After 4 Countries, 9 cities and 12 shows on our Asia tour, i kept the music away

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Greetings Steemians!

Just got my account approved so thought i'd do some introduction and connect with the community.

My name is Ivan and i'm an audio engineer. Usually that's about the time i get blank stares or a slow nod acting like they understood what that meant. The short description i usually give is that i work in a studio and most will conjure up an image of some fancy sound proof room with expensive speakers but at least that's a start.

Ivan Cheong.jpg
That's my office

Basically i record all sorts of audio, from vocals to footsteps, design sounds, mix and master. I work in a post production studio which means i do mostly audio for visuals (think animation). On the side, that's when i work on musical stuff. In fact, the whole reason i got into this industry was because of music.

Where it began

I used to play in a band called Silent Scenery. It went to a point where we managed to do an Asia tour in which we traveled across 9 cities in 4 countries in Asia within a month, from Manila, Philippines to Tokyo, Japan. I've always been passionate about music ever since i first picked up the guitar so this has been a dream all along. Our schedules were packed but I managed to slot in days where we would be free to just explore and see each cities since i love to travel too.

P9180191.JPG
Forbidden City, China

However during the tour, i'm not really sure what happened. Maybe we spent too much time together or the journey wore us out but by the end of it, we were burnt out. It had taken a toll on us but it's not like we didn't had fun on tour. We did for the most part but we also had arguments and disagreements coupled with a tense political situation between China and Japan but that's whole other story. All in all it was intensely memorable and to date, one of the greatest highlights of my life.

IMG_4849.jpg
One of the show in Japan

Ever since coming back from the tour, i've moved on from music. I think my musical journey sort of died down. I kept looking for a spark but there has been nothing that moved me like how it did before. It's alright though, i think the journey has taught me that sometimes, it's time to move on. I had no regrets and i was happy and satisfied with where music has brought me.

Now, it's time for a new season...

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit Ivan!

Thanks @daveks. Still getting used to it.

Welcome to Steemit. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do! :-)

Thanks @bart2305. Still trying out to see how it works here.

Welcome to Steemit @ivanccc!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Welcome to steemit!!

Thanks for the warm welcome!

Congratulations @ivanccc! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17