HELLO Steemers! My name is ILANA, a mobile street photographer, editor and curator from NYC. I’m super excited about sharing my work with the Steemit community. So let’s get it started!

   

Hello Steemers!

My name is Ilana. I’m a native New Yorker. I live with my two children, my husband, and my adorable little sausage dog, Mac. I’m a mobile street photographer based out of my hometown. Many of my images have been featured on mobile photography sites (e.g. Hipstography), Instagram hubs, and published in online magazines. My work can also be seen on LensCulture, one of the most authoritative resources for contemporary photography.  And I am co-editor of a street photography column called StreetWise on TheAppWhisperer, where I curate street photography articles and showcases.

  

When I first heard about Steem

…I thought “My god, how brilliant!” Any artist will tell you about the struggle to get their work ‘out there’.  Of their big dreams to reach a wider audience.  And of course, the holy grail, actually earning a living doing their art.  Wowza!  That’s just a dream for most artists.  But with Steemit, it can become a reality.  For that reason, I believe I can encourage other artists to share their work here.  Which I can’t wait to do!

  

Why other artists will follow

I am confident artists and other creative types will appreciate an innovative, new platform like Steemit.  Not only does this platform provide the incentive to grow but, more importantly, to support each other.  That is critical to the growth and well-being of any artist, especially those just starting out.  I can’t wait to get the word out to my fellow artists (including some of my 1200+ Instagram followers) about this amazing opportunity, and to provide real communal enrichment for us all.

  

The content I intend to create here

There are many ways to tell stories. For me, it’s street photography. It’s fast and fun, especially in a city where you have to move with the speed of the streets. Nothing is ever the same twice. I love how the city surprises me and seeing what will unfold.  That’s the true magic of street photography. It’s never dull!   

So come with me, let me take you on a journey through the fabulous streets of this incredible city and it’s quirky, lovable people. Let me share this passion I have for storytelling through photographs, and help this wonderful community grow and add to our collective prosperity.

Thanks very much for reading!

P.S.  Here are some of the links to my social media:

(see steemit reference on my Instagram profile for verification)

Instagramhttps://www.instagram.com/ilanaakoundi/ 

Lensculturehttps://www.lensculture.com/ilana-akoundi

The AppWhispererhttp://theappwhisperer.com/2016/04/lee-atwell-ilana-buch-akoundi-join-theappwhisperer-co-editors-streetwise-column/

Sort:  

Interesting pics! You definitely find something that we might not pay attention in daily life and smartly turn it to art. :)

Where are these NYC places? I'm particularly interested in the stripy wall. My friends, like many tourists, like to find some not-so-conventional places (aka. not Time Sq ) places when they plan their NYC tour. It will be interesting to see those places and compare to what they look like in your pic.
Maybe you want to add a tag as 'New York City'/ 'NYC' for tourists? As a native New-Yorker, your insights will be valuable to tourists. :)
Thank you and please keep up the good work!

Hey There! Thank you for the kind words! And, for the good ideas! These photographs are from mostly from Manhattan. A few were taken on 42nd street, SOHO and Tribeca. One from Brooklyn and the stripy wall is in The Met.

Thanks! I will try to look for those places! ;-)

Welcome fellow NYCer :)

Ooooooo thank you for the welcome. How cool! You'll have to let me know when you recognize the places in my photographs! : )

Welcome, we need more people like you!

Thanks for the warm welcome, it's great to be here!

nice to meet you @ilanaakoundi and welcome to steemit! 8]

Thanks for the warm welcome!

please help me, I am also a photographer, but I do not know how to earn.

Just get your images out there --post a few you really like that shows off your ability. This is the perfect platform for beginning!

Wow wonderful pictures ILANA you have a great talent.

Thanks very much! I appreciate your kind comments.

Welcome Ilana! Can you do a post sometime about the camera and lenses you use? Maybe explain your how to handle exposure issues ect.

#craiggrant

Thanks, it's great to be here! The cool thing about Mobile Photography is that you don't have to worry so much about things like lenses and exposure, which is great because you can concentrate on other things that make a great shot, like subject, composition, finding interesting perspectives, proportion, etc. I will most definitely be posting on what camera and editing apps I like to use for my mobile device -- I have a few favorites.

great job black and whites my fav :)

Thank you very much! Cool, black and white is my favorite, too! :)

I love the style of your photographs, the black and white is perfect for the setting which is both dramatic and abstractly deconstructed!

Thank you for the lovely feedback! I agree, your analysis is spot on -- and, there's no end to this sort of creative medium!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74