Sort:  

Hello Mr. Mad Scientisto.

I hope that blogs like mine will be able to carve out a niche of quality English-written anime content here, because yeah, I took a look at the anime tag, and aside from Naruto-related listicles, the highest voted content is poetry that doesn't really have anything to do with anime...

By the by, had a time to just glance at some of your posts for now, and I'd really recommend splitting up the paragraphs that take an entire page into 2-3 paragraphs. It's both more correct, and would ease readability and flow.

Yes, I should probably break paragraphs for readability rather than just when I am changing topic.

On another note, @thatanimesnob may not be the most likable fellow but he is an anime reviewer I would recommend to follow on steemit. @medicinemerchant is good too.

I used to moderate /r/anime. I know Snob very well indeed. Sadly, he is not a good reviewer for a variety of reasons. Even if I did like him as a person, I would strongly recommend not holding him up as an example of stuff to do. I used to spend far too much time showing how wrong his posts are so innocent third parties wouldn't be taken in.

Also, a single article is often a single idea, so I'm not saying "Just cut paragraphs arbitrarily!" but usually when you reach such long paragraphs it means you're already conveying multiple ideas in that space, or should trim down some fat anyway.

Most of the criticisms of snob I have seen were about his personality. I am not asking you for specific of examples if that's too troublesome but in general could you give some of the reasons why Snob is not a good reviewer, so that I may not repeat them?

Start here. The comment section, that is. The way you approach people's tastes, and why shows are made, and so on and so forth isn't just an interpersonal question, but has stuff to do with actual media analysis and parsing.

Continue here, for an example of someone deconstructing Snob's "criticism."

Note that it's hard to find many of the places we took his "criticisms" apart because he tended to delete posts where he got downvoted a bunch, or where he was just proven outright wrong.

He judges shows very superficially, describing Kyousougiga as a comedy show, for instance, when it's an allegorical fairy tale drama, and not at all a comedy. He thinks "reviewing" a show is just listing all the places where the plot doesn't make sense, or doesn't add up, to him. Someone who said Sakurasou doesn't make sense because any actual teenager in the place of the MC would've raped Shiina...

The list goes on and on. And how you behave to people who like something or try to have a conversation with you also matters. Even at the start, when Snob's posts were better, he'd still never agree with any correction, even objectively correct ones, made to his posts. And that's part of who he is and how he approaches everything, including media. Everything must have a plot this shape, with themes of this sort, etc. And even then, he sometimes flip-flopped on his opinion when he couldn't gainsay a show was good.

I just joined Steemit and I really enjoy writing about anime as it brings me great joy in my boring life. Currently, I'm not sure how I should proceed given how poor the content is under the anime tag. Some bloggers like you two make the effort to put the time and effort in your posts, but a lot of them seem to be just interested in making a quick buck. Hopefully that attitude changes soon. Steemit is a great platform for writers and artists alike, and it would be a shame if new passionate authors are discouraged from the get go.

I'll keep an eye out for your content, show us what you've got!

As for the state of the tag, it's horrendous. This is what subreddits have moderators, and why not just allowing the easiest to consume content is a good thing.

What do I think can be done about it? Show by example. Make good content, and it'd hopefully attract other like-minded individuals. So long as there's no quality content, no quality content will be made.

And hopefully some other changes to the monetization structure are also in the works that might help with content that generates a lasting impression or that takes longer to consume fully.

Good luck, and welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12