I Am The Infinite Monkey

SteemitBackground.jpg

Have you every heard of the Infinite Monkey Theorem? It's the idea that an if you put an infinite number of monkeys in front of an infinite number of typewriters, eventually, one of the monkeys is going to type something that makes sense, like War and Peace. Well, that's kind of how I view my foray into Steemit. I've got an infinite number of random ideas floating around in my head (OK, maybe 12, ha!), and every once in a while the idea makes sense enough that I want to share it. Truthfully, I'm a big fan of self-deprecating humor, and acknowledge that sometimes I can be just plain old wrong.

I am also fond of what I like to call the Negative Infinite Monkey Theorem. Have you ever heard or read something that was so bizarre that you thought: "no one could have come up with that idea"? When that happens to me, I like to say that the idea is so out there, that even an infinite number of monkeys on an infinite number of typewriters would never type it. Or, I imagine that when the infinith (is that a word?) monkey was about to type out that idea, he quit his job and walked away. I like to think of myself as that monkey (minus the feces throwing). From time to time I come across ideas like that I and I like to debunk them. But mostly I'm interested in writing about current events, economics, digital currency and philosophy. In terms of my opinions, I tend to be a contrarian, and a minority within a minority.

If that sounds interesting to you, follow me and let me know you're out there. I welcome comments and will definitely engage in civil discussion with you, even if you disagree.

Sort:  

I agree with most of it, except I usually question my ideas and start out by thinking I am wrong and from there I work to see if maybe I am right after all. Unfortunately a good percenatge of the time it turns out I was wrong. And I do have a quite high IQ yet it seems that doesn't make my ideas so great.

That's an interesting approach. It's good to get comfortable with the idea that your wrong. You hear more, learn more, and adapt more successfully if you do. I'm an engineer by trade, and so I'm constantly evaluating testing my ideas against common and corner cases. I also tend to test my ideas by putting them out to a limited audience, and as confidence grows, expand them to more and more people. About 3 years ago I had a major awakening which turned my philosophy upside down. Ever since then I've been testing pretty much every aspect of life against that philosophy and refining it. So I'm definitely used to being wrong. Nice to meet you.

So I just spent the past 15 minutes exploring James Kochalka Superstar on ITunes. How could you know Infinite Monkey's favorite music genre is punk? My life is changed forever, and Apple has a little extra spending money.

The hundredth monkey effect is a hypothetical phenomenon in which a new behavior or idea is claimed to spread rapidly by unexplained means from one group to all related groups once a critical number of members of one group exhibit the new behavior or acknowledge the new idea

Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you. Pleasure to meet you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60140.74
ETH 2559.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54