"CyberPrimer" My AREA51fm podcast guest discusses Blockchain, STEEMIT, Bitcoin w former Pentagon cyber security expert Jason Pappafotis

Hey Steemers, total newbie here, but I just happen to have the great fortune of having a friend (Jason Pappafotis - we used to wait tables together) who later went on to work briefly for The Pentagon in Washington DC. 

He graciously joins in on my Alt News podcast "Reporting from Roswell" sometimes ...and he currently works for DESE Research (Defense, Energy, Space Exploration & Environment) as a full-time Cyber Security researcher and analyst.

Thanks largely to him, I can use Blockchain in a sentence these days. It's one of his primary passions in fact, and he frequently posts Blockchain-related articles on FB. (Boo-hiss!)

Jason has proven to be very generous with his knowledge, and he agreed to come on with me to explain Blockchain for my audience in simple, non technical, human-speak. I asked if he could do this with the assumption that the listener has NEVER even heard of Blockchain, Bitcoin, or Steemit, etc (and while not Blockchain, we started with ProtonMail), and make it interesting and easy to understand.

And no lie, he effin' nailed it.

While I don't pay for transcription services of the interviews, I do type out my own "script" often. And while I'm sure that I screwed up a detail or two - sorry! - below are some excerpts from how I intro'd Jason and the topic, including my very newbie understanding of Steemit. 

While I'm located in in Roswell NM, and the program is titled "Reporting from Roswell" ...

(that's me - professional photo by the very famous http://www.MattHoyle.com )
.. .the program's producer and his network are in New Orleans, and the program is broadcast on UPRN 107.7fm radio there.

The audio archive just got posted a few minutes ago, direct link below ... I did this particular program in hopes that it might serve to bring many more people into the Steemit community. I also hope you will maybe find the interview interview helpful for turning others on to Steemit as well. 

I am definitely 100% OPEN to correction or helpful criticism, if this post seems "spammy" in any way as well. Let me know.

Thanks for reading.

Listen here if desired  https://soundcloud.com/uprn/area51fm-reporting-from-roswell-ep-19-cyberprimer-wjasonp-for-newbies-to-blockchain-bitcoin 

 "Well given that cyber security is a big chunk of what Jason does for a living, and given that he too has a Protonmail account, he and I are going to chat about it together and let you listen in. The plan here, is to let that conversation evolve into something that is more of Jason’s passion - one of them anyways - and he’s going to tell us a little bit about what is called The Blockchain. The Blockchain... if I’m getting the concept, is basically giving us - all of us - basically a do-over on the entire internet.
"It’s a whole new way of, of, of coding or something I don’t know, that is right now reinventing the internet from the ground up ... and anyways, it’s formed the backbone technology behind things like Digital Currencies - ie, Bitcoin, and Etherium, which Jason also told me he owns a bit of. The good news is that Jason is really really good at normal human speak, and he’s got a good sense of humor too. I mean come on, he comes on this program with a loony tune like me right? So he’s definitely got a sense of humor, ya think?
 "Anyways, we’re going to try to talk a bit about Protonmail first, then the Blockchain, and I hope we’ll even get to discuss how the blockchain technology has already and very recently led to this new social network called Steemit, which I’m on as of *yesterday* myself - a social network sort of, that’s also kind of blog and free website, that also pays it’s members basically for liking or up-voting other members posts, and especially for authoring the posts that other members “like” or up-vote.
"No ads either, and when I say pays you - it pays you in digital currency, that you can convert into real dinero, or yen - or fiat dollars if you’re that dumb. I’m planning on actually moving my lame AREA51.fm website to Steemit, by the way, as soon as I can carve out a couple hours, maybe even this weekend … So hey I’ve got questions about all this high tech gadgetry stuff, Jason's got answers, and for once in your miserable life you’re actually in the right place at the right time, because we’re taking calls tonight on AREA51dotfm, on the UPRN talk radio network 107.7fm New Orleans. I’m Guy Malone, thanks for joining me tonight. Your Rosguide Upcoming events calendar, All the news that’s fit to retract, and Jason Pappafotis coming right up..."

and

 A little less creepy than Google, Firefox has this feature that sent me some headlines today, but just because I signed up for it, that you might like as well, I’ll be posting them on (the AREA51fm Facebook page)... Time magaizine article “How Trolls are ruining the internet” Time.com says They the trolls are “turning the web into a cesspool of aggression and violence.” That is Time Magazine’s cover story, and the article I’m referencing was just published today.
"Which is oddly a good segue into our topic later tonight because that new Blockchain network I told you about, Steemit, actually PUNISHES trolls! Unlike Facebook, Reddit, etc, if you are a troll and a hater on Steemit, the culture there will downvote you so badly you’ll not only NOT earn any digital currency but you might just leave! 

Direct link to tonight's audio archive : https://soundcloud.com/uprn/area51fm-reporting-from-roswell-ep-19-cyberprimer-wjasonp-for-newbies-to-blockchain-bitcoin 

Program site : http://www.AREA51.fm  It's lame I know! I built the original site w Front Page, but now ALL I can do right now is WYSIWYG text editing via GoDaddy's back door control panel. That's why I'm starting to move the AREA51.fm page HERE to Steemit this weekend. 

PS - But hey does anyone know whether doing so is a violation of the Steemit TOS? 

I'd be making more posts like this, weekly describing the guest and topics, and linking to the audio archive. "Why NOT get paid in Steem for promoting Steem via FM radio, and the podcast network's global reach?" is my thinking on that... Thanks again!!

Sort:  

You'll do well here, Guy. You have my vote. Nice writing style!

Thanks bud. "Praise from Caesar, is praise indeed."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34