I want to do an introduceyourself post after more than a year on steemit... I waited a long time for this moment.

I waited more than a year to finally come out and do an introduction post. Now that the time has arrived.. I'm confused.

whatwouldyoudo.jpg

This is going to be a very short post by me.

I usually have no problem talking about other things going on steemit, life, the news, crypto, anything.

I do have a problem talking about me though..

Because, in my viewpoint, I really don't matter. The bigger picture matters.

When I first joined steemit more than a year ago, I saw introduceyourself posts that made over $2,000 USD non-stop when STEEM was worth $4 each.

I had the temptation to "just do it like everyone else".. and I made a decision NOT to... and I've never regretted that..

I never wanted to milk the reward pool for content about "me"....

It just seems so self absorbed, so selfish, so monetary...

I figured that I'd wait a long time before I shared anything about the real me. I'd wait until I had a following.. until people liked me for things I wrote, the research effort I put forth, the way I conducted myself.

I recently had a milestone. 1000 followers. More than a year has passed.

It's time.

...but I'm confused. How the heck does someone write about "me"... Does anyone even care about "me". What is the tag #introduceyourself all about? I think I know how much I enjoy it.. but I only don't know how much other people like it.

I will tell you why I like #introduceyourself tag on steem.. it's real people coming onto the platform from different countries, with different life experiences sharing themselves with us openly and honestly. I like that.

Here comes my question and confusion

I waited a year to finally do an #introduceyourself post. First time ever. Should I or should I not, forfeit the rewards?

Does it seem less genuine if I allow the rewards for waiting 365+ days to save this piece about myself and get paid for it?

If I allow this #introduceyourself post my most personable one earn steempower and SBD ?

WAIT! Does anyone even want to know who @intelliguy is?

I'm confused. Publicly confused.

What would you do? I need your opinion.

If you waited an entire calendar year to make an #introduceyourself post... waiting for that special moment after gaining a lot of followers.... do you accept rewards for your one and only introduction post.. or do you negate the rewards completely?

This post you are reading right now -- I am going to decline payout on.. and that's why it is crossed off...

I am about to write a huge writeup on some very interesting things about myself, and I'm unsure of whether or not it is "OK" to accept rewards for it. It seems wrong... but sharing myself "this deep" on the internet doesn't come without a cost to myself... It's hard for me.

The angel on my right shoulder tells me "it's ok @intelliguy"... if you're open and honest about yourself, rewards that may come are yours.

The devil on my left shoulder, who I normally ignore and shoo away says "man, everyone else gets rewards for their introduceyourself posts... why are you being a schmuck by even asking?"

So when I write this.. my 1000 followers can be the judge.

I'm like that...

I'm the type of guy who cares what everyone else thinks and I put myself last. I've always been that way...

Your thoughts and comments are most appreciated.

Sort:  

Sad that you're waiting so long, but in the end you it played out well.

I haven't played it... and yes it is sad. I thought when the time came, it would have been earned. Yes or no... do I seem less genuine if my one and only introduceyourself post accepts a payout?

To you specifically?

Yes, you seem more genuine, but I would prefer that you accept payout for this post and get rewarded for your thoughts. I was dissapointed, that payout was declined, I think post would be more popular and could made greater impact on community.

I think I put more value into what people think and say like what you just did... instead of payout or money... What people think energizes me the most. :) Thank you very much for saying what you did. I can tell.. you're a person who cares about people. Very nice.

Thank you as well!

I don't get why people decline payouts. Esspecially @dan and @ned they are provided we most value and decline. What for? To look more genuane?

In my opinion decline payouts should be used if work in the post is not yours, but you just sharing it.

Dan always seemed to decline payouts, so people could read what he wanted to be said... and not accused of writing it just for money reasons.

Every post Dan made was usually worth +$500USD and you and I both saw, many times he would refuse a payout.

Yet to this day, people act like Dan is some sort of selfish demon. If that was true, Dan had many chances to walk away with huge money and he never did that....

Yet to this day, people act like Dan is some sort of selfish demon. If that was true, Dan had many chances to walk away with huge money and he never did that....

Thats is why it doesn't matter decline payouts or no. Hatter will hate. But who understand the value he providing - will have a chance to support him.

I was wander how you got the red color test. Then I realised it was an image. Very clever.

Your confusion is well warranted. In truth I haven't made a post in the introduceyourself section as well due to a similar point. I don't know what to share about me. I ask myself am I doing it for me? For my followers? or maybe for the rewards perhaps?. Believe me, I want to help you answer that question but I'm still figuring that out myself.

