thank you for reading whatever this is. I know very little about Bitcoins and Blockchains, but I appreciate what Steemit or any community attempts to give to those who wish to share.  May you take good care of yourself and your loved ones. May you Always be Blessed,  


Jacob TS

Brian Jack, Michael Patrick O'brien, Coach Shad Kunkle, Holly Laurent, Eric Hunnicut, Coach TJ Jagadowski, Charlie McCrackin, Brad Morris, Jet Eveleth, Eddie Pina, Beau Golwitzer, & Jacob.

A.R.T.S.

Sort:  

What you do not want others to do to you, do not do to others.

If you were to die three hours from now, what would you regret most?

wow bro awesome article

Ciao! Ciao!

Greetings!

Steem ahead!

Great for you to join us!

Thanks for the post!!

Welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62339.62
ETH 2444.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62