My story and why modeling

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170626_104909_898.jpg
As a kid in school, I was especially taunted for my skin and looks and that I'm no good or meant for certain things which affected my studies, mental and physical health. This bullying prolonged from grades 3-9 until I changed schools for high school. I started attending an arts school that challenged me to push further than my specialization in vocals which led into dance, musical theatre, and acting. The unknown feared me the most, but I was able to overcome my self-esteem barriers by investing time into things I never thought I could fit in, because I was told so, and it was my fault for believing so. My whole direction changed as I entered the pageantry world to not only eliminate stereotypes/discrimination in the fashion industry but also advocate for mental health in teens who sometimes bully themselves more than others. I led the reigning title of Miss Teen Face of the Globe Canada 2016 and competed in the internationals in London and Paris and was more than proud to represent Canada being another ethnicity. Through my reign, I continued my advocacy and was honored to be a voice and public figure for teens of all races.
IMG_20160412_032622.jpg
IMG_20170827_204417_568.jpg
Modeling was heavily rooted in pageantry from the start and having experienced both simultaneously they were still completely two worlds a part. In pageantry, you didn't have to be particularly beautiful it was more about the heart and giving, even among the competition. For modeling, unfortunately, you have to look a certain way without having a cause, which is why most models suffer from mental health problems. Any job contributes to helping another cause to function, with modeling, the model has no cause but for themselves. yes, a burning threshold as that may sound a model who has a purpose other than competing with themselves is better advised. Myself modeling and seeing many of my model friends losing their-selves purpose gives me the reason to advocate for them, diversity, race and other models who can't identify their worth/reason in this brutal but inspirationally evolving industry. It's so inspirational to see how the beauty industry is evolving and I want to be apart of the movement in finding beauty in all people and giving back to the community in one-way, shape or form is my goal. I would be more than grateful for the opportunity to be an ambassador in the fashion industry and be more than just a pretty face by motivating modeling peers.

Sort:  

Hi, Ishini, In case this has been your first Introdusemyself Post i'm here to welcome you to Steemit. I hope you have a lot of fun here and you may follow me. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Thank you can't wait to read your content :)

Welcome to Steem @ishini I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you so much! :)

Congratulations @ishini! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello @ishini welcome to Steemit . Maybe your post may not immediately get a lot of upvoted but I believe your continued hard work and effort will makes you success. Follow me @stanley888 Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56677.48
ETH 2329.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36