Young chef, soon to be software engineer changing the world

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

This shall be my little introduction.

I've been working since I was 14, as a chef, waiter, disher and everything in between. I'd say I'm pretty handy in a restaurant. I've been working in the finest restaurants in my country, but the industry drove me away from it, after opening a couple restaurants, getting burned out BAD.
And I'm not even old, I'm 21 now.
It made me realize that I love making food, but the amount of money does not correlate with the amount of work you do, no matter how much you love making food, it just doesn't cut it. The industry does not work.

After working as a trainee in an IT firm, I saw how twisted the money to work ratio actually is.
These people don't even fucking know the meaning of WORK. And they make 10 times the money I did as a chef.
It's just ridiculous to me. The fact that you can come to work +- 30 minutes is beyond me. If you weren't 10 minutes before your shifts starts in the kitchen ready to go, you'd get shout at. And that 10 minutes doesn't even pay anything. There's a "lounge" between all our offices filled with stuff to eat and drink...
And the firm has it's own Porsche for employees to use. Just for the fuck of it.

I've been fascinated with science and technology all my life, but schools didn't make much sense to me. They taught you things they thought were good to know. Or somebody else who made the programs. Plus if I went to high school I'd have to take up all of these bullshit classes I wouldn't be interested in one bit.
All I wanted to study was math and physics pretty much at the time when I was deciding between high school and culinary school.
Culinary was a good choice, I enjoyed my time there. And the skill to make great food will never go to waste.
And there'd always be work in the industry for the foreseeable future in the system.

Now I'm in the stages of getting my papers to be a software engineer, I've been learning to code for the past couple years.
I basically cleared the first couple years of my studies by showing I already know everything they were teaching at the school. Which in my mind was one of the worst schools I've seen. The lessons for programming, made no fucking sense at all, they had no logic in them.
Teaching people with supposedly zero experience in programming and starting with HTML and bootstrap.
No, not learning the basics of HTML first but straight going into bootstrap, without knowing the actual basics first.
This makes no sense. And that same mentality goes with pretty much every other class, makes no fucking sense.
Wasn't a problem for me as I already knew this stuff, but the struggle was real for some people.

But the underlining reason why I decided to actually perhaps make a profession out of coding is that I can't change the world with food, or make any impact to be honest.
At the moment the world is in disarray, to be quite honest I'm just waiting for WW3/Singularity to happen when.
It's right at our doorstep and the time in between, I don't know what the fuck to do. I know it's coming. The world WILL change in a drastic way, and it's not far away. The question is, how will it change? I don't know, but I'm hoping people awaken to the problems and point us to the right direction for humanity.
So, that's why technology,IT and coding. It's going to be the center of everything. And already people with sufficient skills can make a change, opposing banks and governments. #OPIcarus for example had a big impact even though the mainstream media would like to deny it.

In the internet, everyone is equal.
And that's how it should be on the whole planet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58387.03
ETH 2359.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37