I can however answer your other question. I'm not interested in knowing what's your name or where you live or what school you went. It's not safe and it's bad for your privacy too. I'm not against it, I just don't feel you should be talking about that side of you. However, telling your most honest point of view and your passion in life is more interesting to read and really worth upvoting and making interaction with. The side of you that you won't show in real life but people in here that would be glad to know or glad to spit on ( Steem people are very nice tho ). Looking forward to your post :)

Wow. You're a keeper. Ok, not keeper. But follower worthy. Following you now. :) You're a thinker, and I love thinkers.. I've learned long ago not to look at people reputation numbers (sigh.. you're a 38).. but instead what they say.. :) thanks very much for your comment.

OOps. I was already following you. So apparently you were decent and interesting before... and you still are... got to check out your blog. :)

Yeah, fairly new to this. Been a cryptobug for months now and fell in love with Steem when I got a couple of bucks from trading, I'm a regular here now and loving the community.

I can say I'm a fan of your posts as well. I regularly check for your posts from time to time. :)

Privacy? If you're still at a point in your life where you need privacy...not healthy. Being free is being open, let the world know who you are and where you came from. You don't have to write down your damn home address and say come visit me but trying to disclose your image is not healthy in my opinion. All his post have been about his passion and point of views...why do you think he came up with the idea of making a more personal topic post? Idk whatever he does I also look forward to reading, cheers all!

If you're still at a point in your life where you need privacy...not healthy.

I beg to disagree. Especially, now in these times should we be more cautious and keep tabs on our personal privacy. SP & SBD as you know are digital assets which can be easily stolen should bad people (with enough knowledge and determination) be able to piece enough information about you and know what to do with it. Here in STEEM we can easily look at your wallet and see how much you own because of lack of privacy. Intelliguy has $3000 worth. Say in 3 yrs Steem rises to 100x its current value then @intelliguy here now would own more than a quarter million dollars. If he is not careful bad people can just dig thru all his old posts where he unknowingly provides pieces of harmless little info say, where he is from, where he studied or a fancy restaurant he regularly eats. If they can track where you are and knows exactly how much have in your Steem Wallet ( I'll leave what bad people would be willing to do for that amount of money with those info to your imagination). I'm not being paranoid as these situations happened to early bitcoin adopters (people stalking their family, taking pictures of their loved ones and then sending it to their phones demanding they send them bitcoin to a certain wallet address ). At this day and age it pays to err on the side of caution.

All his post have been about his passion and point of views...

That's why we follow him I guess, I merely suggested he don't give out personal info about him even if a lot of people would want him to, as he was asking on this post what we want to know about him. Cheers :)

I understand your cautious nature, trust i do. My life is a little simpler I guess.. every action comes with a reaction, anyone who put that much energy to try to rob someone from looking at a crypto wallet online will definitely get what they deserve in the process. That would be suicide on their behalf, coming from me:)

Haha. Looks like you know a thing or two.Please take my upvote and followed you as well. :)

Cheers, followed back!

The #introduceyourselfpost almost stopped me from getting started here. To me it was very daunting and I'm still not ready to create it.

That being said I would definitely want to read your #introduceyourselfpost... I think it brings huge value and understanding of both who you are and how your experience on Steemit has rolled out. You've got great insight and I think your post will help people to improve and that's awesome.

And yes on earning steempower and SBD... you've earned whatever it brings and it encourages others to create. Looking forward to reading whenever you're ready to write it.

You don't know this part of me. But as corny as people will read my response. I have a keen sense of spotting real special people. Either in text or in real life. I shed a tear (in a happy way) when you keep coming back. I don't even know why that is... I kind of feel your presence. If this seems like gibberish I apologize. I just know you and I are so similar. To quantify that... you don't get propelled in what you do or say other than what "feels right"... I feel like we're on the same wavelength somehow... it just keeps showing itself over and over again. When I get a comment from judym I don't just read... I "stop" and read...

..if that makes sense. I really hold you high regard.

Thank you so much, I really appreciate you saying that. You just made my day!
I believe there is truth in what you are saying here, to me it's all energy and that
energy very much shows up in the written word. It's so important because our world
is shifting and moving fast and with that so is communication. If we want to share good
information and content people have to feel it and be captured by it fast or they are gone to
the next shiny object... feels like a paradigm shift is happening and I think you really get it too.
That's why I can relate to your work... I feel very fortunate to be able to experience and participate in it... exciting and interesting times we are living in for sure!! Thanks again, you just stoked my creative fire with your kind inspiring words. Hope you have an incredible weekend!

