Hello Steemit! - My Dad Introduced Me for a Peculiar Reason!

Greetings Steemians!

My name is Jared Neil Arcenal. I am 24 years old and currently in my 3rd year of medical school. I am also a nurse and an amateur violinist. I used to regularly write poems and short stories but stopped when I entered medical school. I haven't written an article since.

new to steemit

2 days ago, my dad decided to introduce me to the world of Steemit in an attempt to get my attention off playing too much computer games--> Dota 2. I was just 4 days into my Christmas break. Luckily, or rather unluckily, my phone had just taken a swim in a bucket full of water so I had no immediate access to my phone number. This had a two-fold effect:

  1. I could play more computer games.
  2. I had time to read more about Steemit before creating an account.

After a few hours of reading Steemit FAQs and posts, I am convinced that this community is one of the best out here on the web for the following reasons: It has rekindled my passion for writing, especially poetry and short stories. Steemit is engaged in healthy discussions and an avenue for learning and teaching. From a medical point of view, I want to share what I am learning as well as learn from the discussions it may create. Lastly, I am inspired to take on photography and have Steemians judge the improvement of my new found passion.

Verdict

As of the moment, I have certainly reduced the number of hours spent on computer games (Thanks, Dad!). In its place, I am channeling time and effort into creative writing and brainstorming for the improvement of Steemit and the community.

Thank you so much for taking time to read my first post. I am still relearning how to write articles again so if you have any suggestions please leave a reply below. I will be posting new content from time to time so if you like, follow me @IsaganiSpeaks.

P.S.

Isagani is the pen name I adopted a couple years back. Interestingly, it was also the name my father wanted to give me but my mom didn't approve. Isagani is a character from the novel El Filibusterismo written by Jose Rizal, the national hero of Philippines, written during the Spanish colonial era. It was his form of protest against the abuses of the colonizers. You may click the links to learn more.

More Power!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

#life
TB Joshua : Your hands may be full of money and your brain full of information but if your heart is empty, your life is very empty.

That is indeed true. I will seek to prove what a heart can offer soon. Thank you for your insight.

we are creating a team, who works together for steemit. If you want to work with us, contact my facebook id +8801740816786.
Have a nice day.

welcome to steem :) I am also a new user here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75