How my obsession became a business

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians! Iris here! I'm the other co-founder of HyperFundIt

* If you didn't read Rob's introduction go here first! ---> Robert's Intro 


Looking back on it, the story behind how Robert thought of influeners during that panel is pretty funny and embarrassing. During that time I had quite an unhealthy obsession with following YouTubers. I was following beauty gurus, comedians and vloggers almost 12/24 hours of my day on all of their socials (YT, Insta, Snap, Twitter). To be fair we were in college and between my internship and classes, I had the free time. I was talking about these YouTubers non stop to the point where Robert knew the full life story of at least 3 gurus I was following and could recognize their voices from across the room! 

Needless to say, the idea just came naturally to him, and although I was hesitant at first (as I'm usually the more level headed one when it comes to new business ideas) I was won over quickly because I saw first hand just how powerful influencer marketing really is. You can't imagine the amount of money I spent on products that YouTubers recommended. If you're doubting the effectiveness of influencers, just take a look at Colourpop. They went from a small internet startup cosmetic brand to being in Sephora in just three years thanks to the promotion of online beauty gurus!

What really excites me about HyperFundIt, however, is our mission. During the time we were coming up with the specifics of the business, the 2016 elections were in full swing. We were living in New York City at the time and as I was traveling to work the day after the elections, I saw the absolute sorrow in peoples eyes. The entire city fell into a state of gloom and I've never felt such tension in a subway car. The tension was not from hate or anger, but rather fear and a sense of hopelessness. Rob and I spoke afterwards about the extreme divide in the country and about those who had felt forgotten. We made it our personal mission with this company to bridge that divide. 

We understood that it was the small businesses and entrepreneurs that were the backbone of communities around the US. We believe that if we help these businesses thrive, then communities will thrive and people will learn to support one another other despite race, ethnicity, gender, religion, or political beliefs. Our platform networks people from around the country to open the lines of communications and allow for creative energy to thrive. At the end of the day our mission became to inspire a diverse community of individuals to break down (social and economic) barriers and collectively bring their visions to life.    

I'm truly blessed to be a part of something like HyperFundIt. Our mission gives both of us a reason to get up in the morning and give it our all each and every day because we know our business isn't just about making money or riding a trend. I think I can speak for the both of us that we're really excited to be sharing our story with you all and hope that you will be cheering us on and support us in our business!



 Iris Lee, CMO

Sort:  

A BIG warm welcome to Steemit! I am sure you are going to absolutely enjoy the Steemit platform.👍 Please let me know if I can be of future help with Steemit. I truly hope Steemit exceeds all your expectations!👍

You are very welcome! I have just followed you on steemit, so we can earn Steem together. Have a great day 👍

Awesome, followed you too and I look forward to more of your posts!

Thank You very much! Have a nice day!

Your welcome to steemit. Success success success.

Thanks for the welcome !

Congratulations @hyperfundit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @hyperfundit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46