You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hello world! I’m Michele, GRINGA living in Latin America, designer, and explorer.

How are you enjoying living in Mexico? Im a gringo living in Puerto Rico at the moment. Mi español es malo, pero estoy aprendiendo. Curious about Mexico because I hear the cost of living in Dollars is very affordable because the weak peso. Going to Cancun later this month want to explore around. Any recommendations? So far only got Xcaret park, the ruins, Tulum scheduled. Look forward to your future posts.

Sort:  

Nice to meet you! I've never been to Puerto Rico. How long have you been there? Spanish will come easy if you just practice a little everyday. I was fortunate enough to learn some from family...I'm half Colombian. Mexico is definitely very affordable if you are earning dollars. I was when I first moved, but have transitioned to working freelance, so I miss the dollar lol. But also the cost of living is very low in most parts...Mexico City being the exception depending on what neighborhood you want to live in. There is a very high influx of foreigners/immigrants living in the central zone, causing rent prices to go up quite a bit each year. It's actually cheaper to live in Playa del Carmen or Tulum...but not so much to do work-wise, unless you sell crap to tourists haha. You will love it. I was say try to see plenty of cenotes (sinkholes), they are pretty impressive. Lago Bacalar is also a beauty to see due to all the colors in the water. I definitely prefer Tulum to Cancun or Playa, but the party is good in Playa if that is your thing. Cheers, hope I was helpful!!

Nice to meet you as well. I have been in Puerto Rico for about a year and half now. My parents are both Portuguese so I fully understand Portuguese which is similar to Spanish so I definitely understand it more then I speak it. Yea I have a friend that lives in Playa del Carmen tells me I can live on the beach for a lot cheaper than what Im currently paying in rent in Puerto Rico. I am a daytrader so work is flexible can work anywhere that has internet which is nice. How is the internet in Mexico what kind of speeds are you getting in Mexico City? Thanks for the recommendations. I'll definitely be checking out Tulum and parties def not my thing, never drank alcohol in my life actually. I'll be sure to wrote a post about my trip after I get back. Going Aug 30th. If you ever go to Puerto Rico I'd def recommend the El Yunque the rainforest, Old San Juan, bioluminescent bay, Culebra, Rincon/isabella/cabo rojo on the west coast of PR. https://www.instagram.com/ivanba12/ if your ever interested in seeing pictures of PR. Looking forward to Mexico thanks again for the reply and recommendations. Take care for now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50