How To Write an EPIC Introduce Yourself Post

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180202_222218 (1).jpg

PerfectSeparator.png

INTRODUCTION

You have to write a good introductory post if you want people to see you and notice you from the start. When I did mine back over a year ago when I first started, I wish I knew what I am about share with you so that you can make sure that you have a post rocking it like this:

Rather than falling on its head like this...

PerfectSeparator.png

TIP #1
USE THE INTRODUCEYOURSELF TAG

#Introduceyourself tag is important as there are users that look out for introduction posts to encourage people to stay, there are some whales (people with high vote power) who like to skim through these posts, so bearing that in mind, let do what we can to make sure that your post stands out.

PerfectSeparator.png

TIP #2
VERIFY YOURSELF

Unfortunately, there are a lot of people who open up accounts with the intent of scamming people, so some people are wary of interacting straight away with new people on the Steem block(chain). Here are 3 ways you can verify yourself and you could even do all three if you liked:

  • post a photo or video of yourself holding a piece of paper with your Steemit username and today’s date
  • in the profile settings of the Steemit platform, there is an option to write in a website, you could put a link there to one of your other social media platforms to verify who you are.
  • if you know someone that has a decent reputation that can verify who you are in you mention them in your post, then they can come and comment to verify they know you. Only do this if you have spoken to them first and confirmed this is ok.

selfieverify.jpg

PerfectSeparator.png

TIP #3
GRAB EM WITH A HOOK

Title, your title needs to be interesting enough to entice people to read it. The same goes for your starting line. If a tabloid or gossip newspaper got hold of you story, what would their headline be? That would be a good place to start thinking on a title. Make sure your first line arouses curiosity or interest to read on too.

PerfectSeparator.png

TIP #4
STAND OUT WITH QUALITY AND FORMATTED POSTS

Quality information with formatted posts, with headlines for different sections and something visual to look at would help the reader stand up and take notice.

Thumbnail picture would be important also to stand out and format with a border like @valorforfreedom describes here: https://steemit.com/dtube/@valorforfreedom/3xnnkuzm

Think about the wording on the thumbnail, as more than 5 words is not going to be readable on the thumbnail on the feed.

Also now is a good time to think of the brand you want to create for yourself, the colors you’d like to use in your thumbnail, separator, and footer so that people will start to instantly recognize your posts. Don’t forget to make your profile header in this process and fill out some information about yourself.

PerfectSeparator.png

TIP #5
POLISH UP YOUR ENGLISH

A good command of English is also necessary, although as Steemit is growing there are posts written in different languages that can do well also. Many people choose to write dual language posts to get the best of both worlds. A good post will have good punctuation, spelling and grammar. So don’t forget to proofread.

PerfectSeparator.png

TIP #6
ANSWER WHY ARE YOU HERE?

Answer why you are here on Steemit, what you are going to write about, so people have a clear idea as to what you are about. Divulging something a little personal (but something you are comfortable with). I have documented the break up of my marriage and the aftermath, recorded on the blockchain forever, not in an intro post, but over time. That may be too personal for some, but I have had people come and tell me that what I wrote has helped them save their own marriages. Be genuine is the best advice I can give.

PerfectSeparator.png

TIP #7
START WITH THE RIGHT MINDSET

I had the mindset that if just a couple of people read my posts then I was happy, I didn't mind if I didn't make too much cash. But this last couple of months this mindset has changed somewhat. Of course, I am happy when I get to help people, but even happier when I make something too. I treated Steemit as a hobby, not a viable business venture - don’t make the same mistake I did.

PerfectSeparator.png

CONCLUSION

I learned the Post 2 Profit strategy (inspired and directed by @valorforfreedom) and this has changed my course on Steemit and it could yours too. Those of you that follow my FAB journal (of which there will be a new one in the morning) know that I have been working all hours to get this out to the world.

Pleased to present: Post 2 Profit

PerfectSeparator.png

More FREE Upvotes: Steemfollower
Free daily crypto: Swift Coins
A Strategy for Steemit Success (not free):Post 2 Profit

PerfectSeparator.png

Sort:  

Thanks for this very helpful post. I am just getting started with Post2Profit and taking your advice, spending a few minutes each day learning about Steemit. I'll be putting the pieces together for my profile and my Introduce Yourself post over the next few days. So much to learn! But your guide really is loaded with resources and information, so I think I'll be fine!

Thanks hopehuggs for being in the middle of my path so that I realized that I needed to come back to Steemit and give it serious effort. I was overwhelmed when I first joined in Aug 2016, but you've made this very do-able by explaining things clearly and linking to other tutorials. And I really appreciate that. Thanks again.

I wish I had this when I made my first post. It was a very bad introductory post. It's presently not worthy of being viewed because of the ratings. But I have learnt from my mistakes and improved gradually.
I believe as you rightly said that for one to be successful in steemit, one needs to take it as a viable business not a hobby.
I applaud your growth and your contribution to the steemit community. Keep up the good work. Peace

Thank you so much for this informational text on how to write a good introduceyourself! :)

I am already steeming since a month, but never wrote one, as it is pretty hard to find a good wording...thankfully I am having a good outlining on how to write it now!

Btw.: In your conclusion, you mention "@valorfofreedom", I guess you mean "@valorforfreedom"? :D

Thank you for spotting the error I did on purpose to demonstrate the importance of proof reading. Corrected.

I wish I read this before I started...I didn't know about thumbnail importance even 2 months in... Although I make them in online photo editor. Congrats on finishing the post 2 profits, but I don't know if it's just me or the link to post 2 profits is broken.
It gives me this when I try to open it:
screen-02.18.44[03.02.2018].png

Link corrected. Final tip don't post at times when your mind is practically asleep.

I have been on steemit for three months and haven't done an introductory post of myself. Thankfully I came across this detailed post to put me through.

Thanks for this.

Hello hopehuggs,

I am new to Steemit and saw your article. It was a great article talking about the introduceyourself post. Unfortunately, I just posted it yesterday before seeing your post. Your post provides a lot of good information though. Thank you.

Please checkout my first post @steemitforce

May the steemitforce be with you.

Keep steeming ahead,

@steemitforce

This is so helpful! I joined steemit a few weeks ago and have started writing my introduce yourself post, but haven't been sure about what content I should be writing about. I will be following you to get more content like this! Do you have a suggestion about how long the introduce yourself should be? I am worried I have gone on and on too long lol.

That's a very good piece of information @hopehuggs, many can benefit with the tips you have shared. A good introduction is very important, you are putting out yourself out there so how you want people to know you matters the most.

Great introduction

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77