We are both smiling for the same reasons. :)

Now see.....this is why you are special. To get that we are electrical beings and feeling someones presence is fantastic. You CAN feel the goodness in someone when they write. There are some that I follow, you included, that you can tell they genuinely care about people. If it is possible, you will get more followers just from declining payout. The money will be nice and you could probably use it. Either way, no one is going to tell you not to take the money. I think you should. A person of character will not be chastised for doing the expected.

You should definitly write an introduction post! I understand your point of view it's not easy for everyone, some people may think its no biggie but some people do! I am not good at it also but i tried and i didn't regret it, i'll follow you now and I hope to read your introduction soon! I'll bet it's gonna be a very good introduction! And maybe my curation is not worth anything.. But I'm going to be upvote your introduction as first! Goodluck ;)

It is not about how much your curation post is worth. The fact you want to read it.. makes me want to do it.

Thank you I really mean it.

Well..i wrote a simple one with 3 probably followers, maybe i should do one properly too.
How about a bit about yourself intro post? Not caring what others may say ( most times are nice anyway, here in steemit) what do you want to tell us about youself or what do you want us to know about you?

Its coming. It's one of those weird things where the money I've earned I could have taken care of my problems... but I don't.... its going to take a complete explanation... I can't summarize it in a comment. :(

Intriguing but you a have dilemma there. am sure you'll get your answer :)

Lucky... yes. People are writing.. that helps. I'm a self sufficient person in 99% of my life. Except for this particular subject. Thanks for the vote of confidence @immarojas

You're welcome :) Follow your instinct.

I don't see why you couldn't accept the rewards for an introduce yourself post. If anything, just accept it as a token of appreciation from your audience for creating a year of content that has been of value to your following.

It is a flaw of mine. I can't take unless other people encourage me to do it. :(

It looks like most people are, so - just do it :-) (I know it's probably not that simple, otherwise you wouldn't haven dedicated a post to it, but I'm just sayin'...)

Here are some q's I'm wondering:

You have been here 11 months and have over 1000 followers - how come your wallet is so bare?
How did you hear about Steemit back in July?
Are you a geek?
What city do you live in?
What is your name?
Are you really a guy or are you a woman pretending to be a guy?
Do you have a website?
Why are you so reluctant to reveal anything?
Do you still think it's a good idea to ask for questions?

I'm the type of guy who cares what everyone else thinks and I put myself last. I've always been that way...

As someone who knows you pretty well, I would agree with that :)

I also stick by my original quote of who you are: He is the type of person that you would like to stay up with until 4:00 in the morning talking about the meaning of life.

Well you aren't exactly the only better known steemian who did not write his autobiography the 2017-edition with a limited free edition of all-addendums. To me it was mostly to prove that I was a real person, but that can easily enough be replaced by multiple intelligent posts and responses.

So in a sense you've already established you are not a bot and you have established your online persona. From now on it's up to you how much you feel comfortable with sharing.

One plus side of having a little "about me" section is that I tend to look for them to get a quick review of what kind of person this is and what are his/her interests. But as I said, I've noticed quite a few have no about-me/introduceyourselve posts.

LOL, this is the JoeyD way of saying... the obvious.... and confusing at the same time. :) I've talked to you a lot on mumble... I know how you are genuine with your thoughts. Not sure if you answered my question. If I do an introduceyourself post, is it society-ok to be accepted as genuine if I accept a payout and rewards for it? yes or no?

Yeah, I liked your perspective in a lot of those discussions as well. I like having my opinions challenged and changed. Sorry for being confusing, it was not my intention. Also I'll probably always be recalcitrant that way. If you give me two options I'll always go with options number 3, or 4, or etc... I haven't been tested on it, but I'm pretty sure I suffer from a nasty allergic reaction to limited options, it might even be a hereditary genetic defect.

However, I honestly don't think this is a yes or no answer. I'm probably preaching to the choir here, but since you made it a topic for discussions I'll state it anyway. Privacy is important, more important then it ever was. It has become so rare that it's now all but non existent, and people fear the unknown. No matter how much money people decide to throw at you (which I think you should be perfectly fine accepting) it should not disrupt your decisions in regards to your privacy. I'm also not of the opinion that getting fame, followers, money, whatever should preclude you from having some privacy.

If you are comfortable with sharing some more personal tidbits and maybe just a little insight in your background and motivations, then it might be another way to make it easier for people to connect with you or spark conversation topics.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66