You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let Me Introduce Myself to my fellow Steemiteers @iamstan

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

I just found out that they have a new Subscriber threshold 1000 and hours viewed in the past month 4000 hrs. Good luck with that Google. Assholes!

Sort:  

So, from what you're saying, they went from "We'll review your account when you get 10,000 views" to "No adsense until 1000 subscribers and 4000/month views"?!

Hmm, and our content that gets seen on YT Red ... YT does effectively accumulate revenue on our content ... I wonder if that happens to us both or perhaps an entire class of youtube content providers, whose terms of service seem to change at a whim ...

Not 4000 views but 4000 hours of viewing so if your videos are only 12 minutes long that would be 20000 views if each person watched the entire video. Or another way to look at it would be 12000 people watching 20 minutes of you content per month. Or if you have the 1000 subs required every subscriber would have to watch a full 4 hours (20-12 minute videos per month).

It takes me 1.5 hours to upload 7 minutes to youtube. Do that math????? That would take me 51 hours to upload 20, 12 minute videos. Not counting the time to render and produce it. That would mean you would have to produce 4 hours of content every month for your 1000 subs and they all would have to be 100 percent faithful. They are pretty much just wanting to eliminate everyone that doesn't already have a following. The sick thing about it is most of the content is shit or stolen and hardly any good content is available. There is some good but most of it is shit.

They just rip us off just like we get ripped off here. The only ones with a voice here have either bought their way in, mined to riches or have been able to manipulate the system with shit content and paid for upvotes.

The rest of us are just screwed just like in the world! Steemit is just a mini version of the Predator vs prey world we live in. They even let every one know that by telling them they are minnows and whales. But they kinda misrepresent the whales........ but not killer whales.

Well there, in all my pessimism I actually stated it too optimistically ... that's 4000 hours not views, I stand corrected!!!

So realistically, any money in 'the lean years' would come from crypto/blockchain establishments like steemit, as you say, youtube adsense has no intention of managing 'smaller accounts' ...

Yeah, considering it's difficult to get more than 20% (one-fifth) of subscribers to regularly watch more than 4 minutes (one-fifteenth of an hour) a week ... Anyone shouldn't expect any steady adsense revenue stream from anything less than about 75,000 subscribers just to meet their minimums(4000=75,000/5/15x4weeks/month)... ('viral' is not 'steady', I've seen a few channels that went back down to '300 average views' after a ~100K view 'pop')

I still haven't quite figured the lay of the land here, I haven't really been trying to 'game' the system here myself, so cozying-up to the right whales (if at all a desirable behavior) is something I have yet to strategize, and I can't get over feeling something horribly wrong about buying 'votes' (could be like google getting one to buy adwords to make adsense revenue -- sounds like the old 'franchise opportunities' ... great if you like fast food ;-)

Mainly going about it as a labor of love, my love of jazz is mainly what drives this passion, that I want to grow/acquiesce into, not 'standing on tip toes/ walking on eggshells' as we often see some youtubers going into a crash-and-burn phase (from pewdie pie to onision, the stress of maintaining such a lofty persona gets to them).

hi Zig, it's the wife here :) he just went back to YT and checked the requirements for monetization. Here's ours: Ha! 4000 hrs per year. We're ONLY 3582 hours of viewing and 880 subscribers AWAY! hahaha I guess we'll just keep posting there and not look at the numbers.

He doesn't have enough bandwidth to even redeem his rewards or upvote a comment since being attacked by one of the bots.

Steemit must be having issues as well because @iamstan has to wait 129 hours before his bandwidth is recharged! Next screenshot is from steemd.

Thank you, Mrs. Stan ... Now that I looked for it, I see January 16, 2018 is when they updated their eligibility requirements for the YouTube Partner Program when a channel reaches 4,000 watch hours in the previous 12 months and 1,000 subscribers...

Before Jan. 16, I only remember seeing '10,000 views' ... Well, at least 4000 hours per year is better than 4000 per month! I think from my analysis in my previous comment, a channel would still need more like 6000-7000 subscribers to get 4000 hours watched in one year ...

Wow I didn't know there were malicious bots here on steemit ... I read something about someone buying upvotes only to have a whale (or a whale's bot) somehow penalize him for it, but this is all new to a lot of persons so I suppose we're all learning how this works (and what doesn't) ...

Pleasant chatting with you!

I

That sounds terrible! So by 'attack' you mean the bot was able to downvote so much that it took away SP ?

I'm still trying to figure how this works... ...and I do feel leery about a lot of these 'promotions' you see in comments, without knowing the details of how these work, they seem like they could be money-grabbing scams searching for victims ... I personally would just like a platform that Steemit ideally is, one where one focuses on producing quality content and makes a living -- without bogging down on how to game the system -- but it seems apparent there are whales that do only that ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61841.74
ETH 3420.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47