Introduction of an Asian who is Not A Ninja

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

What up, Steemit! Allow me to introduce myself: I'm Cori Dioquino and I'm a Filipino-American actor, writer, blogger and educator. I've been running my own blog for a few months now and my tech savvy, crypto-currency loving husband started telling me, "Hey! You like to write. You should post your stuff on Steemit and get paid for it!"

I was like, "Whaaaat? I'm an artist, I don't get paid for my work!" (It's funny 'cause it's true. . .)
_MG_4936.jpg

So, I started looking into it and thought "This looks kind of interesting. Social Media that pays you? What the hell, what have I got to lose?"

You're probably wondering what it is that I write about on my blog or what it's even called.

My blog is called "I Am Not A Ninja" (Are there no underline or bold options on this thing . . ?)

In "Not A Ninja", I talk about the topics on which I am most famliar: Being Asian, being American, being an actor and being underrepresented in popular culture, particularly in film and television. Sounds boring right? But I promise my articles are sardonic and biting and (somewhat) funny. Here's another photo from our official promotional photoshoot to prove to you that we're funny:

_MG_5103.jpg

I'd share with you the link, but since I'm on Steemit now, I'd rather you wait until I post articles on here - 'cause that's kind of the point, right?

Next, who is my crypto currency loving husband? This guy:
27393090_10104119050945865_875635031_o.jpg

That's us in front of the Mannequin Pis in Brussels, Belgium. Oh, that's another thing you should probably know about me before you read more of my writing - I love to travel! Luckily, so does my husband. It's like we were made for each other.

27329508_10104119047238295_1630336665_o.jpg

27335399_10104119047228315_1009129845_o.jpg

But, seriously, traveling has always been a huge part of my life; that and food because I'm Filipino. For starters, I'm an immigrant and the first time I ever flew internationally was when I was about two years old. I've traveled a bit since immigrating at the age of four, however, most of my traveling has been done as an adult.

27329357_10104119050910935_1012561916_o.jpg

10865243_702219993218408_643984144_n.jpg

11377881_1605679229710410_563735784_n.jpg

11287995_432560290254891_1018148895_n.jpg

Being abroad helps me feel like less of an outsider; counterintuitive, I know. When you grow up an outsider in a foreign country, being stranded in airports and living in hostels with other international folk help you feel as if you stick out less than you usually do in your every day life. Even now, as a citizen of the U.S., a huge part of me still feels like an outsider, which is something else that I talk a lot about on my blog: Being a Third Culture Individual.

I'll write and share about traveling and the impact that it's had on me here. There are a lot of things I'm excited to share with the Steemit crowd. Who knows, maybe I'll be more addicted to this than Instagram.

I hope you find the things I write about fun and fascinating. Mostly, I just want to share, get feedback for my writing and content but also see what everyone else is up to now-a-days. There's so much talk about Steemit becoming a huge networking tool for film, t.v. and media entrepreneurs and I'm looking forward to learning more about how all of this works.

Thanks for stopping by! Feel free to share some love and I'll be sure to check out your Steemit profile as well!

Cori D. (with the Mona Lisa)
27393339_10104119050980795_526430091_o.jpg

Sort:  

Man I love those first two pictures :D Resteemed you via @welcoming, my page for showcasing promising newcomers!

Thank you so much! I'm so excited to learn the ins and outs of Steemit. Now that I've posted something and have learned what I have, I'm looking forward to posting more content!

Welcome! But yes, steemit does allow formatting like bolding. Here is a guide:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@darkflame/a-basic-guide-to-formatting-on-steemit

Oh, thanks for the guide! Still learning so I'll have to check it out the next time I'm ready to post! (probably soon)

Welcome to Steemit. Hope you enjoy this new platform as much as I do. I post uplifting and inspiring content so if you’re moved by faith, art, photography, literature, film perhaps you’ll consider following me.

Again, welcome and hope everything wonderful for you.

@IAMJamesMartinez

I love your photos, everything just looks so fun! 😊 And you seem to exude so much positive vibes, and that’s a great, great thing✨ So excited for all the other posts you will be sharing with us.

PS: I’m Filipino also, mabuhay! 😊

PINAY!!! Yayy!! Following you as well! :)

Welcome !

Love your presentation, I love travelling too (I also share about travelling, I've already written about my trip to Mexico). Looking forward your next articles so I subscribe :)

See you later !

Thank you! I'm checking out your profile now! Love connecting with other gypsy souls! ;)

Welcome to Steemit! Enjoy the ride as much as you can!

Welcome to steemit! Great introduction. I’m a fellow travel lover myself. Sounds like you have a very interesting perspective. Can’t wait to see more of your content 😊

Thank you! Checking out your profile too! :)

Hello, welcome to Steemit community:) great introduction. I’m new in Steemit social community looking to make some new friends here. Ps: good luck 👍

Welcome to Steemit!

Followed, cuz it seems like you might bring some interesting content to the table.

Hope you do well here. It's pretty similar to many other blogging platforms, but can be hard to get started.

Thanks! I'm looking at other people's profiles to see what makes content on Steemit interesting to view. The platform is a little different than other Social Media sites so I'm trying to see what catches the eye first.

Checking out your profile now! :)

Welcome @hicoridee!

I can relate a lot to you: immigrant who was hit hard by the culture shock when I moved to the states ~8 years ago. Now, I've learned to own my heritage. That big jump changed my life for the best and the challenges made me stronger, smarter, and wiser. People seem to respect that. I also dream of traveling the world in the days to come.

Who knows, maybe I'll be more addicted to this than Instagram.

Idk about you but I started actively using Steemit since last December and I am rarely ever on FB or Insta now. This place is addicting haha.

Anyways, quick answer to your question about bolding or italicizing:

To bold a word or multiple words, use ** (two asterisks) immediately before and after the word(s). To italicize, use _ (one underscore) immediately before and after the word(s). Idk how to do underline though. Not sure if it's a thing yet.

Anyways, wishing you all the best on here! :)

Thank you so much! I found an article late last night on how to add special formatting to blog post on Steemit! But seeing this comment helps in case I forget who posted that article! lol

I wish I could underline text though. Maybe something to post about so that Steemit can add it as an option? :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62668.27
ETH 3332.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46