Intro to the life of Jaclyn Snow

Hello SteemIt, I'm Jaclyn Snow!
Screen Shot 2017-07-31 at 11.47.31 AM.png
Originally from Los Angeles, California, I moved to San Francisco when I was 18 to study humanities for my B.A. While my formal education was enlightening, I learned a more important lesson in how to survive and thrive in the roller-coaster whirly-gig culturef*ck clusterjam of San Francisco during the tech/start-up boom. I lived in SF and worked as an early childhood educator for three years after I graduated college. I loved the children and families I worked with, and my flatmates who had become a second family to me; but I was burning out trying to balance a livable wage with quality of life in an underpaid profession in one of the most expensive mega-cities in the U.S.A.
I decided to make a drastic change at the end of the 2015 school year. I found a super cheap flight to Europe and put together a basic itinerary to visit Sweden, Denmark, Germany and Czech Republic. I told my boss that I would not return to teach the following school year, and she graciously said I would always be welcome to return to my position. One of my best friends leased my room in my beloved SF flat. I packed a backpack, said my goodbyes to family and friends, and set out alone. I left with the idea that I would solo backpack through Europe for three months (although I hoped to make it 5-6 months).
Screen Shot 2017-07-31 at 11.44.42 AM.png
14 months later I came home, still with some small savings in tact, immeasurably enriched by my experience abroad. I visited a total of 27 countries and maintained a minimal budget mostly by exploring various facets of the sharing economy. I found free rides, worked or volunteered in exchange for meals and accommodation, couch-surfed, and made friends who were generous to host me. I learned how to maintain a healthy diet on a minimum budget, how to trust my intuition, become self-reliant, convert currencies I had never heard of, and communicate in languages I don't speak. I learned to carry the weight of all my belongings on my back, literally and metaphorically, as I worked on letting go of the things that weighed me down. I left home alone and anxious, but within an hour of my first flight I was offered free lodging in Oslo, Norway, and along the way I had the pleasure to meet many wonderful people who let me into their lives for some time and largely restored my faith in the human species. I learned so much about myself and the world as a whole in my 14 months away.
Screen Shot 2017-07-31 at 11.51.18 AM.png
Screen Shot 2017-07-31 at 11.50.17 AM.png
At the end of 2016, I came back to live in Los Angeles for the first time since I was 18. I was only one class away from receiving a Master Teacher/Site Supervisor permit in California, and the requirements are changing soon, so I enrolled in that and a Spanish class for the Spring semester. I applied for a substitute position at a preschool, and that same day a teacher gave 2 weeks notice, so I had the privilege of teaching a fantastic class of children at a wonderful school with a great co-teacher.
Coming back home provided a meaningful experience to connect with my family and friends, engage in professional development, and save up money for the next round of travel. I don't know how long I'll go for this time and there's still some question of where, but I intend to leave within the next few months, and I'll keep you updated on where I'm going!
Screen Shot 2017-07-31 at 11.50.39 AM.png

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit Jaclyn :) It's been a pleasure to bump into you on your path then watch and learn as your travel and share many valuable lessons from your experiences!

Congratulations @jaclynsnow! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello Jaclyn, welcome to Steemit family and our ever-growing platform. You have made a great decision by joining us and helping us to create decentralized entity that will change the way social media and other business models work in the future. I would like to help you out in your early days by using my steem power to upvote your first few posts. Simply follow my account and tag me by @czechglobalhosts in your posts and I will make sure to read your post and upvote you! Good luck and steem on! Tomas

Thank you Tomas, I'm following you, and I'll tag you in the next few posts!

That sounds great! I will check your next few posts and give them a little boost:)....

Hi @czechglobalhosts! I've tagged you in my last couple of travel related posts but am not sure whether I tagged you correctly or if you saw them? I'm new to steemit and still trying to figure it out, but I would much appreciate the little boost you offered if you're still able & willing :)

Great to see you @jackynsnow on steemit :)

Welcome To Steemit! @jaclynsnow, I hope you find the platform useful for your ideas and posts. Heres is a link to a video of Andrew Levine that helped me understand steemit a lot better, good luck! Video

Thank you Leviatan!

welcome to the community, @Jaclynsnow:) Wish you much luck! Cheers! Follow me !

Nice work, i hope you grow fast on steemit :)

You are more than welcome

Hi @jaclynsnow
welcome to Steemit. I do hope that you have a wonderful time on this platform, if you have any questions or if there is anything I can help you with do not hesitate to ask, I will be more than happy to help.
If you would like to stay in touch please Follow me @pastorlea

you are most welcome. I am sure you already enjoy steemit!

I'm really brand new and have no idea what I'm doing here yet but hopefully I'll start enjoying it soon!

check some tips here: www.SteemTools.com

Good post my friend i am @djnoel :)

Thanks, I'll follow you!

Welcome Jaclyn!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65800.35
ETH 3464.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68