Intoducing myself

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hey! I'm Renee and currently writing to you from Whitefish Montana. Right now our beautiful state is on fire. More than a million acres have burned.

Why is this relevant to my introductory story?

I was raised on a ranch in Western Montana so, I'm always acutely aware of what is happening with the weather. Without good precipitation, rainfall and snow our crops falter and the animals we raise suffer. Luckily, the livestock that my family raises is out of harms way, for now. Although the cows had to be moved from one location to another a few weeks back to avoid the fires that were encroaching on them. I'm glad they are safe, and also super bummed about the fires and smoke in the air. It has ruined the last month of summer. (sorry for the rant)

Anyways, a little more about my background and some of what I hope to bring to the Steemit community.

My first career was as a massage therapist. I spent nearly 20 years working in that field. I've taken that knowledge to create an online massage training program called conscious caring touch. I'm going to be sharing some that information here on steemit.

My passions include: storytelling and geography. I am especially fascinated with the elements, WIND, WATER, FIRE, EARTH and how that effects human migration and the stories that we tell about our experiences with the weather. It seems particularly pertinent in seasons like this. Besides the fires that are blazing out West there are multiple hurricanes on the East Coast, not to mention a magnitude 8.1 earthquake in Mexico. That is what is happening in the Americas. My VA's in the Philippines have been effected by flooding from typhoons. Thousands of lives have been lost in tropical storms and flooding throughout Asia over the last few weeks. I used to be annoyed when people would ask the question "How is the weather", now I find it to be the most fascinating and informative questions we have. Everyone has a story about big storms they lived through. We all can relate to the beauty, warmth and light that fire can provide. Some have never been through a drought or dealt with the big winds of tornadoes or flooding, but I think somewhere in our DNA we can all relate to the stories of the enormous unstoppable power of weather that is outside of human control. This is what fascinates me.

Creatively, I am currently producing a musical theater project called BardsSongs. I'll be sharing that story here on steemit as well.

I'm looking forward to connecting to the community, discovering and sharing the wisdom earned and lessons learned that the community here has to offer.

Cheers!

Renee

I took this photo of the kisok of historic Wilma Building in #Missoula #Montana. The W reminds me of Wonder Woman. Here is a little more about the Wilma Building. http://forgottenwilma.com/archives/category/thewilmabuilding

IMG00024-20110418-1010.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @improvosa-renee! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome to Steemit. I upvoted you even thought it isn't worth much yet, lol. I'll follow you. Check out my blog and follow back if you'd like. Either way, I wish you the best of luck here.

Thank you :-) Excited to learn how this works

I've been here for a little over a week so I'm still learning too. One thing I do know is this...the more friends you have the more success you'll have.

Welcome to Steemit! I wish you a good days and inspiration to create in our community! Please follow me :)

How are you? Improvosa-renee, Let me welcome you to Steemit. Hope you gonna have fun with our community. Feel free to follow me @rightuppercorner Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Nice to meet you, @improvosa-renee! Welcome to the Steemit Community, wish you good luck and a good start, ive send you a small tip and followed you, hope you have an amazing day! :)

Awesome stuff! Interested in growing up, making friends and be rewarded for your upvotes?! Simply join our project https://steemit.com/steem-it/@infohunter/get-upvotes-and-followers-update-09-09

Thanks for sharing... Love it.

welcome to steemit @improvosa-renee
following you now. :D
follow me back pls. :)

Hello @improvosa-renee welcome to Steemit . Maybe your post may not immediately get a lot of upvoted but I believe your continued hard work and effort will makes you success. Follow me @stanley888 Thank you

Looking forward to the BardsSongs! Welcome!

Yes! BardsSongs! You are a musician?!?! I'll for sure keep you posted! It is intended to be street theater