I was never great at introductions... Here it goes!steemCreated with Sketch.

Hi Steemit!

I've been a member here since October and I've been lurking in the shadows before deciding what I wanted to write in my introduction post about and also considering what I want to focus my future posts on.

Well, here I am. Procrastination and anxiety have subsided enough for me to work up the nerve to write something about myself for others to read, judge, and comment on.

Like I mentioned in the title, I've never been great at introductions and it's gone as far as having severe anxiety when it comes to introducing myself, whether it be at the first day of a class, at a workshop, or even meeting someone for the first time. I would always avoid it like the plague just so I wouldn't have to speak up and give a simple introduction about things I like or who I am, etc.

I'm here to put all that aside and give you all a glimpse into that world and what I want to achieve by being here and what I have to share to the wonderful community that is Steemit.

Growing up I've always had jobs that focused around labour or working with things that didn't pique my interest enough or weren't engaging to the extent that I needed to keep me interested, so I went to school and studied to become a software engineer.
Fast forward 5 years: I've quit my job and I finally want to do something for myself that would be spiritually rewarding after slaving away to a job that I hated for the better part of two years. With that in mind I decided I wanted to go travel by myself, experience things in a new light and learn a little more about what I want that could make me happy.

This brings me to one of the things that I want to share with the Steemit Community; My love for landscapes and the photos that accompany it. While on my travels I took some photos that I would love to share with everyone, but I don't think it's going to be the main focus of my posts I am still going to add some photos here and there with small descriptions/stories that may accompany the places and landscapes I visited.

In high school I would always find myself writing about nonsensical things on a scarp of paper or in a Word Document on my computer, but it wasn't until recently that when I was in Australia I met someone and finally shared some of my writing with them that they pointed out my skill to set the mood and tone of the short stories I was writing. It took months and months of convincing me that they weren't biased until I finally decided I would share some of these short stories with anyone else.

Which brings me to another topic that I would like to share with the community, some original writings and short stories about some topics that may be a bit abstract and random... My dreams.

Yes, I'm going to attempt to relay the whimsical, farfetched, and demented place that is my dreamworld.

Anyway, I've probably gone on and rambled enough for one post. I'll leave you all with a few pictures from one of my travels and be on my way.

Thanks for reading my (not so scary) introduction!

IDG

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Bosnia and Herzegovina 2

Croatia

Croatian Sunset, isn't it beautiful?

Sort:  

Hello, IDG, and Welcome to Steemit.

I too took over a month before I started on Steemit. But during that month, I had all kinds of ideas of what I could bring, and now I'm posting various things on this platform.

As a writer / editor, I can honestly say that your post is well-written and that I believe you have much that you can bring to this great platform. Just remember, writing is craft, and inspiration plays only one part in composing any good text.

Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
  4. Be yourself.
  5. Be interesting and informative.
  6. Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
  7. Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

p.s. The fact that you wrote "pique my interest" instead of the standard mistake indicates that you are truly a qualified writer. Just write about whatever interests you, polish it up, and post it.

I really appreciate you taking the time to give me a few pointers and compliments on my writing, it means a lot. I will take all those points to consideration as they seem the most likely ways to attract followers and earn rewards.

I hope that it won't take me an additional 4 months to write a new post on here. It really wasn't that bad, although it was daunting at first, once I got into it. This isn't that scary!

OK. I'm now following you, so I hope to see some posts eventually ... or soon.

By the way, here's a recent post I made about enlarging photos on Steemit. If you post photos, it might come in handy.
https://steemit.com/photography/@majes.tytyty/how-to-click-to-enlarge-photo-or-create-a-click-for-full-screen-link-in-12-clear-and-easy-steps

Actually, you are doing pretty good, welcome to steemit never hesitate to express yourself and keep it up. =)

Thanks, it means a lot. I'll do my best to keep posting content!

Hello Welcome to Steemit just Upvoted and Followed you I hope you will follow me back and upvote my first post in return

Thank you for the warm welcome! I will follow you and check out your post as well! :)

great thank you your first picture looks great

Welcome! Amazing photos :D I'm also new on steemit It's amazing comunity ;-) I warmly invited U to visid my blog ;-) Good luck!

Thank you and welcome to Steemit as well!
I'll definitely go and check out your blog in return. :)

That introduction wasn't so scary :) Glad you finally decided to take the plunge!

Here is a guide I recently wrote with helpful suggestions for new users, and a TON of resources.

besides all of the stuff in there I decided to give a link to The Writers Block chat server. A chat room for writers :)

feel free to get in touch with me once you get over there to Discord :)

That is something that I'm beginning to learn as time goes on, it's never as scary as it seems once it's all over and done with.

Thanks for the guide and suggestions. Hope to see you over in the Writer's Block! :)

I'm always on discord, so you can find me in direct message easier than in a chat room :) same name

Welcome to Steemit! :)

Great intro post. It takes skills to keep the reader engaged and leave them wanting more. I thoroughly enjoyed reading about your life. Seems like you made the right decision to listen to the advice you were given :)

Looking forward to reading some of your stories and seeing more of your beautiful travel pictures! I wonder where you'll take us next...

All the best!

Thank you for the warm welcome!

It took me a while to work up the courage to do it, but I should have listened to my friend before and gotten my introduction written up earlier.

Pretty soon I'll be going to Thailand, Laos, and Vietnam. You'll be sure to get more content in the near future!

I checked out some of your posts and I love what you're doing. Your photos are amazing and I'm waiting for more content from you.

Well, better late than never :) you got started and now there's no stopping you!

Sounds like you've got great travel plans ahead of you. I'll be sure to stick around to see what you end up sharing from those adventures, and to read your short stories!

And thanks for the kind comment, really appreciated! Will be posting more very soon ;)

hello and welcome @idontgnu~~
nice photos!!

Hi and thank you so much! :)

welcome! Glad to see a like minded person joining the platform. Live long and prosper!

Thank you! People like us have to stick together. :P

Welcome to Steemit! Awesome pictures! I envy your ability to travel now with your career changes. I hope you enjoy your time here and be sure to check out DTube and Dsound as well. These are the video and audio platforms that are based on the Steem Blockchain and are great additions to your Steemit world. As well, I hope you will look over some of my content and consider following along! Kindest regards.

Thank you!
I've been taking advantage of my freedom as much as possible and I'm returning to SE Asia in a little over a week for another 'vacation'.

I'll be sure to check out those platforms for video and audio. Thanks for the links!

Good deal. Have some fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56615.57
ETH 2387.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30